We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views somewhat dated rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Ranch Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sky Ranch Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sky Ranch Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1105 Airport Rd., Sedona, AZ 86339   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sedona
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great views somewhat dated rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in late February. Great views of Sedona and the location was nice and close to everything. I'm suprised they don't spend a little money to update the place it could be a real gem. We did have issues with hot water running out daily and very thin bedding made for a cool night as the heater was kind of finicky. For $150/ night though the price couldn't be beat. We used the pool and hot tub as well which was a nice added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    305
    68
    29
    22
See reviews for
211
307
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fox Lake
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The views are stunning. The rooms are average, nothing fancy, but you're paying for the view. You have to go the main viewing area, as most rooms don't have a view of anything other than the pool or parking lot. I stayed here on my last night in Sedona, after a week at a higher-end hotel. Sky Ranch felt more like a motel, but no complaints. Once again, the view is what you're paying for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Sky Ranch Lodge staff was very friendly. The location was very convenient to hiking trails and restaurants. The views at sunset were spectacular. The mattress was very comfortable, but the bed linens were lacking mainly due to a polyester bed cover. Having a wine bar on property was nice since we got to enjoy a glass of wine at sunset.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Lodge could use some updating; very 60's chic, but clean and location can't be beat! Great location by the airport with fabulous red rock views.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August 2011 at the end of a three week road trip. We needed somewhere to really relax before our flight home. This fitted the bill perfectly. We had one of the two cottages- really huge- loads of room to relax . The little kitchenette tucked away behind "cupboard " doors was amazing- really great design! (cooker could do with updating)The major comment here has to be about the views which are truly stunning! We would be walking about in the cottage and just turn round to face the windows and it would shock you every time! The windows in the cottage stretch all the way across the wall so the whole place is really light, with a complete sense of place ( we are view obsessed!) Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Would Definitely recommend one of the two separate cottages- loads of room; privacy; quiet ; plus In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

"Rustic" as used in other reviews is spot on. There is nothing fancy about this hotel, but it is clean, well kept, quiet and a delightful throwback. The bathtub / shower and sinks are '50's formica, the furniture well worn but again, everything is very clean and comfortable. The room is large with a gas fireplace. Warm greeting at the front desk and they were very helpful with restaurants, spa, etc.

We were lucky enough to get one of the two cabins, so the view of Sedona and the hills behind the city was spectacular and we had the feeling of complete seclusion. That is my tip: splurge a little and get one of the cabins, 271 or 272.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Part with the few extra dollars and ask for 271 or 272.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I read all the descriptions before booking and they were in large part spot on. This is not a spa. This is not a luxury hotel. It is rustic. It is remote from the hustle of downtown Sedona. It is delightfully outdated in decor--almost quirky in a proud sort of way. And, it is a place you can walk barefoot into the main lobby and not feel out of place. And did I mention the views. The views alone are worth the stay at the Lodge. Most who come to Sedona make the trip up to the adjoining public overlook for the views. Guests at the Lodge get the views anytime they want from their room...or after a short hike to the patio. The rooms. Spacious, clean and...did I say rustic? Nothing wrong with that. Did I say dated? Nothing wrong with that either. The grounds were well cared for and worth spending time at...reading, lounging about or napping. I saw guests do all three. I did two--reading and lounging. Sunset and Sunrise watching is well worth the time at the patio. Bring binoculars. And bring a telephoto lense for your camera. You need go no futher to get the most spectacular photos of Sedona. Just a short walk away is the Airport Restaurant. The food and the views there are both very good. We had dinner and lunch and both were outstanding. Regarding the packages offered by the Lodge. They are confusing. Confirm with the hotel what they are actually offering before purchasing. When we go back to Sedona, we will most definately be staying at the lodge again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sky Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Ranch Lodge

Address: 1105 Airport Rd., Sedona, AZ 86339
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sky Ranch Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky Ranch Lodge sits on the edge of Airport Mesa, 500 feet above town, peacefully removed from all the hustle and bustle below. Massive red rock views tower in every direction from the hotel and the mesa is ringed by an easy hiking trail that offers eagle-eye views of Sedona's most stunning rock formations. These are the best views in all of Red Rock Country. Sky Ranch Lodge is famous for its richly landscaped grounds, teeming with gardens, shade trees, and ponds - often referred to as an oasis in the sky as well as "Sedona's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sky Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Ranch Hotel Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Ranch Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.