We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible landmark Scottsdale resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Phoenician, Scottsdale to your Saves list
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Incredible landmark Scottsdale resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is one of the most impressive resorts in Scottsdale with a great central location and all the facilities and activities you could hope for. There are 27 holes of golf, and array of pools, spa, nice dining choices, wide assortment of room choices and beautiful common areas.

While the rooms and resort are grand in scale it does seem as if they are due for a renovation. The same goes for the spa. While they are still above average they are beginning to show their age. To be sure this is no reason not to go here. This is a top notch albeit expensive luxury resort that has set the standard in Scottsdale for many years.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments and feedback with us. We truly appreciate your kind words. Between our three signature golf courses, 9 pools and ten restaurants, The Phoenician prides itself on being the Valley’s premier luxury resort. That being said, we take our guests suggestions into consideration as we know there is always room for improvement. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    336
    138
    80
    50
See reviews for
350
480
56
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spend at least two weeks per year in Scottsdale and try to visit a different spa each trip with local friends. We spent the afternoon at The Phoenician for spa treatments and lunch, what a joy. Arrived early afternoon and let early evening felt like I had spent and entire weekend away.

Room Tip: Order lunch at the pool plenty of room, umbrellas, lounge seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Centre for Well-Being experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day and selected our spa to spend time with your friends. We will look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

this was a new adventure for our family to be gone over christmas- the property and staff all gave a wonderful impression- the good was very over priced- we did enjoy the lunch and happy hour at the restaurant in the golf area- it has a smaller warm feel- rooms comfy- the spa services lovely but I think it needs an update in the locker rooms-we also enjoyed the classes offered- a bottle of champagne was left in our room for our daughters 22 birthday- very thoughtful-

Room Tip: we had a room facing the mountains which I asked for- very quiet- I did require a longer walk to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are so glad you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in November with the whole family- booked a casita, which was quite spectacular in appointments, decor and size. With an enormous living/dining room, giant terraces, separate master bedroom and two big baths Plus a full kitchen- perfect for our family of six. With two kids on the pullout and a couple of rollaways (the room could have fit 10 of them), we still had tons of space to relax and spread out.

The waterslide was a bit slow for the kids but they didnt seem to mind. The many pools are beautiful, plenty of quiet spaces if needed. The property is high end, but not snobby- they were welcoming of kids and had activities for them. Breakfast buffet on the deck in the main building was beautiful. Great service tops it all off. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We are glad your family of six was able to enjoy our Casitas, pool time and the fabulous breakfasts served at Il Terrazzo. We aim to make our guests feel at home while here with us, and from your post it sounds like we accomplished that for your family! Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Upon arrival we had some bumps. I had EXPRESSLY booked 2 rooms in a certain area, been guaranteed by email twice that all was set BUT when we got there, it wasn't all set. After almost an hour and a half, we got it straight. (Thank you Scott Pate!) I will say that their resolution turned out to be better then what I had originally booked too! The grounds are beautiful- the villa we were put in was DELIGHTFUL (will book that next time we go.....and we will go back!) What I was most impressed by though was the service level of the entire resort. From the restaurants, to the front door guys this is a VERY service oriented place. The tennis facilities are wonderful. The spa was WONDERFUL....didn't go golfing BUT it looked wonderful too! Again, the service level is what blew me away the most- the location is great as well- close to airport and to shopping-dining area BUT with spectacular views so you don't even feel like you are in town. I just want to say thanks again to Scott (and the front desk clerks who worked with him) for turning the rough start into a SPECTACULAR finish for us! See you again soon!

Room Tip: the villas are so great- own pool and spa and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are extremely thankful for you taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at the Phoenician. Our Ambassadors strive to make each stay and interaction with our guests a memorable moment and are at their best when presented with a challenge; as is apparent with your recent post. We are extremely happy that you and your family had a wonderful stay and we look forward to seeing you soon and again providing a 5 Diamond experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were here from 27th to after new years eve. Clearly very high season for this resort. Despite that, we didn't feel crowded in. Only time I regretted having a full resort was one evening when my family wanted to stay outside near the outdoor firepit. There are four large outside and they were all full. We settled for a room with a fabulous view, lobby live music seating instead. Not a bad compromise but nevertheless we would've preferred the former.

The resort is beautifully kept with clean pool, freshly stocked towels, large koi pond with hundred of fish that you can feed. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed doing this. there is a hiking trail about a mile and half from the property that is quite challenging but beautiful.

My only regret is that food prices are astronomical. Thankfully we rented a car and drove out for breakfast, lunch and dinner but usually we prefer to eat in the resort since we had little kids with us. The spa and gym are also nicely appointed.

If you have kids keep in mind the resort is quite spread out so be prepared to walk a lot from one part to another. For instance, Relish a restaurant that is open for lunch is clear on the other side of the resort, whilst our room near the cactus garden were one small lake, three pools, one elevator ride and a short hike away. whew. I really felt those distances when my daughter forgot her swimming goggles or something she really needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we very much appreciate your thoughtful observations and feedback. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We checked-in at The Phoenician from Christmas Eve and left the following Saturday. This was our first time away from home/family for the holiday. The resort was decorated just enough for my taste, the smell of evergreen gently filled the lobby air. On Christmas eve Mrs. Claus was reading stories to the children and hot chocolate and decorated sugar cookies were layed out for all to enjoy. Turndown service on Christmas Eve consisted of cookies instead of the usually chocolates. We waited too long to book Christmas brunch and ended up eating off site. Our room was on the 3rd floor over-looking the pools, I agree with other reviewers, the higher the room the better. Room was spacious, bathroom was huge but had poor lighting and cold tile floors. We did have an issue with a lint-filled air vent in the closet, after two calls and cleanings the problem was resolved. However, I was suprised I was the first person to have complained, clearly the vent had been dirty for sometime. Rooms were extremly quite at night. The pool was lovely, but the air-temp was a bit too chilly for us to enjoy it. Instead we visited the huge hot tub, however had to bail several days due to it being over-run with unsupervised kiddos. The other travel compainions golfed and throughly enjoyed the experience. We ate at Il Terrazzo several times for breakfast, the buffet was very good. Ate at Relish once for lunch, good food, but the service was a bit spotty. Self-parking is free and super easy. I really appreciated having this option. The resort is conviently located, we went into Phoenix and Scottsdale quite often. Absolutely would return to The Phoenician.

Room Tip: Facing the pool, higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#2 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Fairmont Scottsdale
#8 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 654
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers a 27-hole championship golf course, onsite spa, and over 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenician, Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.