We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good But Pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marcellino Ristorante

Marcellino Ristorante
7114 E Stetson Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Downtown Scottsdale)
+1 480-990-9500
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Marcellino Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 1,067 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Cross street: Camelback Road/Scottsdale Road
Transit: Scottsdale Olley the Trolley
Description: Set in an Italian Piazza-like setting in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, Chef Marcellino and Sima Verzino offer suffused amber-lit, upscale yet full of fun ambience. Chef Marcellino's unique, highly personalized and completely hand crafted Italian cuisine has won the hearts of locals and both American and European visitors.Highly professional servers orate a never ending roster of Chef's nightly specials as they tend to guests desires.Live Music every Sat. night, special events of Chef's Multi-course w/ wine pairing dinners are an extravaganza not to be missed. Reservations highly recommended on weekends.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Good But Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The salad was good, the scallops were very good, but at $16.95 for three, they should be and the not-on-the menu tortelloni was very good and we split the four. All things considered I would say it was pricey when one person had salad, the appetizer, entre, and dessert were split and two glasses of house wine came to $125 with tip. It's a good thing I had a gift card for $75.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    20
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A magical evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It started out as a gathering of my friends. Six of us went to Marcellino to enjoy a meal together, and what we had was a magical experience. The food was spectacular. Everyone had something different, and they all raved about the mixture of flavors and presentation. The wine list was extensive, and they offered an excellent suggestion for us to enjoy. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verzinom, Public Relations Manager at Marcellino Ristorante, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much! we look forward to having you back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown,NJ
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Finally, authentic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was a little disappointed when my friends told me that we are going to an Italian restaurant in Scottsdale that night. It had been a tough day and I just wanted to unwind. Having lived in Italy, I am generally disappointed in Italian restaurants here. Fortunately, Marcellino proved the exception to the rule. For starters, I had the tricolore salad, while my dining companions had the burrata & prosciutto and the polenta with mushrooms. My salad was fine, but I got to sample the others and they were exceptionally. Finally a restaurant that serves burrata at room temperature instead of freezing cold! And the mushrooms with just a hint of truffle were divine. We all opted for the home-made pasta – pepper pappardelle with sausage ragu, cacio e pepe linguine with an amatriciana sauce (kind of a mash-up of Roman classics!) and squid ink pasta with a mixed seafood sauce. The pasta was cooked perfectly and the sauces were memorable. We had a nice bottle of Morellino di Scansano to wash it down. A perfect meal, not cheap, but at least the quality was there. Among the most authentic Italian food I have eaten since leaving Italy. Bravo!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
“Great ambiance, simply wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Enjoyed a birthday dinner with my husband at the full menu bar, ambiance was very intimate. For starters, the scallops in a basil sauce was amazing, the pollenta w/mushrooms was to die for and everything was simply wonderful. The bartender treated us a wonderful shot of lemoncello liqueue, Food is expensive yes, but the menu is of superior quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Really nice...and really expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We sat at the bar while waiting for a table. A twelve dollar per cocktail menu was placed before us. Bartender suggests a mixed drink not on the menu, but fails to announce that it will be fifteen dollars. FIFTEEN DOLLARS for a run of the mill mixed drink that was 70% ice! Watch your bar tab and ask questions before ordering.

The pear and something or other salad was fresh and crisp, but relatively tasteless. House-made pasta specials ran $33 - $47 a plate. The Scallopini with Gorgonzola, which showcased four paper thin slices of veal and a variety of potatoes and veggies at $29 was nice, but a bit on the small side.

All in, a $135 meal that realistically was more like an $80 meal. The ambience is top notch and the live music very entertaining. Service left nothing to be desired. I'm willing to pay more to sit amongst civilized people in appropriate dining attire (no Halloween costumes or hockey team jerseys) so, this is the price of admission for such.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcellino Ristorante also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Marcellino Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcellino Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.