We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza in Phoenix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nellos Pizza

Nellos Pizza
7213 E 1st Ave, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4403 (Downtown Scottsdale)
480-946-2020
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #294 of 963 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Mesa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great Pizza and good service. Outside patio area is nice. Order extra pizza and take it home. It is delicious the next day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix Arizona
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Everything you could want and Home Made Deserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've been to most of the Nello's restaurants in the Phoenix area over the years. This is my favorite. Don't get me wrong, they are all very good. They have pretty much identical menu's with a small variety in specials. I've been eating at them for well over 20 years and I have never been disappointed. Every item is prepared to a high standard. Even the croutons in my salad are made in house from day old bread with their own blend of spices. The sandwiches are wonderful along with the salads and such, but the thin crust Pizza can't be beat. Even special holidays can give you a taste of something unique. Like the Smoked Turkey pizza at Thanksgiving with the special reduction drizzled over the top. (The best Pizza I've ever had!)
But the highlight of each visit is enjoying one of the Home Made desert by the couple that owns it. I'll be honest, the Cheese Cake is wonderfully rich and creamy, but last nights Strawberry/Rhubarb pie with real Vanilla bean ice cream was spectacular. One of my favorites pies of all time.
If your in North Scottsdale, make your tummy happy and stop by for a snack, desert or dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazingly great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is the place to go! Great food and excellant service.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love, love, love the Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Excellent pizza and fair pricing for all things to eat and drink. Nice family spot or an after work place. Best for salads and the pizza. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Thick Crust Pizza!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Let me tell you ... Nello's does it like no other!! First off, they make their own sausage, and it is quite flavorful. Their sauce is thick and rich, and full of fresh flavors. The crust is fabulous, with a nice wheat flavor. But what gets me? They use who slices of bacon, not crumbled up bacon bits!! What a huge difference!! They have a nice selection of salads and other great food options. Nello's also offers a gluten-free pie for those who do not want wheat in their diet. The restaurant also has a nice beer and wine selection, as well as the usual soft drink options. Prices are reasonable for what you get. Show up hungry, their pizzas are quite filling!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nellos Pizza also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Nellos Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nellos Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.