We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Links Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Links Resort to your Saves list
Scottsdale Links Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16858 North Perimeter Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Pool Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a discounted rate, as we live in town and just wanted a nice "stay-cation". When we arrived they were very accommodating, allowing us to choose from a number of rooms which one we wanted to stay in. We chose closest to the pool. There doesn't seem to be a lot of rooms with great scenic views, but the rooms are VERY comfortable and condo like with full kitchens and big bathrooms. They said they were in the process of refurbishing a lot of their rooms.

The pool was fantastic, very large, and full of a variety of people, especially lots of families. If you don't tolerate small children, they do offer a smaller "Adults Only" pool, but I didn't find it as nice to sit around. They also have a great gas BBQ area that we took full advantage of. I noticed that they also offered daily activities but we didn't participate in any of these. One thing I thought was really cool was that in the evenings, they brought a HUGE screen out to the pool area where they played a "movie night". We didn't do that either, but we did notice there were a lot of people in attendance who seemed to be enjoying themselves thoroughly.

This place is part of a timeshare, and though they tried to convince us, on arrival, to schedule an appointment to "view the properties", we simply told them we were not interested and they let off on any pressure. They did offer a lot of great discounts to restaurants and nearby attractions which was nice.

You definitely need a car to stay here though. It's not conveniently close to any restaurants and there is no food or bar on site.

All in all, this was a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    138
    61
    26
    17
See reviews for
111
90
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Reading most of the reviews, let's say I was afraid that this would be a underwhelming stay. This was not the case at all, we enjoyed it Very much. We booked with Interval International and we are not Diamond Resorts members. Staff is helpful and friendly, Clean & Quite resort. We stayed here August 7 - 14

Positives :
- New Upgrated Unit
- Quite
- Local and Close to enough to the sites
- Friendly and Helpful Staff
- Love the Adult Pool
- Large units, good supplies, plenty of closets

Negatives :
- Far from Food places and downtown Old Scottsdale
- No restaurant
- Needs more adult activites
- Very noisy A/C
- Hard uncomfortable furniture
- Super hard selling of timeshare ownership :(

Overall it was a nice place and would stay at a Diamond Resort again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated unit. No elevators so remember you will have to walk up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was here 7/15-22. I found a very quiet resort. The rooms were quite large. Even a walk-in closet. Very clean and comfortable. It had a really nice deck..overlooking the next building..but it was 104* so we didn't use it at all. Wi-Fi is available from AT&T. Do visit Taliesin West at night. It is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at this resort this week (July 7 - 13). There was a ton of construction work going on. The parking lot outside the unit we stayed in was full of cranes and trucks. As you walked thru the property, there were balconies with mattresses, couches and other furniture. Our unit was above where the laundry was being done. Though it was hot in Phoenix, it was even hotter, walking up the stairs because (I am guessing) of the driers.
We attended a sales pitch for diamond resorts and were told that is a marketing property. When we complained about the accomodations, he said they would not have given us this accomodations if we were 'owners'. I was disappointed in the unit and the environment. The management is ok, the pool and workout facilities are ok. I wish they had more adult activities. I've been at other resorts where there have been exercise classes, cooking demos, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Links Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of our resort. We apologize that the construction going on here had a negative effect on your stay. We normally try to keep our guests informed in regard to the current status of any construction project, so that can prepare in advance of their stay. If you were uncomfortable in the unit you were assigned, due to the laundry room being directly below your unit, our front desk could have tried to assign you another unit, if notified. Our resort is primarily a vacation ownership property, not a marketing property. Our owners are usually more familiar with the resort, and submit requests for a particular unit or building that they stayed at previously. As a guest, you should have the same ability to make similar requests. We appreciate your feedback in regard to the type of activities that we offer. This feedback will be used when future activities and classes are planned. If you decide to come back in the future, we are confident that you will have a much more enjoyable and relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julesburg, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We used our timeshare exchange to stay here for a week. It is in way northeast Scottsdale. It is very close to the 2 TPC golf courses. The Champions course has the 8th hole next to it. The 2 are 5 minutes or less away. There are several other courses that are relatively close. Use golfnow.com to get your tee times. It's cheaper than going through the concierge.
We had a 2 bedroom place with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. The quality of the appliances was average. It had 2 bathrooms. They both had tub/showers. The main bedroom had a TV. The smaller one did not. There was another in living area. Both thin screened and large enough. There are 2 pool areas. One area for the family. The other is for no one under 18. It's a soaking/floating pool. They had a daily pool aerobics class at around 9:30. The workout room was nice.
As I said this is in the far northeast part of Scottsdale so if you only plan on going to downtown Phoenix or the south west part of the metro area you will have a long commute. It's about a 10-20 minute commute to downtown Scottsdale, depending on traffic and/or stop lights. It's about a 20-25 minute commute to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Scottsdale Links Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of our resort. We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the golf courses located nearby, and that you enjoyed using the workout room. The aerobics class is one of many scheduled activities that we offer. The next time you are here, we recommend checking with our activities desk for a full listing. While we are located closer to the golf courses in the Scottsdale area; the downtown Scottsdale and Phoenix areas, along with the main airport, are easily accessible by car. Our Concierge desk can provide directions and driving tips to many of the area's popular attractions when requested. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Having read the other reviews of this place (after I had booked), I was pleasantly surprised by cordiality of the staff. My guess is that with the current state of the economy the "high pressure" tactic back-fires far more often than it works so they were much more low-key for us than for other reviewers. While we did attend the "45 minute" presentation (it was really more than 90 minutes), my wife and I have no compunction with telling the salespeople "no, we're just here for the gift" — see my review of The Chart House.
The room we stayed in (with our 21yo daughter) was large and did have a condo-type lay-out which worked well for us. It's true that there are no elevators but we typically do not take extremely heavy baggage when we travel so it was not much of an inconvenience as we were on the second floor.
We were delighted to find that they have more that one pool area, one for families with smaller children that included a splash fountain and a shallow wading pool, and one that is "adults only" that had an accompanying hot tub. The proximity to the other pool, however, means that there is still quite a bit of noise carry-over but at least there were no children running and slashing about.
There were 2 grilling areas which we took advantage of several times. These were also popular with most of the other guests so some cooperation was required at times to get the food cooked but this situation allowed for some pleasant socializing with strangers which I quite enjoyed. If this is by design I do not know, but it worked for us.
As we were there for a week, we like to do most of our own cooking so as to save our money reserve for visiting the local attractions instead of eating out for every meal. The appliances in the condo were all full-size and functioned as advertised (all were electric). We did purchase a tea kettle and a pancake turner / spatula as there were none in our kitchen (which we considered odd but not insurmountable). There were plenty of bowls and other implements, including place settings for 6 (and an actual dining room) to make for a very pleasant stay.
The beds were comfortable but the firmness was lacking just enough for my wife to notice.
Cleanliness wasn't much of an issue but we did find a dead — and huge — cockroach in the dining area and a live one just outside the entrance door. They also seemed to vacuum the neighboring rooms every day as we were awakened on several occasions by the sound of a vacuum cleaner running in those rooms. To be fair we did have a tendency to sleep in — 'cause we're on vacation!
The resort is close to shopping be we drove everywhere because it was just to hot — even at night — to walk anywhere outside. It is also less than 10 miles from "Old Scottsdale" which I highly recommend if you want to do a lot of sightseeing and shopping in a very small area.
There is no restaurant or room service but there was a fairly well stocked convenience room (I would hardly call it a store).
On the one day that maid service was scheduled (mid-week) the maid went about her work quickly and efficiently.
This is a golf resort, so it is located right on a golf course, but I am not a golfer so I just enjoyed the local scenery and, as I am an aviation buff, the sight of various small airplanes landing at the adjacent, fairly busy, regional airport (this means small business-type jets).

Room Tip: Choose an upper room if you don't like the sound of foot traffic above your head, or the sight o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We recently stayed at the Scottsdale Links Resort. We had 2 units to accommodate our family. The resort was nice however to call it a resort was a stretch as there was no restaurant, bar, spa etc. I had read some reviews of this place and was unsure of what to expect.
Complaints that we read were too much air traffic as it was located close to Scottsdale Municipal Airport.
Yes that it true however the planes were not coming and going early or late but mostly during the day. That did not bother us.
Pool was too small.
Not true, they had just recently added a large pool and we never had any problem with over crowding. On our last day we reserved one of the pool side ramadas. They are first come first serve unless you pay for the multiple hour block which was well worth it. We definitely recommend that.
TImeshare presentation was very long and high pressure.
This was true. My wife and I attended being told it would only be 90 minutes. After 2 hours we became a little concerned as we had no intention of purchasing the timeshare. At 2 and half hours we told them we were done and we had to go to get back to our son who was with my parents. At 3 hours and 3 different people who thought they could change our mind we simply said we were going. Their sales method was less than professional as they tried to tell us how to control our personal finances in order to buy a timeshare. At one point I was told to pick up more work. We did receive our gift card for attending the presentation but left with a bad impression.
We did use the fitness center which was just fine.
If we had the opportunity to stay here again we would.

Room Tip: The resort was improving the rooms. Make sure you ask for one of the newly upgraded rooms if they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottsdale Links Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Links Resort

Address: 16858 North Perimeter Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scottsdale Links Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Scottsdale, Arizona can't help falling in love with the scenery, attractions, people and area in its entirety. You have the unique opportunity to enjoy it on a whole new level by staying at the Scottsdale Links Resort. You get the "total package" when it comes to panorama in the Scottsdale area, from the vast desert with its unique and unusual cacti to the palm-lined streets or the stark mountain views. In this part of Arizona, and especially at the Scottsdale Links Resort, whatever the view is, it will take your breath away.Keep Busy or Take It Easy at Scottsdale Links Resort No matter what time of year you plan your getaway to Scottsdale, Arizona, you will find as much to do as there is to see. If you can't get enough of the great wide open, there is plenty to do while getting all that fresh air, from hiking the mountain trails and horseback riding, to letting a guide take you off road while you explore and learn about the land and the famous cacti. If you love a good game of golf, you have certainly come to the right place. This nirvana has it all, while being close to a decent sized, neat and clean city. Or, you may want to simply kick back and enjoy the wonderful accommodations. The Scottsdale Links Resort boasts elegantly designed and decorated rooms with secluded patios, balconies or terraces. This provides guests with the ultimate in decadence, convenience and privacy. Take in a massage, relax in the steam room or hit the fitness center, all amid the breathtaking views of the McDowell Mountains. It really is the total package. Incredible Stay at Scottsdale Links ResortYou already realize how much there is to do around the resort and the city of Scottsdale, as far as outdoor activities. Of course, no trip is complete without a visit to the city for dining, shopping and any other events you may want to take part in. There is, of course, the simple appeal of staying on the grounds and enjoying all there is to do, or relax and not do. You can book some time at the spa, have a cookout in the BBQ area, enjoy the activities department or browse for gifts in our shop. You will be waited on hand and foot, from your massage, concierge and guest services, which even includes dry cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scottsdale Links Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Links Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Links Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.