We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking in the Rain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Fork Oak Creek Trail

West Fork Oak Creek Trail
Sedona, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 119 things to do in Sedona
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trail that follows a creek at the bottom of a 1,000-foot canyon.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hiking in the Rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Rain is rare in Arizona, so a hike along the 3.3 mile trail to its effective termination where it ends as a stream through a canyon was a treat. I was surprised by the number of seniors, besides myself, making the trek. Overall, there is little climbing and a good trail, with a few rocky parts and the need for balancing on stepping stones on the 13 creek crossings. If one is prepared to wade, one can continue on much further… and camp six miles from the trail head. Hope to do that in the not too distant future. One warning: the parking lot at Call of the Canyon parking lot requires a special permit. The Red Rock Pass, the Seniors Golden Pass, etc. all invalid. We bought the Big Three pass and hiked Cathedral Rock trail the next day out of the Crescent Moon Ranch day use area, another of the Big Three. Unfortunately, finding out all about the permits is confusing and some documents have out of date information.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    106
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best hike for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were looking for spring wildflowers and were not disappointed. What a beautiful walk on a beautiful morning! We had fun crossing the stream, listening for birds, discovering wildflowers, and just being amazed at the beauty all around us.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful canyon hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A beautiful hike along the lower 3.3 miles of a canyon, until the dry trail stops. 13 crossings of the creek each way with beautiful views of the cliffs up above.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We enjoy our hikes-Yosemite and KIngs Canyon are in our backyard. This was a good place to meander-be sure to bring water shoes for the pool at the end.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best trail in my opinion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Shaded and scenic! Wear good hiking shoes, and a walking stick will make the creek crossings safer. Remember to pack a lunch and bring a camera as this trail just keeps on giving until it ends. Parking fills up early on weekends so plan accordingly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Fork Oak Creek Trail also viewed

 

Been to West Fork Oak Creek Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Fork Oak Creek Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.