We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Garlands Oak Creek Lodge

Garlands Oak Creek Lodge
8067 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9696
928-282-3343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 153 restaurants in Sedona
Price range: $45 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: One special menu is presented each night by Chef Brian Widmer. The fixed price meal includes homemade bread, soup, salad, the featured entree, dessert and coffee. (Dietary restrictions are happily accommodated with advance notice.) With limited seating guests often share a table. Over the years our guests have often told us of friendships forged while enjoying a delicious dinner; for many it is part of the unique experience that is "Garland's Lodge." (Tables for two can be requested, but cannot always be guaranteed.) Cocktails are served by the fire or out on the lawn while the season permits, beginning at 6 P.M. All are seated when the dinner bell rings at 7 P.M.
Cornville, AZ
1 review
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Expensive cafeteria food served in a chuck wagon environment. Seems to work if you encourage people to drink one hour before they ring the dinner bell. At that point, customers don't even know how bad the food is that they are eating. Very disappointing! Definitely not work the drive to get there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    38
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“4 star in the canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Tough to get a reservation here if you just want dinner, but better still, stay a while in one of the cabins and enjoy the sumptuous breakfasts and 3 hour dinners prepared by the cook who wrote the book and, if you're lucky, be serenaded by a violinist who doubles as your waiter.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, UT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great once again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We recently dined at Garland's Lodge, it was our first time back in a few years and we didn't know what to expect since the long time chef Amanda Stine had recently retired. It was delicious and every bit as good as Amanda's fare. We were served a minted beet soup which was lite and smooth as silk. The salad was delicious with fresh greens, asparagus, feta and a sherry walnut vinaigrette. The entree was Halibut, in general not my favorite fish, but it was topped with a lemon dill sauce. It was cooked perfectly and was delicious paired with the farro pilaf and wilted swiss chard. To finish us off, a warm chocolate cake with vanilla bean ice cream and housemade caramel. Divine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Garland's dinners a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Garland's is known for their superb meals however there is evidentally a new chef for dinners and our two dinners on May 8 and 9 were just short of disasters. On Wednesday we were served halibut with a salsa. I have never experienced fish with this texture- very mushy, not at all flaky. Many diners did not eat the fish after trying one bite. All 4 of us at our table sent it back to the kitchen uneaten as was the case with the adjoining tables on either side of us. The salsa covered the fish, the ingredients should have been of smaller dice. The chocolate tart for dessert lacked any depth of flavor and also went uneaten. On Thursday we were served herbed crusted pork tenderloin. I can only assume the meat had been roasted at about 300 degrees- it was uniformly medium rare, underdone and unappetizing. The tomato and artichoke melange on top of the pork was tasty. The strawberry tart for dessert was fine- an extremely thin crust with a thin layer of sliced berries.

We love Garland's for it's serenity and beauty but the dinners were terrible. Hopefully the owners will replace the chef(s) with people who actually know how to cook. My "average" rating balances the excellent location and ambiance with the best-forgotten food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another Good Experience at Garlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found Garlands a few years ago and were thrilled by the overall experience. The meal is fixed, no choices, cocktail hour precedes the meal and you always have an interesting group of new acquaintanceswith which to share dinner. My only gripe was that we expected pork loin, the meat did not arrive so they cooked short ribs...one of my most least favorite foods. BUT, it was beautifully done.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garlands Oak Creek Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Garlands Oak Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garlands Oak Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.