We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains to your Saves list
Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16770 North Perimeter Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed one night at this property in November 2012. I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is in a bit of an odd location, inside a business park - the location makes it hard to find, but it also means that after 5PM things are very quite as the business park empties out leaving the hotel guest to a peaceful spot. The rooms are comfortable and big. My room had a sitting room and bedroom along with a large bathroom.

I ordered room service, which was served promptly, despite it being late and a holiday. I had the blackbean burger which was very tasty.

Parking was free and convenient. The hotel is located within a short drive of Frank Lloyed Wright's summer home, which is a great spot to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    113
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
79
15
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delray, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Arrived early around noon and they were able to get us into our rooms. The suites are spacious and very clean. Desk help was very friendly and informative. Check out was easy. They were decorating for Christmas which was very nice. All staff were friendly and eager to help with any questions. Ground were immaculate.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The one thing you have to give Marriott credit for is that you usually are not surprised by a really bad hotel. Despite Bill Marriott stepping down as CEO, standards that Marriott are well known for will continue.

I was at this hotel for a two day business trip and was out of the hotel most of the day into the evening hours. I agree with other reviewers that the bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have slept on in a hotel. The suites are nice sized, the rooms have the usual Marriott amenities, and I like the fact that you can either use the comp parking lot or valet park. Staff all made a point to smile and greet you wherever you were in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is the hotel to come to if you need to get away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel feels like you're on the edge of town. It's quiet and serene and very enjoyable. I would recommend coming here with family or a business trip. Wake up early. Phoenix is the place to watch the sun come up and especially for the calming effect it has before you begin your day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is very nice and clean and reasonably priced. The hotel is very pretty with views of the TPC golf course. Marriott Gold Members will receive comped internet and buffet breakfast which was very good and in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Our original online rate was $188 per night (AAA rate). However, I checked back routinely prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in, in a hotel.
Super soft down comforter and fluffy pillows.
Very quiet and clean.
The only downside is that there is only one bar/restaurant inside the hotel and nothing within walking distance for a quick cup of coffee and light breakfast or meal.
There was a great patio outside the bar with a fireplace and heaters for when it cooled down at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at this beautiful hotel in mid October and was pleasantly surprised. My room was comfy,quiet and beautiful. Although it was a bit too cool to swim, the pool area was very nice and I enjoyed a lovely evening watching the sunset on the patio. I would definitely come back and hopefully get to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool and spa. It is a little longer walk but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains

Address: 16770 North Perimeter Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#24 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#25 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive desert resort on palm-studded grounds, with scenic views of mountains and the Sonoran Desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Marriott At Mcdowell Mountains Hotel Scottsdale
Marriott Mcdowell Mountains
Marriott Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.