We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Scottsdale gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Scottsdale to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Scottsdale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7300 East Third Ave., Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Downtown Scottsdale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 15%
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient Scottsdale gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Perfect location for Old Town and 5th Ave shopping. Walking distance to ballpark with very friendly staff and rooms to fit the famly. Pretty decent breakfast included. An Ok pool that is secluded for privacy. This is a perfect place to bring family for Scottsdale adventure

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
So glad that you found our "gem" in the Heart of Old Town Scottsdale. Thank your for completing the survey and letting others know about our hotel, staff and breakfast. Hope you have an opportunity to come back very soon.

Sincerely,
Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    107
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
54
102
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Visited Scottsdale recently for a weekend getaway and found this location to be very convenient and within reasonable walking distance to shops and restaurants in Old Town and other parts of Scottsdale. Service and staff were very courteous and attentive and I enjoyed a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a prime location for walking to the nearby shops, restaurants and Giant's stadium. Thank you for taking the time to complete an on line review for Hyatt Place Scottsdale. We know you have many choices in the area and we are so glad that you stayed here!

Hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for a business trip because of the reviews here, which must have been written by relatives of the Hyatt family. Six - yes SIX - mess-ups in less than a day prompted me to check out at 7 am two days early and find another hotel.
1. First hint was when the directions on their website to their hotel were WRONG.
2, 3. My Hyatt profile distinctly says I don't want to stay near the elevator and I want a quiet room. I confirmed this when making my reservation. So where do they put me? Next to the elevator. Then they put me in a room across from one with a loud party going on at 4 pm. Finally, I took the third room.
4. Internet didn't work. The hotel manager was very nice and tried to fix it and even got on the phone with their tech support who got it going, but it was so slow that it might as well not have worked at all. (The problem was obviously on their end because I am writing this at the hotel across the street without any issue at all.)
5. It was really hot in the room. Had to put the AC on 64 to keep it cool. Then it would get cold. Then it would inexplicably stop altogether and get hot. Then it would ROAR back to life. Kept me up all night.
6. Guess it was a good thing that the AC kept me up all night because I never got my 6:30 wake-up call.
By 7 AM, I had it and stomped to the Marriott across the street which thankfully had rooms. Went back to the Hyatt and checked out - two days early. I have never ever done that before!
The manager was nice and sympathetic, as was the night manager, but that just wasn't enough.
They called me later that day and gave me 5,000 points, which was nice but besides the point.
It looks nice inside, but STEER CLEAR.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We know you have many choices in the area and it is dissapointing that we were unable to correct the short comings prior to your untimely departure. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service, but clearly we fell short during your visit. I know you spoke with Rob, but I would certainly encourage you to contact my office directly if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights and I must say it was FIRST CLASS!! From check in to check out it was great. only wish there were a bit more T.V. stations.. I will always stay at this hotel when going to Scottsdale

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete an on line review for Hyatt Place Scottsdale. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear about our staff.

Hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Located in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, within walking distance of numerous restaurants and the art district, as well as the Waterfront project, this small hotel is a joy. The rooms are large with huge flat screen t.v.s, the lobby is a nice place to lounge, breakfast is more than adequate as it is included in the room charge, and the staff is very friendly and competent. Parking is free. The only cautionary comment -- ask for a room on the other side from a neighboring night club as the weekend noise can go on into the wee hours.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the neighboring night club as weekend noise can and does go on until the early mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Yes - our location is perfect when you would like to be in the "heart" of it all. The Hyatt Place concept is great as it includes all these great amenities: breakfast, parking, wifi.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location! Location! Location! So convenient to everything in downtown Scottsdale! The staff was wonderful! so helpful and accommodating! The room was large! The rate was amazing with a Hyatt promotion and an additional Expedia discount through Tripadvisor! The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 overall is because there is no room service. However, you can order food on your room phone and then go down to the lobby to pick it up. There are tables and chairs in the lobby area for this purpose as well as for the free breakfast. There is also an additional lobby lounge area. Very useful... And there's a trolly stop right outside the hotel! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Our location is supreme here in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although no room service, we do have food available 24 hours a day so always an option to cure those hunger pains.

Hope to see you again very soon!
Sinerely,
Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location in old town Scottsdale and is in walking distance to just about everything (restaurants, Fashion Square Mall, grocery stores, coffee shops, walking paths along the canal, etc.). We spent a week and had a nice time. The hotel is fairly new, clean and the staff super friendly and helpful.
The layout is different from a more traditional hotel; the bathroom is on the window side and I would have preferred that it be closer to the hallway. On the plus side there is a nice sectional couch with lights that are actually bright enough to read by, a refrigerator which really keeps food cool (i.e. not a mini bar which is barely lower than room temperature), and a desk area. The hotel features a complimentary breakfast (very nice), WiFi access, Wall St Journal, and computers with a printer. The rates were very reasonable. The hotel was quiet (except for one night when a little boy ran up and down the hallways screaming).
I would stay here again except for the exceptionally noisy air conditioning. The windows don't open so there is no way to get fresh air or keep the room cool without running the a/c. Alas, there is no fan only option, so the a/c continually cycles very loudly on and off all night. It woke us up many times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPGeneralManager, General Manager at Hyatt Place Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for completing your on line review of your stay at the Hyatt Place Scottsdale. Our proximity to the Old Town area is definitely a plus.

I apologize that you were disrupted by the noise from the AC unit. Rest assured we will have our maintenance team address the situation. Please accept our apologies.

Hope to see you again very soon!
Janet Woolf-Hof
General Manager
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#2 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Scottsdale

Address: 7300 East Third Ave., Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Scottsdale 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Scottsdale Old Town is located approximately 3 blocks from Old Towne Scottsdale and 15 miles from Sky Harbor International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hyatt Place
Hyatt Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.