We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service and Conditioning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tournament Players Club (TPC) of Scottsdale - Champion Course

Tournament Players Club (TPC) of Scottsdale - Champion Course
17020 North Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
480-585-4334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 121 Activities in Scottsdale
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible Service and Conditioning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This course may carry the TPC name but is anything other than what you would expect of such a course. The course was barren and the greens didn't have grass in many spots. The fit and finish were poor and the layout was uninteresting. The staff were quite poor. Rude!! I had the first tee time and they had 2 local members go out walking a round before we teed off. I assume first tee time means little here. The worst TPC experience I've has thus far. I would recommend passing this course over.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    8
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice Layout, but nothing special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff was very nice and helpful. Being the off season (110*+)' green fees only $35 on golf now.com. The course had a "nice" layout. Nothing spectacular or memorable. I'm sure it's different on the stadium course (closed at the time). Greens were very good. Fairways great shape for summer. Parts of the rough we're showing stress from heat and brown spots. Good value for the summer. Not sure I'd pay spring/fall rates to play. Other great options (see McDowell Mountain GC).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding golf, very nice grounds, difficult course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Played 18 holes with a foursome and had a blast. The course is very challenging and information is readily available for each hole on sprinkler heads. The course was beautiful and the sand traps were very nice from an aesthetic perspective, but getting the ball out was very hard due the steepness of the walls. Very nice course, will play here again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
115 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Overall, a good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The check-in was efficient. A driving range and putting green are available pre-play, although there is a charge for balls. The practice putting green was excessively worn. The course is in pretty good shape with generous fairways and challenging greens. Plenty of sand traps. Take extra balls so pace is kept. Arrogant service from check-in, starter, ranger and beverage/food staff. Perhaps overpriced for the time of year and provisions.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

What can I say...fantastic..
My wife and I played here on the final day of the masters, being offered a deal after playing the Stadium course which took over 5 hours to complete.
The course was in tip top condition with it holding a major compition the following week. The greens were fast and true and the fairways superb. It's a very much risk and reward course making it as challenging as you want to play it. I'm a single h'capper and my wife is off 20 and the course was perfect for both of us giving both of us enough challenge to make it the best course we played while in Scottsdale and that includes the Stadium course.
Yet again the staff were perfect hosts and we ended up staying on to watch the final round of the masters enjoying the lovely food and ambiance the club had to offer.
This is certainly a course to play and a club to visit and we will definitely be back.
Well done TPC Scottsdale!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tournament Players Club (TPC) of Scottsdale - Champion Course also viewed

 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Tournament Players Club (TPC) of Scottsdale - Champion Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tournament Players Club (TPC) of Scottsdale - Champion Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.