We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, but a long hike if you don't have a high clearance AWD vehicle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Bridge Trail

Devil's Bridge Trail
Sedona, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 153 Activities in Sedona
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An easy hiking trail that leads hikers into Sedona's famed Red Rock country.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome, but a long hike if you don't have a high clearance AWD vehicle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The entire area is gorgeous, but if you don't have a high clearance AWD vehicle, be prepared to hike either a 2 mile very scenic trail that gets a little tricky before hitting the Devil's bridge trail head, or walk down the 1 mile fairly scenic dirt road that a high clearance AWD vehicle can drive down to get to the trail head. During the scenic trail, there were times when the trail was hard to find, especially when it looks like it ends on a dried up river bed, but you're supposed to walk up the riverbed. The hike itself also gets a little tricky because we actually missed the turn to go up to the top of the bridge, and ended up under it. However when you get there, the bridge itself is awesome, along with the view it provides. Hiking the scenic route to the bridge and the dirt road back was a 3 - 4 hour trip, so be prepared with water, food, sun and rain protection. It can get pretty rainy during monsoon season.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    184
    20
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you don't have a 4WD vehicle you will need to walk a good mile to the trail head. The overall hike itself is not difficult, and it is absolutely amazing. You can walk out onto the bridge and feel like you're on top of the world. Take a few minute to walk down below the bridge to snap a few pics too. This was my favorite hike.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a bit of a walk from the trailhead (since we didn't have a 4 wheel drive vehicle), but was a wonderful setting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Devils Bridge hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was not easy to find, but it was worth it, awesome view's and not that hard of a hike. like many others said not many signs to find it, look for marker 152c from dry creek rd. you will have to walk in on foot if you don't have a 4x4 vehicle, it was 2-3 hr. round trip hike.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well Worth the investment in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I just spent a couple of days in Sedona on a hiking vacation and did this hike on the second day. Since we didn't have a high clearance vehicle, we parked in the parking lot and hoofed it along the service road. There had been rain overnight and the clouds were hanging low in the mountains giving many photo ops to bring home for memories.

The hike to the actual trail is rather boring as some have mentioned, but the anticipation of hitting the trail causes a buzz. Once on the trail, the beauty of the area peaks from amongst the trees giving way to towering looks at the nearby mountains and spires. After about a mile (brochures suggest .70 of a mile) it comes time to climb up a rather steep part of the trail. Never having been on this trail and not knowing what to expect, I was pleasantly surprised as it was not easy, but the trail was well marked and it was clear of where to put hands and feet. My wife and I wer pleasantly surprised when we suddenly arrived at our destination and were in awe of the natural beauty before us.

As earlier mentioned, the arch itself is wider than the pictures do justice. A walk out onto the arch proves an unexpected rush that I haven't felt in a while. After numerous pictures, my wife and started the seemingly endless trek back to our car. It took forever to get back. Why does it always seem that the end of the hike is twice as far as the beginning?

I look forward to going back to do this hike again and will recommend it to anyone asking my opinion of things to do while in Sedona.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Bridge Trail also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Bridge Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Bridge Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.