We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two
Save
You added The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two to your Saves list
6425 North Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 31 Sedona B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

My wife, Susan, and I love the Canyon Wren Cabins in Oak Creek Canyon near Sedona, Arizona. We especially love the Sycamore cabin, our own "home away from home" and the beautiful couple, Milena and Mike, who make it one of the most romantic spots we know.

We first discovered Canyon Wren in 1995, a few months before we were married. We honeymooned in the Sycamore. We go back every year to celebrate our anniversary. The Sycamore has a complete kitchen, living area (with a loveseat in front of the fireplace), a bedroom loft (with a private balcony), patio (with grill), and birds, squirrels and flowers galore surrounded by the walls of Oak Creek Canyon.

The complimentary champagne, flowers, chocolates (and the terrific homemade brownies and muffins!), together with the romantic fireplace and the oversize bathtub with water jets combine to ensure you can escape the everyday pressures of the world. (We love the fact that there are no phones or TVs in the cabin ...and that smoking is not allowed anywhere on the property!)

Sedona and the famous "Red Rocks" of Arizona are only a few minutes away. Hiking trails, from easy to "impossible" (for us), are plentiful in the area. Susan and I heartily recommend Canyon Wren Cabins for anyone who wants to discover or rediscover the joy that that special partner brings to your life and the joys that Mother Nature provides for us all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
530
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

we recently stayed at the canyon wren and greatly enjoyed it. as others have said, it is not for everyone; you won't find a pedicure, massage, or internet connection. what you will find is a fireplace with a woodbox that is always thoughtfully filled, lots of hummingbirds outside your window every morning and evening, and many interesting birds, all close to some of the most beautiful red rock you could wish for. and i must not forget: amazing muffins and brownies cooked by mike! others have commented on road noise: that was not a problem for us. because the weather was cold, we ate in our "cabin". the only drawback was that there was no breakfast space for socializing, and no real socializing in the evening. this may be less of an issue in warmer weather (which is probably most of the time). the fact that these are "cabins for two" means, no children, which for us, was also a plus. we actually had to turn off the tv in a nearby bar where we went for a drink, as the quiet and relaxation we enjoyed without a tv was so lovely. mike and melina are gracious and generous. there may have been a bit more attention to us than i might like, but, that is probably just me, most people would probably enjoy the interest they showed in our activities locally. i think the addition of a group hot tub would send this place from a "four" to a "five" for me!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2006

We had an amazing time at Canyon Wren Cabins! The cabin, grounds & hospitality were wonderful! The fresh baked muffins in the morning didn't hurt either. Melina & Mike really know how to operate a first class establishment. Wish we could move in for good! Obviously, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2006

We just spent a one week honeymoon at the Canyon Wren Cabins in Sedona, Arizona. What a peaceful place!! There are three cabins on the property plus the owners house. It is just a few minutes outside of Sedona and is only a short jaunt to Flagstaff from the cabins.
We stayed in the larger cabin with an upstairs bedroom loft that had a deck to sit on. It also had a kitchenette with all cooking equipment supplied, a cozy sitting area, a whirlpool bathtub and an outdoor sitting area with a grill.
We went down the road a bit to the trout farm one day, caught some fish and cooked it on the grill. Can't beat that!! Oh wait, yes you can!! The owners make some of the BEST brownies you could ever imagine!! They bring them fresh to your cabin everyday. They also serve continental breakfast with some of the most delicious pastries, muffins and fresh fruit. We were truly spoiled!!
The owners treated us like family and were very helpful in steering us in the right direction as to what sites to see and how to get there.
We did not want to return to reality after the week but knew we had to. We will definitely be back there for an anniversary or two.
I highly recommend this place but they seemed awful busy for January so I can only imagine how difficult it would be to book one in the summer so get your name in early!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

We stayed at Canyon Wren for two nights after spending a few days at the Grand Canyon. The Canyon was breathtaking but paled in comparison to getting engaged sitting by the fire in the cabin! A romantic and cozy spot, and the hospitality couldn't be better. We loved our time there and will be back.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

I had the pleasure of staying at The Cabin Wren for 3 days. It was a wonderful experience, very very clean and the owners are exceptional and make you feel right a home. I would "highly" recommend there cabins to any couple that is looking for a very intimate excape from everyday life, with all the romance of the Sedona/Oak Creek Canyon experience. I can't wait to return, because in my eyes Sedona there is no place like it on earth!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful getaway set in amazing scenery. Then the Cabin Wren would be for you. The cabins are immaculate and quite comfortable for two. No distracting TVs or Phones. All the neccessary amenities are provided in the kitchenet. There are visiting hours in the office where the pastries and coffee give it a bed and breakfast feel. The owners are there to offer any assistance you might need, something extra for the cabin or great suggestions for what to do and see in Sedona. We love those guys in fact we loved the whole experience so much that just completed our 3rd visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two

Address: 6425 North Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath red rock cliffs, the Canyon Wren Cabins beckons you to a unique getaway from the distractions of daily life. Each 500 square foot individual cabin is just the right size for one or two adults. Enjoy birds and bird feeders, fountains, trees and flowers...an oasis amidst the sycamore trees. Creek access to guests and a wonderful continental plus breakfast provided. Just the right distance from the bustle of Sedona. Original owners of 26 years offer concierge service and are a great source of information for your special vacation time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Canyon Wren - Cabins For Two Hotel Sedona
The Canyon Wren - Cabins For 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyon Wren - Cabins for Two, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.