We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short hike, steep stairs, awesome feature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Bridge Trail

Devil's Bridge Trail
Sedona, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 165 Activities in Sedona
Type: Hiking Trails, Nature & Parks, Outdoor Activities
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An easy hiking trail that leads hikers into Sedona's famed Red Rock country.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Short hike, steep stairs, awesome feature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you drive to the trailhead on the bumpy dirt road (4x4 and high clearance advised), the hike is really short. The first half mile or so is a fairly gentle climb through piñon-juniper forest with rich red soil. The last quarter mile or so is quite steep, sometimes with stairs in the rock with a pretty high rise over run. At the top the views are spectacular, and the bridge is awesome. We were consistently surprised with the paucity of wildlife in the Sedona area, including on this trail. It should be the time of year (Sept) that snakes are moving around a lot looking for mates, but we saw only one road-killed striped racer and one live gopher snake crossing the road. Lots of javelina tracks but no javelinas. Maybe it was because we were in heavily traveled areas with lots of other tourists?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    191
    20
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be repaired!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We missed the trail that goes under the bridge and went to the top and it was a bit scary!! We had to come down on our backsides, but it was worth the effort the view was great!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The last half of the trail is challenging for a novice hiker but the view is wonderful. Great pictures await you. A very busy trail.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Double wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a very difficult hike BUT well worth the trip. Be amazed at what nature can make! The pictures you will take will be worth it. Face you fears here...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing & long”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We took the scenic trail, which was gorgeous and also the long way. When we arrived at parking, there's a map showing you a couple ways you can get to Devil's Bridge. While the scenic route was beautiful, the trail winds a lot. We took the shorter way back along the road since we had already run out of water, but this was not as nice with the dust stirring up from vehicles. As you get close to Devil's bridge, there is a short straight up climb, but the view is spectacular once you get there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Bridge Trail also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Bridge Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Bridge Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.