We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great steak house faire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
16489 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-1578
480-348-1700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 963 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Really great steak house faire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Terrific service - reasonable vine menu - delicious beef and yummy desserts! What more is there ? This is a dark wood paneled restaurant with great drapes and carpet which absorb a lot of ambient noise. Great location and valet parking. Worthy of a special night with a spouse and friends.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    46
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Will be back for sure--great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went on a bit of a lark, with a taste for steak. Every course was outstanding. We had a filet and rib eye that were great cuts of meat, perfectly prepared. What could have been boring sides: mashed potatoes and sautéed mushrooms were, I think I can say, among the best I've eaten. The deserts, likewise--crème brûlée and a flourless chocolate cake--were old standbyes flawlessly done. We had a Caesar salad that was excellent and onion soup that was likewise perfect. A great wine list with a nice run of inexpensive wines. In all a flawless meal.

The four stars is merely due to less than flawless service. There was some confusion in seating us, first at one table, set for a celebration, then off to another. Our server never poured the wine after the first pour, and water glasses were likewise left empty. The bussers made up for some of her inattentiveness, and I should say that this was not *poor* service, it just didn't quite stack up to the outstanding food.

If there was a 4.5 I'd give it. You shouldn't hesitate to eat here. It's far better than some of the other steakhouses with higher ratings here on tripadvisor. We plan to return and are hopeful that we can move it up to a five with our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks and Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A great place to impress that first date. The service is first rate and the steaks are A1. We even received a note a home from our waiter thanking us for our visit. Now that is service. Not cheap but great!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at the Capital Grille, it was our first time. It reminds me to the classic city clubs , the decor, dark wood, excellent service and food. For the caliber of this restaurant we had the 16 dollar special, lots of food, and tasty. The cauliflower cream soup with curry and crabmeat, delicious. Oscar, our waiter, professional, knew the menu, fast. We are planning to return there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Savor Every Bite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just finished touring the red rocks in Sedona Arizona. We were tired and hungry. We decided to go to Capital Grille. The group ordered everything from the fresh catch to porter house steak. Every dish was superb. For some it was their first experience at Capital Grille. They now have a new favorite restaurant.
Every dish was prepared to perfection and the wait staff served us as a team and we wanted for nothing. Food and service was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.