We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some inconsistencies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   55 Sunridge Circle, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Some inconsistencies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The resort is a bit out of the way of the main tourist drag, but still offers great views and quite a few dining options close by. The room was well cleaned and kept up except for wear and tear on the bathroom cabinets. I was impressed by a small card I found under the bedskirt on the floor. It stated, "yes we clean here too."

The inconsistancies I experienced were regarding the timeshare tour anf internet service. We arrived late in the evening and were quite ready for bed, the concierge insisted that we schedule a tour and she proceeded to fill out numerous forms that required signatures to attend said tour. When we ask to book later, we were met with resistances. It was incredibly rude. Later when we requested to cancel the tour, again were meet with tough sales protocol.

Wi-fi is horrible and the cost is highway robbery. Its 7.99 a day per device or $30 for the week. The signal was constantly weak or nonexistant. We made calls to at&t tech support, but it did not help. Front desk also offered no assistance except to provide us with a number to at&t. Incredibly dissapointing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re really pleased to read that you generally liked the resort, but we’re sorry to read of your dissatisfaction with our sales team and the Wi-Fi service available at the Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort.

Please be assured that unless you’re staying on a promotional break, it isn’t obligatory to attend any presentations during your vacation. While many of our guests welcome the opportunity to learn more about vacation ownership, we do appreciate that it won’t be of interest to everyone, and we don’t believe there’s a need for high-pressure sales contact at our resorts. We’re sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion.

As the Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort is primarily a vacation ownership property, we’re unfortunately not currently able to offer free Wi-Fi to guests – most businesses can incorporate the cost of Wi-Fi provision into their pricing and so appear to provide a free service, but in order to do the same within a timeshare resort, these costs would have to be incorporated by increasing maintenance fees and rental costs accordingly, which would also charge those guests who didn’t use the internet. Owing to the way that our Wi-Fi service is set up, we are unfortunately currently having to charge for each individual connection rather than per apartment – we are in talks with our internet provider and the resort committee to see if this service can be offered in the future, however.

We genuinely regret that you didn’t have a more enjoyable stay on this occasion, but we hope you’ll give the Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    135
    58
    34
    16
See reviews for
111
164
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We will never return, and will never recommend this "resort" to anyone! It was so below any acceptable standards of living, that even 1 out of 5 stars is too generous; minus 5 out of 5 is more appropriate. The staff is rude and most of them lack listening skills: both Eliot and Sarah repeatedly said anything/everything to get off the phone and then did NOTHING to address customers' concerns. If you are brave enough to attend their sales presentation, be forewarned about Nathan's nastiness: if he does not get a sale, he resorts to personal attacks and putting down customers, regardless of who they are!
This is not a great place for couples without children: the resort caters more to those WITH kids and the noise levels can become unbearable. Additionally, the resort is located away from Sedona: a car is a must. A couple of good restaurants are available within walking distance, but to get to most of the grocery stores and main attractions, one would require a vehicle. Bring a fly swatter to kill spiders, millipedes and whatever else crawls into your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick K, General Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are deeply sorry to hear of the challeges during your recent visit. We apprecaite the feedback and will certainly follow up with our team members regarding service levels as we pride ourselves on providing the best vaction experience possible. As for the pests, we do have a comprehensive pest control program at the property in order to provide a comfortable expereince for our guests. With that being said, our team has inspected that unit to ensure it is pest free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was one of the best views we have ever had from the balcony of a resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom in building 16 on the second floor. We would start, and some days end, the day with a majestic view of the Red Rocks, including Bell Rock. We have seen the sun rise from the waters off of the east coast of Mexico and sink in the waters off the west coast of Mexico, but seeing the sun appear over the Red Rocks in the morning and then seeing the shadows casted on those same Red Rock formation at sunset, well, no words nor pictures cannot truly describe what your eyes take in!!!!
The Ridge on Sedona Golf is a great place to stay, the 2 bedroom unit was very spacious, clean and well equipped. The resort looks to be updating all of their units. There are pools, hot tubs and gas grills located around the buildings. The hot tub near our units was set away for the pool and from the buildings. It was so relaxing to sit in after a long day, because it was secluded and quiet. With just enough light to see, but it did not take away from the star lite sky.
The staff was super friendly and extremely helpful. They helped in many ways to make our entire stay a wonderful experience, providing a quick check in; use of the business center; and providing tour, sightseeing, and area information.
The resort is located in Oak Creek which is just south of Sedona. The resort is surrounded by the beautiful Sedona Golf Course and is only a 15 minute ride, on one of the most scenic roads in America, from Sedona. The resort’s location adds to the beauty, scenic views and quiet stay it provides and to us its location was a plus. We plan to visit Sedona again one day, and I would not think of staying at any other resort.
With all that said, I really would like to thank a few people that really help make this a great experience. Stacy and Ericka help make the check in process so quick and easy. Daniel helped set up tours, and provided information about the Sedona area, including places to see and the best times to visit them.
A super special thanks to Lori!!!! Lori was the manager at the resort when we booked our exchange. I selected The Ridge on Sedona after several conversations we had via email. Lori patiently addressed all my questions and concerns and listened as I explained what was most important to us. Although she had moved to a new position with Diamond Resorts, she took the time to make sure our needs were met.

Room Tip: Contact the resort with your request....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This resort isn't in Sedona. It's in Oak Creek Village about 20 minutes from downtown Sedona. However, the Red Rock Scenic Byway, the route from the resort to Sedona is absolutely stunning.

The resort isn't all that easy to find. Signage is deficient, including signage to the registration area. Parking near the registration area is inadequate and a good deal of space near the door to the registration area is set aside for golf carts used by the interval sales staff. The registration staff is reasonably efficient, but you are then immediate directed to the concierge staff and their primary and initial interest is to get you to sign up for a sales presentation for membership in Diamond Resorts chain. Some interval chains don't hound guests to take presentation "tours," others like Diamond and Welk do--and doing that is just plain tacky and entirely inappropriate. (For the record, we did go to a presentation and we did buy).

The exterior areas leading to our room were nice, but there was a poor design of the vents for the dryers (they are on top of the walkways to the doors to the rooms) so that they were pretty much bashed by carts and luggage hitting them again and again and again.

As we entered our unit, it was clear that the rug near the dining table was filthy. One of the most disgusting things we've ever seen in a time share (and we've owned timeshares for 35 years). There's just no way that a supervisor should have let the maid get away with that.

There are two swimming pools. We tried one as it opened in the morning and it was quite simply, filthy. The maintenance person was still there, but he was playing with a water fountain and had done a terrible job cleaning the bottom of the pool and skimming the top of the water. We couldn't bring ourselves into getting into it and went to the other pool, closer to the registration area instead. It was much cleaner, but leaves from a nearby tree were always falling into it. It was a fairly small pool and no good for swimming because about half of it is only three feet deep. Near that pool, though, is a very nice hot tub (the other pool does not have a hot tub adjacent to it--in fact it's quite distant and down a sizable flight of stairs),

This resort seems prone to power outages. We experienced two. The first proved to be disastrous. We had paid $30 for internet access and the first two days of the service was fine, but the power outage brought us only local access and we could not connect to the internet. In fact, we were never again able to connect to the internet (from Tuesday afternoon through Saturday afternoon). Neither AT&T nor the resort itself was able to do anything to get us internet service, although one member of the registration staff was deeply committed to helping us on Wednesday, going well beyond the call of duty. We found this failure to resolve the internet problem to be deeply disturbing. We were unable to keep up with many things and we were unable to use the internet to get vital information about the area. The second power outage was on Saturday. We were doing our wash and left to go to Sedona for breakfast. When we returned we discovered that the items in the dryer were still quite wet. When the power went off the dryer went off and didn't go back on.

The cabinets in the kitchen were pretty shopworn and badly needed replacement--one more sign of neglect and inadequate management attention to detail and quality.

Our unit did not have much of a view, although some units that face to the north (toward Sedona itself) would seem to have good views (but only if the view isn't obscured by fencing installed to keep golf balls from a nearby fairway from hitting the buildings).

The availability of hot water was intermittent. Usually all you got was fairly cold water out of the hot water tap, but sometimes, blessedly, there actually was some hot water from the start. In a desert area it's simply wrong to have to run water forever in the hope (too often vain hope) of it actually getting even warm.

One final thing. Although there were just two of us, the unit we were in is listed as sleeping four (two in the bedroom and two on the sleeper couch in the living room). However, there were only four each of various plates and bowls. And the kitchen table itself sits only four, despite the fact that this unit can be joined with a lockout unit that sleeps yet another two. If the lockout was open, there simply wouldn't be enough dishes or even enough space around that dining room table. Even the living room was a bit strange. It had the couch/sleeper and one chair. That worked well for the two of us, but if there had been four (or more with an open lockout) it would have been completely inadequate.

Room Tip: Rooms with porches facing the north would offer the best chance of a good view, but if you really do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick K, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know of the various concerns from your recent visit. We acknowledge our signage requires some updating and are currently in the process of addressing this concern. As for the golf carts at the front, this too has become a discusion point as I, as the newly appointed General Manager agree with your assessment especially during check in periods.

This property has been refurbished over the past couple of years with the exception of the bathroom cabinets which is on our radar to address so all rooms are 100% updated.

Thank you again for your feedback as although it is not always easy to hear about a less than perfect visit, it certainly allows us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Sedona/Oak Creek area is beautiful! We had two families in an adjoining studio and one bedroom and had a very nice stay. Kids played in the pool every day, borrowed games and did crafts. One bedroom units have washer/dryer (available free of charge for studios by the main building) and big tub as well as shower. Supplies were adequate for our needs in the kitchen. I would definitely go again, maybe at a cooler time of year!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This resort is part of the Diamond International chain and was outstanding in all ways. It was clean, had very well appointed units, furnishings, etc and the staff were wonderful. I would definitely return. It is located in the Village of Oak Creek but very close to Sedona and all the wonderful scenery of the Red Rocks is right outside the door. Loved it!! We did a RCI exchange and had a studio which was plenty of space for two adults. Given some RCI stinkers we have had I was nervous but this resort is wonderful. It was also very quiet and had excellent adult and family activities. Beautiful and well maintained pools and hot tubs too.

Room Tip: Building 9 and 10 overlook the Red Rocks. Others too. Ask for a second floor unit facing the Red Roc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetersville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in a studio for one week. This was a pleasure trip with no kids and the studio was more than adequate with its small kitchen. We stayed in building 10 and even though our balcony faced the parking lot there was still a beautiful view. The unit was nicely updated and housekeeping did a great job midweek of refreshing everything. We brought along a MiFi device that worked great for our Internet for the week. The location of the resort being somewhat out of town was not a problem for us. The weather was beautiful so we enjoyed driving around with the top down on our rented convertible. The scenery on the drive is amazing! There are plenty of good restaurants very close. We purchased a week pass at the spa at the nearby Hilton for $40/person. It is within walking distance and we used it every day for a secluded pool and hot tub, as well as steam room, sauna and fitness equipment. Well worth it to us to have a very quiet place to relax. Overall we had a wonderful stay at a beautiful resort and would happily return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Also Known As:
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel Sedona
Ridge On Sedona Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf
Address: 55 Sunridge Circle, Sedona, AZ 86351
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#22 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Digest gives a big thumbs up on this spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.