We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-proportioned accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   55 Sunridge Circle, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 45 hotels in Sedona
Happy Valley, Oregon
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well-proportioned accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

You'll have space - and plenty of it - in these Diamond Resort-owned units. Our one-bedroom was huge, with all of the amenities you'd expect in a time share. The pool is somewhat dated and our unit has clearly been used without an update for a while, but that didn't detract from the place. Units are being refurbished. Not sure about the public areas.

The only downside is the location. Set in the Village of Oak Creek, it is still a 15 minute drive to Sedona proper. There are restaurants and cafes within walking distance - as long as you're willing to brave the big hills - and a grocery store (Weber IGA) at the next roundabout. The views are good to great, depending on what building you're in. There are no food services onsite. The concierge is very helpful - but there is a continuing need to 'sell' the timeshare 90 minute visit, even when they knew we are regular Diamond customers.

Room Tip: Higher numbered buildings are up the hill, so further from reception and pools, but potentially bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at our resort. We apologise if you felt in any way inconvenienced by our on-site sales team; we assure you that we do not in any way advocate strong sales tactics and we are sorry if you were being approached on multiple occasions. We believe, however, that you had an otherwise pleasant stay and we hope that you will pay us another visit in the future. Until then we wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    150
    64
    34
    16
See reviews for
123
178
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The 2 BR unit was well-designed as a lock-off. The excellent initial appearance was confirmed during our week-long stay. Housekeeping touched up the unit after 3 days. Kitchen equipment was typical and adequate for the cook in our group of 2 couples. We faced the golf course and used the small, sun-protected patio several times. The spa was an easy walk. Our building was a drive to the pool and front desk. Outdoor lighting was good and protected the great evening skies. Front desk folks were the high people-skills staff we expect at quality timeshares. The Concierge desk was good, but not as well-informed as we could have expected. They were direct but not pushy about the timeshare presentation and the discounts to attractions they could offer. Nicely located: ten minutes north to town (Oak Creek Canyon and Pink Jeep Tours), thirty minutes west to Jerome and Verde Valley RR, 5-7 minutes to Bell Rock, 30 minutes to Flagstaff and 2+ hours to Grand Canyon. We are not owners but traded through Interval. We would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the ridge and were very pleased with our accommodations. We were in building 21 which is situated on the 15th and 16th (?) holes. It had a lovely view and we didn't mind being a little bit of a distance from the reception and pools. It was quiet and relaxing on the "other side of the hill". If you want to be closer, ask for a building under 19. If you like a soft squishy pillow, you might want to bring your own, but otherwise the unit, location and staff were all great.

The one down side of the Ridge is the $30 dollars I had to spend for internet for the week...and that is per device. C'mon?? Really?? in this day and age you're going to charge for internet?

And then there's the Let's convert your existing timeshare to "Diamond Resorts points" spielmeisters. Know your stuff before going into to talking with them if you're going in at all. They are aggressive and would have you believe that II and RCI are both about to become completely ineffective. (not true) and also there were so many hidden fees, that it does NOT streamline the process at all or make it more economical. Still, for some, it might be a good deal.

Room Tip: It appeared that 12-18 were the preferred buildings but 20-22 were great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We knew we would be doing a lot of activities away from the condo so only rented a studio for the two of us which was just fine although my husband would have liked a King Bed. I checked ahead to see if we would have a full kitchen and spoke with Seth. He made sure we had a unit with a stove top, refrigerator and microwave. When we checked in the closet door was off the track however they took care of it right away so no issue. We saw people using the numerous grills along the property. We did not grill as just down the road we found two of the best restaurants in Sedona. Cucina Rustica Dahl & Di Luca a true romantic Italian delight and Mileys Cafe a great choice for breakfast at really reasonable prices. They seemed to have a lot of activities planned although we had day trips planned and did not participate. We did spend a day at the pool with the water feature as our Minnesota winter has been never ending.

Room Tip: If you rent a studio know that they face the parking lots so if your main concern is a view rent a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edd Z, Regional Director of Operations at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you found your stay with us enjoyable. Your compliments regarding the service provided by Seth are most appreciated and have been shared with him.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place was not as shown on website, it was dark and worn out.The place had nothing going for it, advertised 3 beds but 1 was a horrible unsleepable hideabed,The maid service cleaned only part of the room and not very well we had to call and get her to come back and finish it the next day.The price was expensive and not worth the price ,also no wifi, charge 8$ a device for it, really bad , it was slow and cut in and out.would never stay here again, on of the worst places I've rented for the price they charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are truly and sincerely sorry that your here at The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide exceptional services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning, after reading your review, that we did not meet these expectations in regard to your stay. Please be aware that our website does detail the approximate square footage of each of our bedroom types, along with its available amenities. The pictures of the units shown are what a typical unit looks like, and may not be exactly representative of the unit you are assigned. We also provide this same information to our 3rd party rental partners, so we truly regret if you feel that the information provided to you did not meet the actual product offered. Our front desk staff would have been more than happy to see if another similar bedroom type was available that would have better accommodated you and your party. We regret hearing that our housekeeping staff did not properly clean your room on the first request. We will make sure to look into this internally to make sure this doesn’t happen again in the future. The Wi-Fi internet is managed and operated by a 3rd party vendor. We do not collect payments for this fee nor do we make any revenue off of these fees. Wi-Fi is provided as an option to our guests who select to use it. Costs for using Wi-Fi are provided beforehand on our website, and we try to make sure our 3rd party vendors notify their customers before booking. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this Diamond Resort from April13th until the 20th. $100 hold on your credit card. We stayed in a one bedroom with a full kitchen. Kitchen had granite countertops. Bathroom was spacious with large triangular tub and separate shower. Bathroom is large. Living room is a good size with a fireplace. Nice walk-in closet in the bedroom. Two flat screen TVs. We were in building 20 facing the golf course (not the red rocks). View was good, but I knew I could go outside and drive for 5 minutes to get a gorgeous view. Housekeeping once a week. Ten minutes to Sedona uptown. We did not do the sales briefing (I traded through Interval International). They were not pushy about doing it. I would definitely stay there again. Comfortable and spacious. Two pools and several hot tubs throughout the property. Beautiful golf course (I don't play!). If you like native american culture, do not miss the flute man playing his music.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort during your trip to Sedona. We were glad to see that our accommodations, amenities, location, and customer service contributed to your recommendation of our resort. Please be aware that a prepaid deposit to cover potential damage(s) or theft(s) from their room is required for all guests regardless of how the room was originally reserved or booked. These types of deposits are very commonplace in the resort industry and are used as a deterrent for guests to cause damage or theft to their room(s). By limiting these types of costs to replace damaged or stolen amenities, we pass on the savings to our guests. Thank you for sharing your review of our resort, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I took our first trip to Sedona in Feb. 2013. I fell in love! The area is one of the most beautiful places that I have been. The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort was beautiful. It was cold when we were there so we didn't use the pool or the hot tub but we couldn't have asked for better accommodations. The view from our unit was stunning. We loved the area of Oak Creek Village. The staff was very helpful and took care of our every need. My husband is a golfer so he loved that it was located on a golf course and played once during our stay. He took several beautiful photos on the course. The hiking in the area is fabulous. We took several of the hikes and went to the Grand Canyon. We will come again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Address: 55 Sunridge Circle, Sedona, AZ 86351
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#20 Family Hotel in Sedona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Digest gives a big thumbs up on this spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel Sedona
Ridge On Sedona Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.