We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, peaceful, but pricey...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge de Sedona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge de Sedona to your Saves list
L'Auberge de Sedona
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Capture the Color
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Relaxing, peaceful, but pricey...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I've been here several times stayed in all the cottages from the Spa, Vista, and Creekside Cottages. My favorite is the Spa cottage. Extremely modern, clean, and sophisticated. The property is nestled by Oak Creek that flows through Sedona and massive Red Rocks. It is a very beautiful location. It is pricey to stay in the cottages. The grounds are immaculate, very well manicured and taken care of.

Cottages:

They are more like your own cabin, we had a king size bed with four post bed frame, lots of pillows, the bed is extremely comfortable. There are two lounge chairs, a fireplace, flat screen tv that is mounted. The bathroom is very modern, clean, 2 showers, one is standup, the other is an outdoor shower perfect. It is very invigorating to shower outside with the trees towering above you and the blue sky. Extremely nice! You have your own patio area where you can sit and lounge, there is also a reclining lounge chair to sun bathe in. Very spacious patio area. There is a mini fridge, a Keurig machine which is a nice touch, 2 bottles of water is supplied daily but you can always get more at the parking attendants area. If you are staying in one of the cottages you do get turn down service which is nice.

Restaurant/Food: There is the Oak Creek restaurant which is on site, room service is provided however is extremely pricey. The added delivery fees is extremely high which also includes the delivery person's gratuity. I know this because I asked the guy, however the annoying part is there is an additional tip line. Food is good but nothing to rave about. Price point is a bit high, this isn't some five star restaurant to be charging those price points.

Location: It is situated in Uptown Sedona. You can literally walk up from L'auberge into the town where there are shops, restaurants, souvenir places, etc...

Fees: Everything is included in the price of the room. There is no need to tip anyone, valet parking is already included, bell man is included, the wifi is also included in the room fees.

Property: Great location, Oak Creek runs through this property. They have chairs and swing chairs that you can sit and enjoy the scenery and watch the resident ducks swim in the creek. They offer duck feeding in the mornings which is a nice touch. It is extremely relaxing to sit by the creek and hear the meandering flow of the water or take a stroll along it.

Overall, this is a wonderful place to come enjoy The Red Rock Country as they call it. Very well maintained location. Price points are high on this location but worth it if you like peace and quiet this location is great. I always feel relax and rejuvenated when I leave.

Have a restful and relaxing vacay <3!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your continued support of L'Auberge and taking the time to write this thorough review. We're glad to hear that you feel well taken care of at L'Auberge and have a chance to relax and rejuvenate while you're here! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    163
    75
    32
    20
See reviews for
198
756
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Six days ago today my friend, Carol, and I arrived at L'Auberge from Vancouver and Boston respectively to celebrate 55 or more of friendship. After checkin we were shown to our cabin where we found a king-sized bed, not the two beds I had requested through my travel agent. When I called to ask for a different cabin Brianna told me the cabin had two beds, that the pull-out sofa was the second one. Since the cabin contained one large room having a pull-out sofa taking up space seemed ridiculous. I told Brianna the inn should have informed me (through my agent) they did not have cabins with two beds at all. So what to do? I was upset, feeling deceived by the staff, but with seven days to go I didn't want to spoil the vacation for Carol so we out up with this outrageous situation. There was no apology, just that's the way it is attitude. So buyer beware, the two bed request was in black and white fr

Room Tip: Ask for confirmation in writing from L'Auberge the number of beds in your unit. Ask for a book o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for planning to stay at L'Auberge to celebrate 55 years of friendship, what an amazing story! We do apologize for the miscommunication on the bed types when your room was booked. Our reservations team has reached out to the booking company that your travel agent received information from and have asked to make sure all agents are aware of our room types and the bed options that we have. We do hope that the rest of your weekend together was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The place should be a five star spot...but it is not. It looks, but does not deliver, the part. Everything is very pricey, and the over all "organization" leaves much to be desired. On the plus side, the outdoor dining and drinking area is striking; really beautiful.
On the minus side, the prices are high for Sedona, and they can't seem to get their dinner reservation story straight...if you call, they'll likely say they're "booked", but when you stop by most seats will be empty.
For special events, their prices are the highest I've seen in Sedona; as high, or higher...except for room charge.. as Enchantment. The service/staff, once there, is quite good.
Overall, would go again, but just for drinks by the creek.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We certainly appreciate your review and for staying with us. Our management team does compare our rates and offerings with many hotels in Sedona as well as the Phoenix and Scottsdale areas, so that we are within our competitors pricing range. Thank you for your mention of the dinner reservation system, we will make sure our restaurant team is aware of your experience so that we can better our communication. We're glad that you were able to enjoy our location and hope to see you dining with us along the creek in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I feel that this hotel relies on its location and the beauty of the area rather than focusing on making it an experience for the guest from start to finish. Staff members did not welcome us or address us each day. The spa changing area was a mess with towels and water all over the floor, and although the hostess apologized, I expect a lot more given the price of the spa services. Hotel cleaning staff did not make eye contact, and on more than one occasion they left items outside our door after cleanup (e.g. cheese plate leftovers, dirty towels). One day I even saw an empty bottle of wine and wine glasses under our vista suite patio (visible from the walkway) and we hadn't even ordered wine to our room. I had to mention this to the hostess at the front desk to have it cleaned up. I'm not sure why someone else's leftovers were placed under our patio door? It sounds like a bunch of little things, but added together, I do not feel that this resort creates an overall high quality experience for the guest. Thankfully we LOVED our hiking and outings in Sedona and had an amazing vacation. We always slept well and we loved our room. We were not sure we would return to this hotel though. For the price paid, we expect a higher level of service and engagement from staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. As you can see from many of our other reviews, this is not a great example of the personalized service we strive to give all guests. We apologize for your experience and would like to assure you that we will take this to our team to add to our continued work on personalized service. We are glad to hear that you still enjoyed your room and the beauty of Sedona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at L’Auberge de Sedona for two nights on March 11 and 12. The staff was warm, friendly, professional and could not have been more helpful. Our room was located in the Lodge and was comfortable and cozy, with a small balcony from which one could see the nearby mountain and Canyon. The bed was comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. The first evening we had dinner at L’Auberge Restaurant and were given a table at the edge of Oak Creek. The weather was a bit cool; but our table was provided with a heater and we were quite comfortable in this enchanting and romantic setting. Our attentive and friendly server, Michael, presented us with an excellent dinner in one of the most beautiful dining places we have ever enjoyed. Our visit at the hotel ended with a great breakfast in the dining room. We had a wonderful couple of days at L’Auberge and would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We're glad that you enjoyed the romance of our setting! We are very lucky to have out dining tables truly on the banks of Oak Creek. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we hope you plan to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because we wanted to sample the restaurant and were not disappointed. We were in a Spa lodge which had a lovely, comfortable four poster bed, a cosy gas fire and a patio to enjoy the sun. Beautifully clean with a jacuzzi bath and an outside shower (enclosed) if you're feeling brave enough. Complimentary bathrobes and chocolates on the pillow at night - pure luxury. Staff were all very friendly and helpful - a credit to the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your visit to L'Auberge and our restaurant on Oak Creek! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We hope you plan to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This was the best stay ever! Beautiful weather beautiful property beautiful staff!!! The resort couldn't be beat!! The service is untouchable! I can't even begin to explain how friendly the staff was on every I level! Everyone stopped to say hello in the middle if whatever they were doing! The property had secret hidden treasures around every corner! I loved it come back anytime possible!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and explorations around property. We strive to give guests the best service possible to ensure a relaxing stay and happy to hear that we succeeded. We'll see you next time you're in Sedona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge de Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Sedona

Address: 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sedona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#2 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge de Sedona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Auberge de Sedona has the privilege of being one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Surrounded by the towering red rocks of Sedona, we have an extraordinary and unique location on the banks of Oak Creek, where the air is cooler, the scenery even more beautiful and the atmosphere so tranquil and romantic that even the most seasoned traveler is awestruck. With staff who genuinely care – who greet you with warm, sincere smiles and go above and beyond to ensure you have a truly magical stay. We offer 87 meticulously appointed guest rooms and cottages spread across 11 acres of landscaped grounds. The cottages all have fireplaces and private decks; most have separate outdoor showers. Have a romantic dinner on our creekside patio, and you’ll see why L’Auberge Restaurant on Oak Creek was named "One of the Top Ten Restaurants in the Southwest" by Condé Nast Traveler. We’ve also received the Wine Spectator’s "Award of Excellence" 19 consecutive times. Our $25 million refurbishment includes a new indoor/outdoor wine bar and dining patio and an expanded spa for lounging after your day’s activities. And if you want more, there are lots of extras like yoga classes, daily duck feedings, evening stargazing sessions and pet-friendly rooms.But don’t take our word for it. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge de Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge De Sedona Hotel Sedona
Lauberge De Sedona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge de Sedona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.