We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Hotel that Could” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Palms

Save Saved
You added 3 Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
3 Palms
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7707 East Mcdowell Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85257   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale
Vancouver
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“The Little Hotel that Could”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

When vacationing I love finding gems in the rough. I found this hotel through kayak; saw the design, price and location, and booked it (via the hotel's website) for two nights. Done and done.

The 3 Palms seems to be joining the likes of many old-school motels turned rejuvenated, modern hang-outs. The outside of the building appears to have been built in years gone by, but has a fresh coat of paint and a completely redone interior. The whole place has a modern/contemporary feel.

The pool area is a nice place to relax after a hike, shopping, etc…

Location
I can’t say enough about the location. Although it's about 12 mins from the shopping district, the location is great and close to the hwy. It is across the street from a park with a running/walking trail. On the opposite corner, there’s a grocery store, in case you want to pick up snacks, sunscreen, wine or the like. Finally, being only 20 mins from Sky Harbor Int’l airport, you can relax soon after your flight gets in.

Service
The front desk, restaurant and housekeeping staff''s service was attentive.

Rooms
The rooms a decent size, clean and had all the amenities I’d expect. For a three-star, it was impressive to have extras like: bath robe, microwave and fridge. There was adequate space to hang clothes and store personal items. Generally, I found it to be pretty quiet, but you do hear people if they are talking when they walk by your room, so if you want a quiet retreat, ask for a room at the end of the hall.

Restaurant
The 3 Palms’ restaurant, the Avalon, offers nice food and good service, all in a funky atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    207
    83
    43
    75
See reviews for
119
250
100
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

If you're looking for a nice hotel in Scottsdale and don't want to spend a fortune. Its about 2 miles from Old town Scottsdale. The rooms are a bit on the small side but our room was clean and the bed very comfy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

OK this was absolutely the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.
I had a room on the first floor street side across from the park. It was a room with a jacuzzi tub. We stayed 3 nights a Fri-Mon.
First off the pros.
Rooms are very nicely decorated and you can tell this Hotel was recently completly redone. The beds were very comfortable. The jacuzzi tub (if you get a room with one was very nice). The restaurant AVALON next door is EXCELLENT. The TV was excellent.
Cons
This is an old motor inn. All rooms have outside entrances. You enter from the street. So it is noisy, you never want the shades to your window open because the world can look into you room. Less security-our third night a random person tried to open our door at 2 am.
The rooms are very small. The room was half the size of a room at a Marriot Courtyard. The bathroom was so small you cant sit on the toilet and open the door because the door will hit your legs. There is no closet in the room just a tiny wardrobe.
THE WALLS ARE PAPER THIN- this was the worst part. We literally could hear EVERYTHING that went on in the two rooms on either side and above us. It was so bad we could hear the other end of phone conversations (not just the person in the room talking on the phone but the person they were talking to!) I knew what everyone else was watching on TV, when they went to the bathroom... It was ridiculous, the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed at. These people werent making that much noise it was just that the walls are so thin.
One day we returned to the room and our door was left open by housekeeping. I called the front desk and the first person that answered sounded like a High School stoner. Not professional in any way. Polite but just not profesional. The manager was very proffesional, apologetic ... He even offered to "interogate" the staff. Nothing was missing so that wasn't neccesary. I just wanted to let him know so that he could address the issue to ensure it didn't happen again.
One morning housekeeping tried to come into our room at 8:30 am to clean it. In my opinion that is a little early we were still in bed.
There really isnt anything near the hotel. You cant walk to any restaurants besides AVALON which is right next door.
It was to cold so we didnt check out the pool so I cant comment on it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

My partner and I wanted a quiet night away from the bustle of everyday life and found a great price at 3 Palms. On check-in, the reservations staff was friendly, the front desk was cute and simply decorated. The room was spacious, exactly what I expected and the jacuzzi tub INSIDE the bedroom was AWESOME. There was even a multi dvd changer and a huge TV so we could watch movies and drink champagne while in the jacuzzi.

I will be staying here again soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Stayed at the 3 palms last month over the Thanksgiving holiday and thought we were booking an economy hotel because of the room price. We were amazed at the room quality and ambiance - it has a boutiquish style and a fabulous gourmet restaurant right next door. the front desk folks were great and we loved our room and the nice bed and bedding. Best of all our dog was welcome and there is a nice park right across the street. Will stay here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We just returned from a four night stay that started Nov 13th. We didn't spend much time in the room but overall it was a good experience. The room was nice but small. It was very clean which is important. The toilet/shower area is somewhat congested. Our complaints are that only two towels and one wash cloth was left in the room each day and clean drinking glasses were not replaced each day by maid service. We would not hesitate to stay here again. An excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

The 3 Palms is a good alternative to the Tally Ho. It has a modern feel, but very comfortable. It has retro-mod furnishings and clean comfortable beds, The Wifi is free, but a little slow. A good value in Scottsdale. Has one of the largest hot tubs I've ever seen in my life!

Avalon is a fabulous restaurant adjacent to the property. They also have room service available. No real breakfast onsite... have to drive for that.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 3 Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Palms

Address: 7707 East Mcdowell Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
#32 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#34 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#35 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 3 Palms 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your 3 Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Palms Resort Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Three Palms Resort Oasis Scottsdale
3 Palms Scottsdale
3 Palms Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.