We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Sedona Family Restaurant and Grill

Olde Sedona Family Restaurant and Grill
1405 W State Route 89A, Sedona, AZ 86336
928-282-5670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 159 Restaurants in Sedona
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Very good food!! Great service plenty of food for your money!!! Great value we were happily surprised cause no one was in the parking lot. BBQ sandwich, chili, patty melt all yummy and Shock Top on tap ...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    69
    46
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Looking from the outside, this restaurant looks like its from an old western movie. When you walk in, that image doesn't change. So for modern folk it looks old. Frankly we weren't sure we should stick around. But we did. The folks there were friendly and we said why not.

To our surprise the food was Very, Very good.

You have two choices when you enter, the bar side or the restaurant side.
The bar side is typical "bar" With TV's and the " bar noise."

The restaurant side was low scale, pine wood accent, old western photos on the walls and a very friendly waitress.

I ordered the ribs, meaty and delicious. They were clearly cooked over an open wood fire.Outstanding! The Tortilla soup was a little spicy, but tasted excellent, with large chunks of chicken in the soup. The Chicken Alfredo was good. The trout was excellent, and the Chicken Marsala was " heavenly." And our friend said it was one of the best she had ever had.
The warm chocolate cake was very good also.

A great value for your money. An excellent place to take the family. There is even a back room banquet area. It wasn't until we went to lots of other restaurants, that we realized this restaurant is one of the best in the town. Good food ..served hot, and great prices.

Ordering tip: Don't settle for a burger....Get the ribs! One of the best I've ever had. You'll be glad you did.

Over 80 Films have be shot in Sedona and the restaurant had photos of these old films everywhere. Taking a walk around and looking at the photos was like walking back in time.

The owner Mike, said that he is in the process of fixing up the place.. with a new sign.
We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good burger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

There are a lot if fancy places in Sedona with fancy prices, too. This is just your average bar and grill. I had the Southwestern burger that had poblano peppers, Monterey Jack cheese, and avocado, and it was a good size and very tasty. My side was fresh fruit and I got a very generous serving of sweet, crisp fruit. This plate was still a little pricey at $11.95, but I guess for Sedona that's not bad. My husband had the special which was fish and chips, and though it was good there wasn't enough fish. Just two smallish filets, and they were obviously frozen; pretty good, though. They also had hard cider, which I liked , as I'm not much of a beer drinker. Atmosphere was comfortable enough but a little bare. The service was fine, prompt and friendly. We didn't go in the bar, but it seems to be a popular place, and they had live music on a Friday night. I don't think there was a cover charge, but not certain. This is a good place to go in Sedona if you're trying not to splurge.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Went for the dancing and had a great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The only place we could find in Sedona on Saturday night where there was dancing. Met some nice friendly, welcoming, locals and had a fun night. Music is typical 2013 club style. There was a mix of ages, from those who still get carded and those far beyond.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Best chili I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great place to eat, watch t.v. and sit in private. Separate dining room or order from the bar. The chili is a must have. calamari is great. combo plate a great value. reallygood service and will take care of your special request.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Sedona Family Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Olde Sedona Family Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Sedona Family Restaurant and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.