We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hike! Highly recommended and we will definately be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Bridge Trail

Devil's Bridge Trail
Sedona, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 59 attractions in Sedona
Type: Hiking Trails
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An easy hiking trail that leads hikers into Sedona's famed Red Rock country.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hike! Highly recommended and we will definately be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We decided to do this hike very last minute on our way home from vacation. We absolutely loved the hike. The views were unbelievably amazing. The hike starts off pretty slow and isn't too rough to begin with. There is a point in the trail though where we honestly thought we had made a wrong turn because it did not look like we should continue going. But we saw people coming down so we assumed we were on the right track. The trail is kind of rough at some points and is pretty steep with some rocks. There are no handrails and coming down was a bit more difficult.

The views are more than worth it though! You can walk out on the bridge and take amazing pictures. The hike itself is not that long. It really is going to depend on how much time you are wanting to spend actually taking in the views.

The trailhead is about a mile away from the parking lot. You are able to drive to the trailhead if you have a vehicle with pretty decent ground clearance and ideally 4x4. We were driving a Yukon and still felt like we needed more clearance at times. If you need to hike from the parking lot to the trail though it is not a difficult walk and very easily doable.

We will be back to do this again and would highly recommend it to anybody if they are in the area!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    142
    20
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome, but a long hike if you don't have a high clearance AWD vehicle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The entire area is gorgeous, but if you don't have a high clearance AWD vehicle, be prepared to hike either a 2 mile very scenic trail that gets a little tricky before hitting the Devil's bridge trail head, or walk down the 1 mile fairly scenic dirt road that a high clearance AWD vehicle can drive down to get to the trail head. During the scenic trail, there were times when the trail was hard to find, especially when it looks like it ends on a dried up river bed, but you're supposed to walk up the riverbed. The hike itself also gets a little tricky because we actually missed the turn to go up to the top of the bridge, and ended up under it. However when you get there, the bridge itself is awesome, along with the view it provides. Hiking the scenic route to the bridge and the dirt road back was a 3 - 4 hour trip, so be prepared with water, food, sun and rain protection. It can get pretty rainy during monsoon season.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you don't have a 4WD vehicle you will need to walk a good mile to the trail head. The overall hike itself is not difficult, and it is absolutely amazing. You can walk out onto the bridge and feel like you're on top of the world. Take a few minute to walk down below the bridge to snap a few pics too. This was my favorite hike.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a bit of a walk from the trailhead (since we didn't have a 4 wheel drive vehicle), but was a wonderful setting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Devils Bridge hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was not easy to find, but it was worth it, awesome view's and not that hard of a hike. like many others said not many signs to find it, look for marker 152c from dry creek rd. you will have to walk in on foot if you don't have a 4x4 vehicle, it was 2-3 hr. round trip hike.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Bridge Trail also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Bridge Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Bridge Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Devil's Bridge Trail to your Saves list