We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place; fascinating story” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chapel of the Holy Cross

Chapel of the Holy Cross
780 Chapel Road, PO Box 1043, Sedona, AZ 86339
928 282 4069
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Chapel of the Holy Cross like an insider
Special Offer
$189*
and up
Sedona Day Trip from Las Vegas
Ranked #5 of 119 things to do in Sedona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This chapel, located among dramatic rock formations, offers spectacular views, especially at sunset.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Incredible place; fascinating story”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Read the inscription at the entrance to the church. It will tell you how the church was conceived, designed and built.

This is a remarkable place for people from all walks in their lives, regardless of spiritual beliefs. The setting itself is remarkable. With the story, the experience is incredible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,175
    734
    149
    28
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Made a stop here as part of a tour that my wife and I did and we really enjoyed the construction and the views that this afforded! Was a tad bit crowded but a little bit of patience with people paid off - don't miss it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very cool little church in an amazing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Chapel of the Holy Cross is such a neat little Catholic church. It's a cool mid century design with an interesting winding walkway to the entrance. I believe it is an historic landmark and architectural award winner. I'm so glad we took the time to stop and check it out.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place to sit and contemplate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nestled in the hillside, the chapel is a bit of a walk uphill from the limited parking. While it was crowded the day we were there, people were respectful and quieter than a lot of other attractions. One is allowed to light a candle and sit in the chapel as long as desired. It is quiet inside with a lovely view. There is a gift shop, which I did not visit - seems inappropriate for a church property. It does not cost anything. Not really for children.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sedona Magnificence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a one-of-a-kind church/worship area. It might be a little over run by tourists these days compared to former times, but still it is definitely worth a visit. If you go on a weekday in the middle of the day you'll probably stand a better chance of having a little more privacy. Tourists or not, don't be surprised if you are deeply touched or have a spiritual experience at this place. It's actually been a while since I've stepped inside but I can vividly remember seeing a soaring bird out the window and my soul soaring with it.
A great intro to the magic of Sedona and the surrounding area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapel of the Holy Cross also viewed

 

Been to Chapel of the Holy Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapel of the Holy Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.