We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“resort in phoenix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Phoenician, Scottsdale to your Saves list
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
la
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“resort in phoenix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This older resort is gorgeous and never looses its charm. Well kept up with golf course, tennis and everything else. We love the plants around the facility and walked it many time. Next to Camelback mountain trails- a must to do. Just sitting by one the many pools and hottubs( in evenings) is relaxing enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We hope you had the chance to explore our two-acre cactus garden during your visit! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    285
    118
    61
    40
See reviews for
279
409
52
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We try to stay at the Phoenician every 4th of July. We got a great rate and were treated wonderfully from the minute we arrived. They upgraded our room and we rekindled relationships with staff that we see every year. The only low point was that one night a bar tender was rude to us. However, before we could even leave the bar a manager (matthew) swooped in and immediately offered us comps (which we didn't accept because it wasn't about that). The next day we attended the afternoon tea and the same manager comped our champagne even though we told him we didn't want comps. It was just another example of the staff of the Phoenician doing going the extra mile to make sure that our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: Our favorite rooms are in the main building, on the first floor, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Thirsty Camel Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Phoenician. Please accept our sincere apologies and know that we use your feedback to improve our service levels. It was a pleasure to meet you, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ended our holiday trip in Scottsdale and found a great deal to stay here.
The hotel is big and busy, but is right next to Camelback mountain which is a wonderful backdrop.
The room was quite big and clean, and the service was excellent. The food and beverages were a bit pricey, but good nonetheless.
There is also some great hiking on the property, and you can even venture a hike up Camelback mountain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at The Phoenician! Our proximity to Camelback Mountain is always a plus for those looking to explore the beautiful Sonoran Desert! We hope to see you on your next trip to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The facilities were phenomenal in all respects. The room was pristine. Staff were courteous and friendly. The food was great. The pool, spa, and golf facilities were top notch as were the folks staffing them. I would definitely return for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: While the city view rooms are quiet, they are far from the center of the facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Wow, thank you for the excellent review! We take great pride in your comments – especially those regarding our “courteous and friendly” staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at The Phoenician. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Superb as ever. Casitas have been refurbished to a very high standard. Pearl pool cabana service is first class. Tennis Center faciliies excellent and staff really friendly - they opened early for me before the Summer heat kicked in and kept me stocked with water and towels. This is approx our 10th trip here as a family and we will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. We love hearing from repeat visitors and appreciate your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for your 11th trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My kids beg me to go back every year. The staff is amazing. The grounds are spotless. The pools are huge and clean! There is a quiet pool! Need I say more. The spa is the nicest spa I've ever been to in the world. This is worth every penny. We will continue to go back here.

Room Tip: Cabana's are the best for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Phoenician! We hope to welcome you back for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

When deciding what part of hotel we wanted to stay, we decided to call direct. In was early evening and could only get through to the hotel operators, and we left on hold several times for long periods. Finally when calling back and telling of the long hold times we were connected to a real person. He helped us decide to pay a little more for casita with a resort view . it was to be looking at the necklace lakes. We instead got a very large and nice "casita" room that faced the parking lot. It did take a couple calls to get to someone who would do something. they first implied we booked online with a 3 rd party website , which was not the case. They went out of their way to find a better view of the water the next day, but then the room was not the large room advertised on the website or the first room with no view.. It appears that the end unit casitas are much larger then the 2 in the middle. I also think they should find a bette name, it is more like a motel look than what I would expect from a casita.
The staff were excellent, everyone very helpful. The adult pool was relaxing and I loved that they brought you a pitcher of ice water and had noddles to float on.
I had no problem that the one side is reserved for those willing to pay for a cabana.
The food at relish is great, good prices as well. We only had breakfast in the main dining and it was nice to have the option to skip the buffet and Oder off the menu with reasonable prices. You do not always get that at upscale SPG properties.
The grounds are beautiful. I would stay again aft they took the time to fix our room issue, but would be more aware of what I was getting.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your honest feedback and will be sure to share your comments with our management team. We are disappointed to hear that you experienced a few inconveniencies during your trip and sincerely hope that it was not enough to detract from your overall visit to The Phoenician. We do hope you will consider staying with us again, so we may demonstrate our commitment to providing our guests with an unrivaled Five Diamond experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 654
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers a 27-hole championship golf course, onsite spa, and over 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenician, Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.