We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   55 Sunridge Circle, Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 46 hotels in Sedona
Avondale, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Weekend Escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

My Wife & I stayed at the Ridge were also Diamond members. We had a one bedroom unit which was great. The accommodations were 4 stars or more. We have been to the Sedona area numerous times since we live in Phoenix we were looking for a few days of relaxation. We were invited to a member upgrade tour with no obligation to upgrade. Everything went fine until the end of the tour. We stated we weren't interested in upgrading at the time but would in the future. We were told ok we understand. Then a manager came out showed us a idea but stated we weren't interested. Then the last manager came out didn't want to take no for a answer. Made some remarks we didn't like about not upgrading, this didn't sit well with us since were members. The next day we spoke with a manager about this who understood where we were coming from & apologized. We like the resort, the employees were great. Glad we were able to talk with someone also about what happen as well. We will be in the future when we can.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    146
    63
    34
    16
See reviews for
118
175
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 days in mid December and was very impressed. Booked the one bedroom apartment and it was great. Was there with my wife and adult son. Lots of space. Modern. Good kitchen and bathroom. Wonderful bed. First class. And the price was good. No pressure to buy into the timeshare. Great place to see Sedona--do the hikes and vortexes etc... and as launching pad for the Grand Canyon. I have absolutely no complaints and would stay again.

Room Tip: was in an upper apartment which mean the views were better and the balcony was private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort – thank you for your review! We hope that you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another vacation, and we look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed this resort very much (now part of Diamond International rather than Sunterra). We have learned to not waste time on the sales presentation and the reviews about that were not good, so we again avoided it, even with a $75 gift card lure.

We got a call a few days before for VIP check-in. To be honest, I expected a hard sell for the "tours", but it actually worked very well. We were arriving late, so Jill had our room already assigned (with the location requests I had given her), key cards ready and hiking information for us. She mentioned the property tours, but did not push it at all - we also didn't get any other phone calls, so I was pleased about that.

The resort itself is nicely located on the south end of the Village at Oak Creek - 5 miles from Sedona through very scenic country. The upper loop (buildings 12 - 16) at the resort faced over the golf course north toward the rocks. Across the parking lot was the upper pool (warm enough to swim even in winter) and just down some steps a very nice, secluded hot tub (not hot enough for me, but ok with family).

We went to their "wild things" program, which was great - included a couple of live tarantulas to hold as well as several snakes (also to touch and hold). It was fun for kids and adults. Even though it was Christmas week, they seemed to continue their activities, but our timing never quite fit.

We made the longish drive to Grand Canyon and spent a very white Christmas day there. The rim roads were closed due to unusual cold and snow, but the shuttles ran within the village area from the Visitor Center to Bright Angel viewpoints. It was interesting to see it with snow all around.

Overall, The Ridge was a really good exchange for us.

Room Tip: The upper floor apartments in buildings 12 - 17 have views over the golf course - they are also near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, a finalist for Resort of the Year with Diamond Resorts International! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time despite the weather not cooperating. Perhaps the next visit you will get to enjoy more activities in our newly remodeled Activities Studio. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

great timeshare exchange....one bedroom was huge with living room and full kitchen.....furniture was top quality and decorated beautifully. staff at the hotel could not have been nicer...they have a VIP check in off premises and Robin was a great concierge that made our stay that much better....she was right-on with restaurants and places to go to.

Room Tip: golf course view but try to get the red rock if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to take advantage of our new VIP checkin program. This service has just been launched and so far the response has been extremely positive so we appreciate your feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I just spent a week at the Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort. It was for the most part very relaxing. However, there was alot of pressure from staff to try and sell us a time share. In addition, the resort is very isolated, located about twelve miles outside the heart of Sedona. There is NO food service, and there is a charge for everything including wi-fi, DVD rentals, etc. Also, there is no transportation into town. The resort is overdue for some major renovation. While the grounds themselve are nice, the units look like a throwback from the 70's.

Room Tip: There are studio suites, one and two bedroom condo's. Units either have a pation or balcony. Mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort. We are pleased that you did enjoy your stay and feel that you probably were placed in an unremodeled suite. The remodel project took place over a period of about 4 years and I am happy to advise you that it will be complete in 2013! Our next set of suites goes out of inventory in January to begin the remodel and replacement of all furnishings. Hopefully you did enjoy the 7 mile scenic drive from our location into the heart of Sedona and we look forward o having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort overlooking the golf course. We had a one bedroom unit for two of us with a large jacuzzi tub which was nice. The units were comfortable for two with many of the amenities of home. The units could use a bit of updating including the sleeper sofa and rugs but overall it was a nice weekend away.

Room Tip: Suggest you request a room in Building 22 over looking the golf course - quieter in the back buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and you found the apartment comfortable and facilities available - relaxing. It is a part of our ethos to guarantee a home away from home experience and we are very pleased to learn that once again we have been successful. As for the accommodation itself, we would like to advise you that we are constantly modernising our resort and some of the soft furnishings are in the process of being updated, we nevertheless apologise if this caused you any inconvenience. We are glad that you had a pleasurable vacation with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lori Lo Duca
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Unit was very clean and the kitchen amenities spot on. Close to iga webers grocery store to stock up on provisions. Pool and jacuzzi were relaxing and well heated. Bedding and towels were good quality. Sound proofing could be better. Views spectacular from pools and some units. But take a short walk and you will see Bell Rock and other beautiful vistas

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori L, General Manager at Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our beautiful area and look forward to having you return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Address: 55 Sunridge Circle, Sedona, AZ 86351
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#19 Family Hotel in Sedona
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Digest gives a big thumbs up on this spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel Sedona
Ridge On Sedona Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.