We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lantern Light Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lantern Light Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Lantern Light Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3085 W. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Sedona B&B and Inns
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

We loved our stay at Lantern Light Inn! Kris made us feel right at home like we've known her for years! Even though Kris wasn't serving what she considered to be a full breakfast on the days that we stayed, she went above and beyond with what she considered to be light fare. The room was very comfortable; sleeping in was easy, making for a very relaxing vacation! The Inn was beautiful and centrally located in Sedona, making it easy to get to hiking trails, dinner, etc. We can't wait to go back! We absolutely recommend this bed and breakfast! A perfect first time stay in Sedona!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
41
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

Ed and Kris are awesome innkeepers!!! I travel alone and they made me feel right at home, comfortable, and secure. The bed and breakfast is right on the highway, but it is so secluded that you would never know it. This is truly a highlight and a wonderful place to stay!!!! I can't say enough great things about this little place, the price is right, and the surroundings are right. They will plan things for you too.

I highly recommend this place!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

Ed and Kris are wonderful inn keepers. The place if filled with great energy from the moment you check in. Kris lent us hiking books on Sedona, gave us advice on the best hikes and Cliff bars so we didn't go hungry. Ed is photographer and his work, which is fantastic, is all over the inn.
The property itself is lovely with pretty gardens and is very clean. They cooked us a delicious, organic breakfast one of the days, although I don't think this is the norm anymore, as they have moved to a hearty continental breakfast.
We will definitely go back next time we are in Sedona!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

The Lantern Light Inn, run by innkeepers Kris and Ed, is wonderful. Although it is located on the main road in Sedona, it is an absolute oasis. It is set back from the street, and had a beautiful courtyard with flowers and fountains. It is very Provence in feeling, including
the room decor. The owners are incredibly gracious and helpful. Kris was so kind to my 8-year-old son, and gave us a Red Rocks pass, and a guidebook to help with our hikes, as well as spot-on recommendations for hikes and restaurants. They serve a continental breakfast each morning that is very good, with delicious fruit salad,
breads, and cereal. It was a great place to stay.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

As you walk into the Lantern Light Inn, you might think you've entered a charming little southern garden in a house in Old Town Virginia. Quite lovely. Our names were written on a little board along with a welcome message as we entered.

Ed and Kris were fantastic hosts. So helpful about giving us tips on where to hike and what to do and even offering us temporary use of their Red Rock pass! The breakfast was much more than we expected. Fresh fruit, juice, and coffee, along with homemade baked muffins and breads - really good.

My husband and I especially enjoyed sitting in the beautiful back garden in the evening which was right off our room. What a way to end the day.

We highly recommend this bed and breakfast. You definitely get a lot of value for your money.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

The Lantern Light Inn is an absolute gem. My husband and I stayed there for four nights in March and couldn't have been happier. We travel a lot, and this was one of the most comfortable rooms and nicest B & B ever. Our room, the Ryan room, was large and very tastefully decorated, with every amenity one could want. The room and the small details were amazing: fresh flowers, a small but well equipped kitchenette, the sitting area with a fireplace, ample closet space, a nice bathroom, and an extremely comfortable king size bed. A healthy breakfast of fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola, muffins and artisan breads made a great start to the day. Previous posts have raved about the hospitality of the host, Ed and Kris Varjean, and they are all true. When returning after a tiring day in Sedona, we kept saying to ourselves how glad we were to be coming "home."

  • Liked — The location, the knowlegable and accomodating hosts, the room, and the value.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

If you really want bell hops, rooftop gyms, elevators, bustling lobbies, read no further. But if you want the warmest, friendliest, most enjoyable hosts you could possibly find, a clean, warm charmingly decorated home away from home, and an incredible value for your dollar, book a room (or suite) at the Lantern Light Inn.
Soon after entering, we had no need for the guidebooks, the assorted pamphlets, nor the recommendations from newspapers. Our host Kris greeted us and told us we happened to arrive on a perfect day in the perfect time to catch the sunset. After a quick settling in, she gave us simple directions (and a baggie of almonds to hold us over until dinner) to an "insider" spot where we caught the 15 minutes of the glowing sun off of Cathedral Rock as reflected in a glass smooth pool of water . We were besides a veteran photographer with a tripod who knew the spot well but we had only been in Sedona for 1 hour and hit the same goldmine thanks to Kris!
Also, they alerted us before we arrived that they no longer are the 'breakfast' part of B&B so we did not expect much. However, the delicious fruit salad, date bread, coffee and tea they served in the morning was a welcome surprise. One night when we returned home late and I wanted a cup of tea, I asked Kris for some boiled water. She arrived at our room with a beautifully set tray of carrot cake, fresh whipped cream topping, and tea service. I can't promise that will happen again, but that is just an indication of how well she takes care of you.
She sent us to the perfect hiking trail, helped us pick a Pink jeep tour and ensured that we put the 1 1/2 days we had in Sedona to outings of our liking. We were supposed to drive to Scottsdale to stay with friends the morning of our departure, but we left a few hours late because we were just enjoying too much sitting around the dining table with Kris discussing movies, history, Sedona tales, life narratives, etc.
We chose the 'pink room' and found it bright and cheerful. A great find.

  • Liked — The charm of the common area and room; the helpfulness of the hosts
  • Disliked — No view of the red rocks of Sedona
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lantern Light Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Light Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3085 W. Highway 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lantern Light Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.