We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in Scottsdale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Scottsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Scottsdale to your Saves list
Fairmont Scottsdale
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7575 East Princess Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sip, Savor And Splash!
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boise
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay in Scottsdale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

The Fairmont is a very nice hotel with all the "stuff" you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. The service was fine but not exceptional. We stayed in a recently updated room but it was a little small for the four of us. We usually get two rooms on vacation, but the room rate was over $400 per night so we opted to share. The food was also expensive but not out of the norm for higher end properties. We did think the cabana charge was excessive - It was $175 per day plus a hidden service fee of another $50.

Highlights: the tennis staff was great. Our kids took a private lesson and loved it.
The pools are very nice and younger kids will love the slides
Very nice grounds

We have stayed at other properties in Scottsdale and would stay at the Fairmont only if the rate was better. For the rate we paid, we would have preferred the Phoenician. We have stayed at the Hilton, Westin, and Hyatt in Scottsdale and the Fairmont is in line with those properties.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    460
    171
    86
    57
See reviews for
399
460
51
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

After recently visiting and greatly enjoying the Fairmont Kea Lani in Maui, my wife and I decided to try Fairmont's Scottsdale property for 4 days late in April for my birthday. We found the hotel and grounds to be absolutely beauiful. Check in was quick and easy. Albeit, I did feel there was a missed "service opportunity" when I mentioned to the "senior" desk clerk at check in that we came to celebrate my birthday. Had it been me, I would have wished the guest a Happy Birthday or "comped" some service or cocktail as I am a Fairmont Club Memeber. Another minor service misss was that when I made the reservations on line, there is a place to submit requests, a.k.a, high floor, additional pillows etc. I requested a high floor overlooking the "Fragrance Garden" which was not honored. Lastly, turn down service is not consistent. Other than these faux paxs, the visit was great and relaxing.
When asking for a room, ask for one overlooking the Fragrance Garden or the Golf Courses. As you leave the Fairmont and drive South on Scottsdale Road, you have a huge selection of restauarnts. I recommend you drive about 8 miles South to the fancy, "Shops of Gainey Village". Within this strip shopping area are two great restaurants, the first is "Blossom". Great dinner and lunch - upscale without the price. We had a dinner with wine and total cost was $65.00. Also in this shopping area you will find a McCormick & Shmick's as well as great pizza restaurant called "Dough - Vinci's.
Recommend a visit to the Phoenix Art Museum and the Phoenix Botatnical Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

I stayed with my family for 6 nights in a Casita which was beautiful. Very clean and large enough for all of us.

My children (11 & 8) were on the go all day between the pools (their favorite being the one with the two water slides), fishing and the basketball court (new). They also loved checking the internet kiosks in the kids club and lobby.

Food was excellent both at the restaurants and room service. The staff was very attentive and responsive. Any issues were quickly addressed.

We worked with Eve at the Concierge Desk and she went above and beyond. She recommended some of the best places and hotels to visit as we traveled to Sedona and Grand Canyon.

Would definately recommend this resort to all my friends with families, great all around resort!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Our room was very nice and the grounds were beautiful but for a 5 star resort, it is much too crowded at the pool. It kind of defeats the purpose when you are there to relax and you feel like you have to stand like a vulture for a chair at the pool. I was very disappointed and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Not enough lounge chairs by the pool as people stake them out with towels and then leave, probably for that very reason. Next day went to the smaller pool area and were lucky to find a couple of lounges, only to be told a 1/2 hour later that we had to leave because it was reserved for a private party. Same thing happened at their Stone Rose Lounge, we wanted to have a drink by their firepit but were told it was reserved, but could sit at the bar, where Ultimate Fighting was on TV....so much for a romantic evening!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

While the property is absolutely beautiful - the service is terrible! We tried to resolve our issues with the manager at the front desk. When that did not help - we called corporate office - they never returned the call. Obviously, business is good enough at the Fairmont to lose potential future business. We have also stayed at the Phoenician and service there blows the Fairmont away.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

This was my third time staying at the resort in the last year. It is an impressive resort for hosting conferences. If you get a chance to attend a conference here I would recommend to sign up for it.

Food is excellent and the outdoor bar/lounge is great for an after dinner drink.

Golf course is definitely worth a go as well

The location of the hotel is not great for seeing the rest of Scottsdale or Phoenix as it is 20-30 minutes from most places.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Scottsdale

Address: 7575 East Princess Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 651
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
The Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Fairmont Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Fairmont
Scottsdale Princess

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.