We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trail in my opinion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Fork Oak Creek Trail

West Fork Oak Creek Trail
Sedona, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 119 things to do in Sedona
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trail that follows a creek at the bottom of a 1,000-foot canyon.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best trail in my opinion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Shaded and scenic! Wear good hiking shoes, and a walking stick will make the creek crossings safer. Remember to pack a lunch and bring a camera as this trail just keeps on giving until it ends. Parking fills up early on weekends so plan accordingly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    106
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Most highly recommended trail for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

One day one in Sedona the most common conversation with strangers was were to go and what to see. Three people all said West Fork Trail so on day two we went here. We did arrive before 10 and people were already heady back out. There was so much wind the night before that trees and branches were falling and were strewn along the trail. Some people found it safer to exit. We started anyhow and did find the debris but kept going. At one point we chatted with a couple who were heading back out and they commented on the fact that they cleared much of the debris. What thoughtful people. We did pack a lunch and we made it to the end. It was fabulous. Not too over taxing. Skipping stones and good balance kept our feet dry as we crossed the creek the 13 times. Being in the canyon, the sun wasn't so hot and there was a nice breeze. We enjoyed our time tremendously.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The whole trail is beautiful, following the creek. There were lots of people with some serious cameras. My favorite thing is also the biggest caution: crossing the creek -which happens so many times I lost count by the time we turned around to head back. Waterproof shoes/boots make that part much more enjoyable. I did not envy the people we saw slowly rock hopping (and not always successfully.) It was kind of fun to see the envy as we strolled right passed in the water.
Very pleasant experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A good hike for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We spent a nice afternoon on this trail. We knew that we wouldn't have time to hike all the way to the end, but still enjoyed walking to the 5th or 6th creek crossing. We met hikers of all ages along the trail, many with young kids. Everyone seemed to be having a good time, especially when crossing the creek. The changing colors of the canyon walls and the different rock formations were a constant source of entertainment for us, and we appreciated the shade afforded by some pretty huge trees along the entire length of our journey. Our feet stayed dry, thanks to a little extra stability provided by our walking sticks. If you only do one hike in the Sedona area, do this one!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trail that combines canyon with forrest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A great day hike near Sedona. I arrived around noon and the parking lot was full, luckelly someone was leaving and I didn't have to wait. Entrance fee is $10, separate from Red Rock district pass.
This was a 3 1/2 mile trail (one way) with little elevation gain. The trail follows a wide canyon along the river. The canyon is forrest and a very peacefull. The views of the surrounding cliffs are outstanding. There are quite a few river crossings, I had hiking shoes and they were ok. The river isn't deam and there are rocks to help cross.
At the end where the canyon narrows it becomes completely wall to wall river. If I did have the right footwear I would have ventured further up the canyon to explore. It didn't appear deep.

This was a great hike to explore while in Sedona. I would say a must do, but also a popular trail (if you are looking for solitude).

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Fork Oak Creek Trail also viewed

 

Been to West Fork Oak Creek Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Fork Oak Creek Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.