We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas trip vaction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Phoenician, Scottsdale to your Saves list
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“christmas trip vaction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

this was a new adventure for our family to be gone over christmas- the property and staff all gave a wonderful impression- the good was very over priced- we did enjoy the lunch and happy hour at the restaurant in the golf area- it has a smaller warm feel- rooms comfy- the spa services lovely but I think it needs an update in the locker rooms-we also enjoyed the classes offered- a bottle of champagne was left in our room for our daughters 22 birthday- very thoughtful-

Room Tip: we had a room facing the mountains which I asked for- very quiet- I did require a longer walk to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are so glad you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    285
    118
    61
    40
See reviews for
278
408
51
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in November with the whole family- booked a casita, which was quite spectacular in appointments, decor and size. With an enormous living/dining room, giant terraces, separate master bedroom and two big baths Plus a full kitchen- perfect for our family of six. With two kids on the pullout and a couple of rollaways (the room could have fit 10 of them), we still had tons of space to relax and spread out.

The waterslide was a bit slow for the kids but they didnt seem to mind. The many pools are beautiful, plenty of quiet spaces if needed. The property is high end, but not snobby- they were welcoming of kids and had activities for them. Breakfast buffet on the deck in the main building was beautiful. Great service tops it all off. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We are glad your family of six was able to enjoy our Casitas, pool time and the fabulous breakfasts served at Il Terrazzo. We aim to make our guests feel at home while here with us, and from your post it sounds like we accomplished that for your family! Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Upon arrival we had some bumps. I had EXPRESSLY booked 2 rooms in a certain area, been guaranteed by email twice that all was set BUT when we got there, it wasn't all set. After almost an hour and a half, we got it straight. (Thank you Scott Pate!) I will say that their resolution turned out to be better then what I had originally booked too! The grounds are beautiful- the villa we were put in was DELIGHTFUL (will book that next time we go.....and we will go back!) What I was most impressed by though was the service level of the entire resort. From the restaurants, to the front door guys this is a VERY service oriented place. The tennis facilities are wonderful. The spa was WONDERFUL....didn't go golfing BUT it looked wonderful too! Again, the service level is what blew me away the most- the location is great as well- close to airport and to shopping-dining area BUT with spectacular views so you don't even feel like you are in town. I just want to say thanks again to Scott (and the front desk clerks who worked with him) for turning the rough start into a SPECTACULAR finish for us! See you again soon!

Room Tip: the villas are so great- own pool and spa and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are extremely thankful for you taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at the Phoenician. Our Ambassadors strive to make each stay and interaction with our guests a memorable moment and are at their best when presented with a challenge; as is apparent with your recent post. We are extremely happy that you and your family had a wonderful stay and we look forward to seeing you soon and again providing a 5 Diamond experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were here from 27th to after new years eve. Clearly very high season for this resort. Despite that, we didn't feel crowded in. Only time I regretted having a full resort was one evening when my family wanted to stay outside near the outdoor firepit. There are four large outside and they were all full. We settled for a room with a fabulous view, lobby live music seating instead. Not a bad compromise but nevertheless we would've preferred the former.

The resort is beautifully kept with clean pool, freshly stocked towels, large koi pond with hundred of fish that you can feed. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed doing this. there is a hiking trail about a mile and half from the property that is quite challenging but beautiful.

My only regret is that food prices are astronomical. Thankfully we rented a car and drove out for breakfast, lunch and dinner but usually we prefer to eat in the resort since we had little kids with us. The spa and gym are also nicely appointed.

If you have kids keep in mind the resort is quite spread out so be prepared to walk a lot from one part to another. For instance, Relish a restaurant that is open for lunch is clear on the other side of the resort, whilst our room near the cactus garden were one small lake, three pools, one elevator ride and a short hike away. whew. I really felt those distances when my daughter forgot her swimming goggles or something she really needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we very much appreciate your thoughtful observations and feedback. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We checked-in at The Phoenician from Christmas Eve and left the following Saturday. This was our first time away from home/family for the holiday. The resort was decorated just enough for my taste, the smell of evergreen gently filled the lobby air. On Christmas eve Mrs. Claus was reading stories to the children and hot chocolate and decorated sugar cookies were layed out for all to enjoy. Turndown service on Christmas Eve consisted of cookies instead of the usually chocolates. We waited too long to book Christmas brunch and ended up eating off site. Our room was on the 3rd floor over-looking the pools, I agree with other reviewers, the higher the room the better. Room was spacious, bathroom was huge but had poor lighting and cold tile floors. We did have an issue with a lint-filled air vent in the closet, after two calls and cleanings the problem was resolved. However, I was suprised I was the first person to have complained, clearly the vent had been dirty for sometime. Rooms were extremly quite at night. The pool was lovely, but the air-temp was a bit too chilly for us to enjoy it. Instead we visited the huge hot tub, however had to bail several days due to it being over-run with unsupervised kiddos. The other travel compainions golfed and throughly enjoyed the experience. We ate at Il Terrazzo several times for breakfast, the buffet was very good. Ate at Relish once for lunch, good food, but the service was a bit spotty. Self-parking is free and super easy. I really appreciated having this option. The resort is conviently located, we went into Phoenix and Scottsdale quite often. Absolutely would return to The Phoenician.

Room Tip: Facing the pool, higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've been dying to try this place for awhile and it was worth the wait. We had 4th floor rooms in the main building overlooking the pools. (Note - I paid extra to guarantee connecting rooms, which I've never been charged for before, but did not have connecting rooms when we arrived. My kids are older so this wasn't a big deal, but would have been with small children. The check in agent did remove the charge and was very apologetic.) The room seemed recently renovated, was ample sized with a spacious balcony. The property was tastefully decorated for Christmas providing some lovely photo ops. The pool area is beautiful with a restaurant/bar smack in the middle. Drinks and food at the Oasis were delicious. We utilized the gym, which was clean and had ample equipment, although the temperature was kept way too warm for a gym. The spa had plenty of room to relax before/after services, spa, sauna, and I had a great massage from Steve. The main dining room was very nice, food was very good, but one of my pet peeves is when a dining room is empty and the hostess tells you that she can seat you in a half hour because they are full. That happened twice. The lounge off the lobby had a great drink and appetizer offering and live music at night - Tony was a great bartender. Waitress service in the lobby lounge was very slow. The hotel was at capacity for football bowl games/New Years so I think they were slightly understaffed. The waitress recognized this and sent a complimentary round of drinks - kudos for recovery. There were lots of holiday activities going on and the activity director took us on a tour of the Cactus Garden, which was quite informative, and beautiful at night. Concierges were spot on with their activity recommendations. Would absolutely recommend this property and am certain the hiccups were related to the time of year.

Room Tip: Would avoid rooms with a view of Camelback Mountain - very close to the mountain so not much view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide the insightful observations from your recent stay. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit and would recommend our property. We truly appreciate the feedback regarding the service challenges you experienced and will make the appropriate internal corrections. We look forward to seeing you on a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had a one night stay here to celebrate my anniversary and really enjoyed it. This would have been a 5* review but there were a few small issues which dropped it down to 4*.

We used a suite night upgrade and were upgraded to a beutiful deluxe suite with an eastward view over the valley. The room was a huge two room suite with two full bathrooms and two large patios with nice chairs, loungers, and table. Some of the prior reviews complained about dated rooms, but ours was very nicely furnished.

We were on the 5th floor so the view was nice. I would strongly reccommend asking to stay on a higher floor because the lower floor rooms on our side were right on the roof line and their view would have been obscured by air conditioning vents, etc.

We loved the free self parking and I would highly reccommend that to anyone. You can even drive your luggage up to the front and then go park the car. Unless you love valet, there really is no reason to use it here. The hotel was pretty busy and we never had to park further than a 1-2 minute walk from the elevators in a covered parking garage.

On the downside, checkin took 15-20 minutes becuase there were only 2 front desk agents and one of them was occupied with an angry guest for the entire time we were there. I must commend the front desk agent for being so cordial. The complaints we overheard were silly, but the front desk agent and the manager that eventually came over were very friendly the entire time. That said, they should have called over another agent because there were several guests waiting to checkin.

We also chose the two continental breakfast vouchers as our platinum amenity which are good for Il Terrazo, but when we went down around 9:30 there was a 30 minute wait for breakfast. We were in a hurry so we had to skip, but it would have been appreciated if the front desk agent had warned us about how busy breakfast was so we could have made reservations. Usually hotel breakfasts are never crowded, but this was crazy. If you're staying in high season, definitely make reservations if you plan on eating breakfast and don't want to wait.

All in all, we had a good stay and I would definitely come back. The grounds were very well maintained and we loved the room decor. Hopefully we can stay longer next time to spend more time at the pools, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurie m, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We very much appreciate that you took the time to share your comments and observations. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be able to return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 654
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers a 27-hole championship golf course, onsite spa, and over 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Phoenician, Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.