We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for a stay in Sedona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baby Quail Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Baby Quail Inn to your Saves list
Baby Quail Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   50 Willow Way, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #19 of 30 Sedona B&B and Inns
cour10e22
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for a stay in Sedona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently spent three nights at the Baby Quail Inn in Sedona. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is incredibly friendly. We were greeted with big smiles. The rooms were cozy, cute and very clean. I loved the huge bathroom with lots of counter space and I loved having a window in the bathroom as well. The value is amazing considering what other properties go for in Sedona. Since you're going to be hopefully spending most of your time enjoying the beautiful outdoors anyway, why pay a huge premium for a hotel room? The continental breakfast was lovely and we enjoyed sitting on the patio in the morning reading our books and sipping coffee. As other folks have mentioned, the hot tub hours need to be extended until 11pm or so (especially during the summer since it's too hot before then) and the walls did seem a bit thin (could hear our neighbors' TV). I would definitely choose to stay here again on another trip to Sedona.

Room Tip: The walls seem to be a bit thin, so I would recommend staying on the top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    71
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
141
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We last minute had to move from the Wyndham and thought we'd find a place that would be inexpensive but at least decent for our last night. WOW, what a find Baby Quail Inn was and what a gift! From the moment we walked in we were greeted with the most loving, warm smile from Misty (one of the owners). She was caring with such a beautiful spirit. You could tell that the Baby Quail is beautifully cared for (even if somewhat old-fashioned with its VCR's, etc, it was very quaint and welcoming). When we went to our room we appreciated it being very clean and the lush trees and nature that surrounds the building and right outside our window.

The BEST part was coming down to breakfast and being greeted by Dick Curtis who is a famous actor from back in the day having worked with and produced many Hollywood Icons. He has a contagious smile, welcoming heart, wonderful humor and stories that just lit us up to hear, along with sharing the museum of pictures and memorabilia that line the breakfast room walls.

Even though we'd normally choose to stay at a Wyndham or 4 star hotel this is one gem that we WANT to return to because of how welcoming, loving, well-cared for it was and because of the gift that Dick Curtis is and getting to connect with him. Truly wonderful that we got to have that as part of our amazing Sedona experience. Some other reviewer likened this to more of a bed and breakfast than a motel and I couldn't agree more. We LOVED it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Despite the fact that the Baby Quail Inn is only a short distance from Route 89A, it is a peaceful oasis to enjoy after a day of touring the beautiful Sedona area. Each morning, my friend and I enjoyed taking our breakfast out into the courtyard in front to one of the umbrella-shaded tables. The courtyard also features a hot tub, and trees and chaise lounges.It is visited by quite a variety of birds stopping by the feeders provided for them. We had a twin-bedded room on the ground floor. The beds were super-comfortable and the bathroom had a walk-in shower and plenty of counter space. Our hosts, Dick Curtis and his wife Misty, were delightful people indeed, and genuinely interested in providing care and attention to their guests. They had plenty of information and tips about local attractions. Dick shared with us memories of his long career in movies and television. The dining room has marvelous photographs of highlights of his career, and he is happy to answer questions. Misty told us about a fine natural foods supermarket across 89A, where we got freshly made lunches to take back to the shaded courtyard, or to eat on our travels.

Room Tip: Baby Quail Inn is actually a small two-story motel. Very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place. My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed every part. The staff is very friendly and location is perfect. Dick Curtis had breakfast with us every morning and was great to talk to. Room was very clean and had the "right at home" feel. Much better then all the chain hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Really felt welcomed the moment we came in. Easy to find and right near great restaurants. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for a quaint place to stay. We left early so didn't get a chance to try the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Baby Quail Inn for 2 nights in February in a nice, clean room on the second floor. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and had plenty of recommendations for things to do in town. Dick Curtis, the owner and a former actor, sat with us at breakfast and chatted about his Hollywood days. Baby Quail Inn is hidden just off the main road, on a quiet residential street. It's a true, hidden gem and with only a few rooms, it's more like a nice B&B. When we return to Sedona, we will stay at the Baby Quail Inn again!

Room Tip: Second floor room was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrows, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We discovered this place on Tripadvisor when we first got into Sedona. It is very clean and very comfortable. The staff is super friendly. The owner Dick Curtis met us for our first breakfast here. The breakfast area is lined with his museum of his years in show business. He told very interesting stories you wouldn't hear anywhere else. The breakfast is a great continental breakfast. Coffee is very good!
I can't say enough good things about this place.
When we come back to Sedona this is where we will be staying. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baby Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baby Quail Inn

Address: 50 Willow Way, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baby Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baby Quail Inn is a charming little slice of heaven located in West Sedona on a quiet residential street. Small enough to be cozy and private, yet comfortable enough to stay for several days! Enjoy inground spa under the stars of Sedona. Spa towels and robes provided. Free wireless internet access, in-room coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. The entire property is non-smoking. Our inn is family operated with my daughter and husband who is a former actor whose name is Dick Curtis. Our free SELF-SERVE CONTINENTAL breakfast is hosted by Dick who shares his 60 years in show business with photos, stories and video. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Baby Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baby Quail Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baby Quail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.