We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT PLACE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baby Quail Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baby Quail Inn to your Saves list
Baby Quail Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   50 Willow Way, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Sedona B&B and Inns
London, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“PERFECT PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Sedona, centrally located and very friendly owners. The room was very clean and the grounds where you can eat breakfast lovely. Would definitely recommend for a stay in Sedona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    64
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
127
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Suffield, Oh
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a great location to stay while touring Sedona. Very clean and close to everything, The innkeepers were wonderful, and the continental breakfast adequate. This hotel has a 60's feel to it, but not in a bad way...definitely vintage. Bathroom was great, and the room was comfortable. Beautiful grounds as well.

Room Tip: There are only 12 rooms here...I don't think any would be bad. We had a corner room so we had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I didn't want to stay here at first, but Sedona hotels are awfully expensive and Baby Quail is one of the few places that doesn't gouge tourists with sky-high prices. It ended up being a comfortable stay, and I'd consider staying here again.

ROOM: The room isn't huge, but we tend to be the type of people who don't spend much time in our room, so that wasn't a big deal for us. Along with our queen bed, there was a small dining table with two chairs, TV, microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, and closet. The attached bathroom was HUGE, much larger than necessary, though be aware there is no bathtub.

REST: The bed was comfortable and we slept soundly...until about 4:30am when the refrigerator starting making obnoxiously loud noises. Not a small vibration, but very loud clunky noises. We were able to solve the problem by simply unplugging the fridge and then re-plugging it (which completely stopped the noises), but by that point we were already wide awake and decided just to get an early start to our day. Thank goodness we had gone to bed early!

CLEANLINESS: The room was perfectly clean, no complaints here.

SERVICE: We had very little interaction with the staff, only when checking in, which was friendly and easy. The hotel only has staff on hand during daytime hours (I believe 7am-7pm?) so there was no way to check out in person when we packed up at 5am and you'll have to arrive no later than 7pm in order to check in. If you don't anticipate having any needs that couldn't wait until morning, this arrangement may work for you.

LOCATION: The motel is located just behind the main drag of Sedona, so I was a bit worried there may be traffic noise. We could definitely hear plenty of cars coming and going in the evening, but traffic dies down quite considerably as soon as it gets dark, so it was easy to get some good rest. You'll find a few restaurants within walking distance, but for most hikes and meals you'll probably have to make an easy drive.

PARKING: There are just enough spots in a gravel parking lot.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is included, though is only served 8-11am. I realize we were up MUCH earlier than other guests, but 8am seems late to me for a start time. In Arizona, waking up early to hit the trails while it isn't deathly hot is a good idea...so be prepared to feed yourself in that case.

WI-FI: Wi-fi was fast and free. How can you go wrong?

BOTTOM LINE: Except for the refrigerator issue, there was nothing wrong with our stay. However, the inflexible hours for checking in was a little inconvenient for us and I would've preferred to formally check out upon our departure. I'd consider staying here again if I couldn't find a decent rate elsewhere, but it wouldn't be the first place I checked. It's nice to have staff on hand...just in case.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther away from the main drag if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationtime47, Owner at Baby Quail Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our inn. We felt your comments were fair and accurate. Our office does close at 7:00 PM and reopens at 8:00 AM. We always offer to make arrangements for late checkins and if we know our guests will be leaving early we offer our continental breakfast to them at night to be kept in their rooms. We do have an onsite manager 24/7 and we do answer our phone at all times so there is always someone on hand to handle emergencies. We hope you will choose to visit us again in the future. Misty Curtis, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Me and my friend were originally supposed to go camping but the weather was awful so we came across the Baby Quail and was firstly introduced by Baby, the owners ADORABLE dog. I fell inlove with her. She's very well trained and sooooo cute!!! The ederly woman that I 1st spoke to was a real sweetheart! Her husband was real jolly and sweet as well - was an actor years ago. Their daughter is very sweet as well! They literally are a kind hearted family! We stayed there for 3 nights. Stayed there twice in a row then wanted to go camping so we checked out. The weather was bad again so we came back and the daughter gave us a bit of a discount. It was $85 after tax for a twin room but she gave it to us for $79. Not much difference but still fairly cheap. The rooms are very cosey and nicely decorated. Bathroom compliments the room as well and is quite big. We stayed in room 1, next to parking, on the ground floor and right opposite to the mini jacuzzi. Was very hot but very relaxing. I will deffinately stay there again as they did really make me feel like I was at home. They do serve breakfast from 8am-11am. We didn't get to see what they had for breakfast as we had activities to do early in the morning. Would highly recommend this place :oD

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the ground floor, right next to the Jacuzzi and next to parking and the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda Dunes, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

To be honest, our first impression of the inn wasn't all that great, probably partly because we were expecting more of a B&B (we'd first found it on a B&B website), and also maybe because it was a bit difficult to find in the dark. But the relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, ultra cleanliness, extra large bathroom, comfy bed, and caring B&B touches (i.e. spa robes, organic cosmetics) more than made up for the 2-story motel layout, smallish room and noisy A/C. And to top it off, the owner, Dick Curtis, was an absolutely delightful host, sharing all sorts of interesting memorabilia, photos and stories with us from his days as an actor & producer. All in all, a very nice little place, and an excellent value. We'll definitely go back if their rates stay as attractive as the one we got.

Room Tip: We had a Queen room. Evidently, King rooms are a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Found the inn to be centrally located, very reasonably priced (especially for a friday night). It was lovely and clean and few felt like a home away from home. It was great to talk to our host Dick Curtis about his time in the entertainment industry and Misty was very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyota, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Baby Quail was a quaint, clean place to stay in Sedona. The inn-keeper keyed us into some wonderful places to eat and hike. It was fun to meet Dick at breakfast and to learn a little about his life story. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baby Quail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baby Quail Inn

Address: 50 Willow Way, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baby Quail Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baby Quail Inn is a darling little slice of heaven located in West Sedona on a quiet residential street. Small enough to be cozy and private, yet comfortable enough to stay for several days! Enjoy inground spa under the stars of Sedona. Spa towels and robes provided. Free wireless internet access, in-room coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. The entire property is non-smoking. Our inn is family operated with my daughter and husband who is a former actor whose name is Dick Curtis. Our free continental breakfast is hosted by Dick who shares his 60 years in show business with photos, stories and video. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baby Quail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baby Quail Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baby Quail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.