We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite the construction, a lovely place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains to your Saves list
Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16770 North Perimeter Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Despite the construction, a lovely place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here for one night in June 2012 for business. Even though the hotel was currently under construction and despite the fact that the curb appeal was limited for this property, I still enjoyed my stay. I traveled with 2 business colleagues. They said they were also put in rooms that had a suite-type feel: you had a large living room/kitchenette along with a bedroom that could be closed off by french doors. The bathroom was completely redone and had a separate tub and shower with high end granite and tile. Breakfast was great with the omlette station. It was also very near a large, high end shopping mall. Perhaps it will be better once the construction is complete. I had to check in and out of a ballroom; breakfast was in a conference room. It definitely detracted from the experience. However, since this was a quick business trip, I can't complain too much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    112
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
78
15
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a lovely property and all rooms are suites. We got a great rate for a Memorial Day weekend and really enjoyed the hotel. Great rooms, beds are very nice, and our suite had a wet bar with a fridge, living room was very nicely decorated. I didn't like that you had to pay extra for Wi-Fi, but that's usually the case at a full-scale Marriott, also be advised that the property is located on a golf course in a residential area and can be a bit hard to find. However, for us it was perfect, as it was very close to our friends, whom we were visiting. It was a very nice stay and if we got another great rate, would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Its ok. I like it. The food and wine is v good but above all the beds are so comfy you never wanna get up. So stay here if you're in town. At least the rooms are within a mile of reception unlike other Scottsdale fleshpots

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We were in town for just two nights and this hotel was a perfect HQ. If north Scottsdale is your destination, this place is very conveniently located. The staff was wonderful. Very courteous and helpful. I had to send a fax late at night and they didn't hesitate to do it for me at no cost. The only thing I didn't care for was the pool. It is smaller than many, the chairs are arranged mostly on one side, and they are sort of on top of one another. Other than that, the property is wonderful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My favorite property to stay at in Scottsdale. This is a terrific hotel all the way around. It really does surround you with luxury.

Room Tip: Nice view over the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a trip to Scottsdale to visit our daughter. We've stayed at many places around Arizona and wanted to try some place nicer. First of all, the hotel is very nice, clean and the rooms beautiful. Staff was very nice! My two biggest complaints, being a Marriott rewards member, was one, the internet is NOT free. $12.95 per day! That's rediculous in this day! The second was the breakfast. Nice breakfast buffet, but $20 per person! Nice breakfast, but not that nice! (Note, it IS free if you are a very high rewards member). Conclusion, very nice hotel to stay, just don't expect any extras and go out to eat!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Received our stay as our winning a silent auction. Wish we had lost! Front desk was friendly,room was okay but restaurant was terrible. Nothing on the menu but Moroccan food. And that was poorly prepared. Took three tries to get the pizza right my daughter ordered. Their solution not charge for it. Don't people understand that is no consolation but an insult. Would have been nice if we able to eat together. Had the salad and the tomatoes were rotten. I was told they were compressed tomatoes. Compressed=Rotten.

For your $$ there are much nicer hotels than this. Marriott should be ashamed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains

Address: 16770 North Perimeter Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#24 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive desert resort on palm-studded grounds, with scenic views of mountains and the Sonoran Desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Marriott At Mcdowell Mountains Hotel Scottsdale
Marriott Mcdowell Mountains
Marriott Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.