We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meets other Westin & Starwoods par standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Phoenician, Scottsdale to your Saves list
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“meets other Westin & Starwoods par standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Camelback Mountain. In other states you may Not be able to have a Golf tee & pin cresting the the base camp towards a 2612' Peak... Awaesome locale to back the main Hotel.. The Phoenician Bellman & Concierge staff will gladly take you out to the road via golf Cart to start your 1/2 mi walk each way just to have an option to trek Up the 1.3 mi Cholla trail. Pack the right shoes, & you can scale vertical to finish the last Leg.
Back to the Hotel. Chad the Bellman was one of the highlights of the Starwoods Property.the atmosphere tries to Not be affected by "sales & marketing" busy selling Points in their connecting Condo buildings, Conferenences trying Not to affect the atmosphere for $500/Night room occupiers.. let alone to feel like a "timeshare Resort" in its perimeter. Nice Golf course. Chad & staff will also whisk you away from main Hotel to Clubhouse for a "Cowboy Burger" & the only Happy Hour option on a daily basis.
The Room. Very Nice. View, C'mon. Large mountain & Skyscapes. Even Westin Quality Mattress toppers like the Westin @ Savannah Ga.. But NOT the Mattress. Oh Well , 1 for 2 Execution.
15 + Pools & an Expanded Kid's Club. Hot tub is is immersed in the kid's Zone, (recently severely downsized as the "Kid's Club" was Upsized) Spa used by young Children, not always with Adult Surpervision, adult pool area elsewhere, NO current Hot Tub/Spa with Any Atmosphere or Quiet.
As you walk to the left of the outdoor pool grille & pools towards the Golf Clubhouse, Plenty of space to remedy the situation. Chaise lounges with towels clean & rolled plentiful. Pool F & B Staff & service very visible.
Overall the Phoenician is a good place to camp, & launch yourself into the Phoenix/ Scottsdale Area Exploration. Probably an awesome place for business conferences & serious Golfers too.
Good Security presence @ the front door with Management staff.

Room Tip: When facing Hotel, top left rooms facing Camelback & away from service support /back kitchen noi...
See more room tips
Green Features: option of sheets not being changed midway during stay// Always nice turn down service @ night.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    272
    115
    60
    40
See reviews for
267
393
48
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautiful location, friendly staff, great rooms. Whether it's lawn bowling or the man walking around with a red tailed hawk, there's a lot of surprising things here.

The pools are well laid out, except they could have used some lap lanes. There's plenty of shade and seating. They bring over a pitcher of water as soon as you sit down.

They have excellent and expensive restaurants, but then have a small cafe with reasonable prices and good food as well.

Overall, a really nice relaxing resort.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our stay at the Phoenician will go down as one of the best resorts we stayed at. My husband and I travel 5 to 6 times a year and have stayed at some great places. The Phoenician is at the top of our list. Its staff including Michele and Lonnie at the concierge desk, as well as Anthony who greets you at the hotel's entrance, and Cassandra at the pool could not have been more helpful or professional and you could see that they loved their jobs. Not to leave out anyone the entire staff is amazing. The room was large and comfortable containing an amazing large bathroom with every amenity. We can't wait to make another visit to the Phoenician.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a beautiful property
They have an excellent pool
The service is impeccable no request us too extreme
The rooms are nice but the bathrooms could be updated a little but still nice
It is near a lot of things too!

Room Tip: Get one in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at The Phoenician for a 4 day weekend with the family and I cannot begin to tell you how attentive, serving, polite and absolutly accommodating the staff was. The hotel was clean and so many places to lounge around with or without kids. The Hotel Staff was truly amazing. If this was a dump..the Staff would have made you feel otherwise. Very impressed. The pools are great, restaurants are perfect. The views and property are amazing for all ages.

Room Tip: Get the pool view over the cactus garden. Cactus garden is beautiful but too static.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We celebrated my BD at this wonderful resort. Our room was a "Casita Suite" overlooking the lake with waterfalls & the Camelback Mountain as a backdrop. Fantastic! The concierge service was outstanding. Our outdoor patio was very nice & enjoyed some breakfast moments. We played tennis everyday on the well maintained courts facility. Also a round of golf at the great golf course. Rented some cycles & your around the property & to old Scottsdale. We dined at every restaurant in the property. Superb! The GM was very gracious & treated us to a beautiful bottle of Champagne. Over all a grand & wonderful experience! Top resort!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was here with my girlfriend for a corporate retreat event over a weekend.

The whole property is indescribably large; you can get exhausted walking from ballroom to ballroom, and this scales down to every part of your experience. We spent most of our time at the pool, which is creatively laid out and with plenty of space and great poolside service, if a little slow at times.

The rooms were great, we were in the 4000s and had a very nice balcony and a huge interior. The bathroom too was huge, of course.

We had two breakfasts at Il Terrazzo, which was a little pricey (be careful of the $7 coffee!), but absolutely delicious.

(This likely won't apply to most, but it's clear these guys know how to put on a corporate event - we were 400+ people total, and they managed to get excellent food, drinks, and friendly service to everyone without a single hitch).

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 654
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers a 27-hole championship golf course, onsite spa, and over 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Starwood, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenician, Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.