We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service from Bryon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Phoenician, Scottsdale to your Saves list
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wonderful service from Bryon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I can't say more about how thrilled we were with the service Bryon provided us during our stay at The Phoenician. No matter the time of day, he always greeted us with a smile and an eagerness to do whatever he could to please us. Kudos, Bryon!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the exceptional service you received from Byron! We know he will be incredibly pleased to learn of your review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    285
    118
    61
    40
See reviews for
279
409
52
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a very nice resort set at the base of Camelback mountain. We had a wonderful view of the mountain from our balcony. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Service was generally good. The concierge was very knowledgeable and very helpful. Our maid was cranky to the point of being rude...surprising for this class of resort. Also surprising was a $14 charge for bell service...never seen any other hotel charge for that. Funny sulphur smell out by pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is always great to hear from guests who have enjoyed their time at The Phoenician; however, we are disappointed that that some aspects of your stay failed to meet your expectations. We are most concerned with the conduct of one of team members, as mentioned in your review, and we have shared your comments with our housekeeping managers to ensure that they are addressed with our associates. We do hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I checked into the Phoenician Friday close to midnight after a long day of meetings in Tempe. My wife was flying in the next morning for a night of relaxation away from the kids. I reserved The Phoenician via American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts, which is what I normally do when I visit someplace new. And, American Express has never let me down. Until now.

I checked into one of their "Casitas." The bellman drove me on a golf cart down through a parking lot to buildings that looked like an old apartment complex or motel. When I entered my room I was horrified. The room was dated, tired, and far from what I would consider a "fine hotel or resort." I headed straight for the front desk to check out. Now, the girls at the front desk were great. They offered to change my room. I declined. I just wanted out. However, I relented when I couldn’t get into another hotel so late at night in the area. The girls at the front desk moved me to the Canyon next door, a far better experience overall. I stayed one night and then moved to the Four Seasons (an awesome property - review to follow).

So, in the end, I give them credit for properly training their front desk on how to handle a dissatisfied customer. But I strongly discourage anyone from staying at this hotel unless you don’t mind an outdated, tired room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your comments. Of course, we are deeply disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction. The Phoenician offers great diversity in accommodations – from the residential-style Casita Buildings, to the centralized Main Building, to the more intimate “resort-within-a-resort,” The Canyon Suites. All provide unique amenities, based on the guest’s individual preferences. Throughout the last few years, more than $100 million in renovations and enhancements have taken place at the resort – including a complete redesign of the Casita Suites. As an ongoing process, additional renovations will continue to be scheduled. We do hope you will visit us again and allow us to assist in creating the memorable, personalized guest experience for which we are known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Cannot say enough about this magnificent resort. Here for a work retreat and we were treated like royalty. Rooms were comfortable, grounds and pool area are gorgeous, but the most outstanding thing about this resort is the service...simply amazing! Do not miss the prickly pear margaritas, which are deliciously refreshing! Will be back! Great for business retreats or family vacations. Most wonderful location at the foot of Camelback Mountain.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the grounds, pools, and our famous prickly pear margaritas! Whether for business or pleasure, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Sereno, California, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This a a very good hotel in a great and central area. The room ammenities were dated. The service was very good. The restaurant was ok at best. Don't get talked into the breakfast buffet (an excuse for no service and mediocre food). Their a la carte menu is great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. Although we are happy that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, we are disappointed to hear that you did experience inconsistencies, which certainly do not reflect our commitment to delivering AAA Five Diamond excellence. Please know that your comments have been shared with our management team so that we may use them for further improvement. We hope you will visit us again so that we may provide you with the luxurious, memorable guest experience for which The Phoenician is known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was a family trip and we had a great time. The service overall was really good, but one person really stood out. Shant made our entire family feel welcome. My son really liked the kid's club and hubby liked the golf. We had the cheapest room that was farthest from the pool, but we still had a nice view and would return again for the great service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation at The Phoenician! We pride ourselves on providing personalized, memorable experiences for guests of all ages, and we are thrilled that Shant was able to make such a lasting impression on your family. We will be sure to share your kind words with him. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Gorgeous resort set against Camelback Mountain. Rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable. We were probably at the farthest point from the pool/lobby but we had a wonderful view of the hills and golf course. The staff was very polite and quick to help, our drinks by the pool never got empty, and the food was tasty. They are not giving it away though as our breakfast in bed ran almost $70 for the two of us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to hear that enjoyed your recent experience at The Phoenician! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 654
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers a 27-hole championship golf course, onsite spa, and over 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenician, Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.