We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Penrose B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Penrose B&B to your Saves list
The Penrose B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   250 Red Butte Dr., Sedona, AZ 86351   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Sedona B&B and Inns
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Peace and Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

A must.. When I researched our stay I narrowed it down to three B&Bs Having always been mainstream hotel travelers, we hoped to make the right choice. And boy did we. Thanks in part to Trip Advisor, we concluded that The Penrose would be our choice..
From the moment you arrive the Penrose does not disappoint. The views are spectacular and they seem to have perfected every detail. When we checked in we were greeted by Francine who gave us a walk thru and set us up in our beautiful room (the Mariposa) The Inn is immaculate and everything well thought from ice buckets and corkscrews to a fully stocked frig featuring water, gatorade & soda not to mention the baked treats left each night. Morning breakfasts were deliciously prepared and plentiful.. We especially liked the morning's first courses; strawberry, banana, pineapple smoothie served in a martini class and the braised pinapples with brown sugar & cheese. The entrees that followed were perfect. No need to worry about where to go or what to do as the Penrose family has binders of local restaurants as well as maps and information on things to do and places to see. Allow yourselves a little time for checkout as there is a little ritual which takes about 20 minutes and is a perfect ending to a great stay. As for local recommendations:
We had two amazing dinners the first at Cuccina Rustica a dimly lit beautifully romantic place which is a 5 minute drive, the other and probably our favorite (we had seafood) at Shugrues which did not disappoint from the first cocktail to dessert. We sat on the outside deck at 645p and watched the sunset while we had a terrific dinner. Shugrues entree prices include 3 salad choices or soup and a side and was well worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
260
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Penrose B&B and enjoying the wonderful setting (a great view of the red rocks/sunrise and sunsets) from our bedroom as well as the patio and living room. The setting , menu and service of breakfast everyday was nothing short of spectacular ...fine dining so early in the morning ... what a great way to start the day.
The owner (Whitney) was able to direct us to wonderful hiking areas and the chef was most helpful in giving us some great tips as we headed out to the Grand Canyon.
I would rate this as one of the best B+B 's that we have stayed in - casual -but 1st class.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

We have just returned from our 2 night stay at the Penrose, celebrating our 8th year anniversary. It is the perfect place to stay for any romantic getaway. Nestled in the beauty of the Red Rocks, it is a calm oasis, from an ever increasingly hectic world. Hosts, Whitney and Christie, gave us a warm welcome and ushered us to the pristine, cozy, casually elegant Kokopelli room. Painted a pristine white with crisp linens, and tasteful decor, spectacular views from the room and lovely patio, we could feel our stress melt away. Breakfast, which we'd read many reviews about, lived up to our expectations. Dining on the main patio, encased by stunning mountain views, Judy and Beverly served up the most unique and delicious breakasts we have ever had.
Upon leaving the Penrose, it is not just the typical , pay the bill and leave system. I won't disclose what the lovely traditions are, only say , it is a thoughtful and delightful gesture, that adds to the uniqueness of the Penrose.
While we'd like to keep the Penrose our own personal secret, for fear too many people will hear about it, it would be an injustice not to share it. We want them to be in business for many years, so we can continue to celebrate our anniversaries at the Penrose.

  • Liked — Unique setting and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing....all wonderful
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed in the Coconino room during of stay at the Penrose.
The view from this room was absolutley breathtaking. The double shower was pretty awesome too!

  • Liked — Phenomenal view
  • Disliked — room was a tad bit small
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

If you want to be IN the town of Sedona - you won't be at this B&B. But, if you want to stay nearby Sedona - only a few miles away - where it is quiet, peaceful, has great views from every room, and has great breakfasts - then this is the place for you. VERY nice people here, and very helpful. Stay here!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — a LITTLE far from Sedona
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater,NJ
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

You’ve got to experience the Penrose if you a planning a visit to Sedona. Hospitality, you bet! Quality and comfort, that too! Location, well second to none! From the moment you step through the front door of the Penrose you are received with warmth that would make the Sedona Chamber of Commerce proud. Christie, Whitney, Joy, Judy & Beverly we thank you for an incredible stay. Our visit was brief, 4 days, but we had one of the most relaxing vacations ever. We stayed in the Javelina room which provided some of the most fabulous views of the Red Rocks – notably Bell Rock. One could actually sit on the balcony all day and enjoy the scenery. Not recommended however because then you would miss out on breakfast. You don’t want to miss breakfast! They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Combine excellent food, great conversation and the majesty of the Red Rocks and I would say that’s a great way to start the day. Make sure you spend some time chatting with Judy (your Chef) and Beverly (makes a mean smoothie). I actually think the Food Network is missing out. They could tape a show right from the deck of the Penrose. Food and personality of the Penrose was that good! And a backdrop of the Red Rocks! Doesn’t get any better!

If you’re experienced hikers or are just novices, which we are, Whitney can provide some exceptional local knowledge. After breakfast, we hit the trails. Each day’s walk outdid the one before. Penrose provided water, Gatorade and the like for our excursions. A very nice touch! We wished we had more time to explore. Well we will just have to plan a return visit and it will unquestionably be back at the Penrose.

Coffee, tea, soft drinks available 24/7. A homemade chocolate placed in the room every day. Night time snacks – lemon bars. Don’t miss the 8:30 PM tray of goodies. The check-out process didn’t even feel like a traditional departure. Whitney and Joy handle everything so well. I was able to print my boarding passes while my wife picked out our going away tee-shirts and we then spent some time chatting with Whitney. And of course lemon bars for the road!

Penrose B&B is an absolutely must visit

  • Liked — Location and hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed two nightsat the Penrose.
We were warmly greeted, taken on a quick tour, given our keys and a notebook filled with information on local restaurants, hiking paths, shopping spotsetc.. and away we went on our Sedona adventure.
The Inn is simply beautiful. Our room was a corner room with a really cozy bed and a nice size balcony with a spectacular view of the red rock mountians.
After an evening out, we returned to the Inn and were treated to homemade lemon bars and a refrigerator filled with a variety of beverages as well as hot coffee and tea.
A wonderful breakfast is served every morning on the deck overlooking the mountains. The food was fresh and delicious.
We had a great stay and can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — the beauty
  • Disliked — no hot tub
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Penrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penrose B&B

Address: 250 Red Butte Dr., Sedona, AZ 86351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penrose B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only b&b built on the side of one of Sedona's famous red rocks, The Penrose provides commanding views from every room of some of the formations that make Sedona a top-rated tourist attraction. Guests also enjoy gourmet breakfasts, flat-screen tvs, double jacuzzis or double showers, light airy rooms with uncluttered decor, and access to free drinks and snacks 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Penrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Penrose B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.