We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service to start” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Scottsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Scottsdale to your Saves list
Fairmont Scottsdale
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7575 East Princess Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sip Savor & Sun $100/Day
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Poor customer service to start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We arrived late to our hotel as there were flight issues. There weren't any of the usual friendly greetings upon arrival. Even though I checked in online earlier in the day, no one knew where I could get my room keys. We were booked into the Gold Level and I asked what time does the desk there close and the bellman said it was open 24/7. I knew that was the wrong answer and checked with the main front desk and they had my reservation cause the Gold lounge/desk closes at 10 pm. The gold level rooms were in the far northeast corner of the property and they offered a ride on a cart there. The only problem is that no one volunteered to take us and we ended up waiting 10 minutes before someone asked us if we needed a ride. A silly question as we were standing by the carts with our luggage and room keys.
We finally made it to our room and it was steaming hot in there. The room temperature on the thermostat read 90 degrees F. We checked the AC and it was set at 67 degrees F. I fiddled with it and cold not get any AC into the room. It was cooler outside! I called the front desk and told them our situation. I got some kind of excuse and I mentioned that you knew we were coming (check in online) and you would think the room should be at a comfortable temperature. After some discussion they will send a maintenance person over to check. After he arrived he found the problem. The fan motor is kaput and there was no way to fix it. He called the manager on his cellphone and explained our situation. The cellphone was passed to me to talk to the manager. We were offered another room near ours with a King and sofa bed or a regular room in the main building. Both were unacceptable choices as we are booked for 2 queens in Gold level. He then put me on hold for a minute or so and all of a sudden he found a room exactly the same across from ours in the same building. Why couldn't he just offer that in the first place? We arrived at the hotel at 10:30 pm and finally got an acceptable room at 1 am. No apology of any sort for the inconvenience during our stay.
The room was very nice with a large clean bathroom, a nice living room area and a deck with a table/chairs that faced the 4th hole of the golf course. The internet was slow even though being President Platinum which is suppose to give you a higher speed. The resort fee of $29/day plus taxes was a surprise on the bill. We were not told what it was or what it included at the beginning of our stay. If we knew about it we may have used some of the inclusives.
The staff at the Gold lounge were wonderful and accommodative. They were the best part of the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess. They were always friendly and catered to all your needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontScottsdl, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Scottsdale, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Wooski,

Thank you for taking a moment to share the details of your visit. We are very sorry for the miscommunication and issues you experienced. Even in the face of unforeseen circumstances, we try our best to situate our guests in a timely and efficient manner. It does sound as though, once settled in, you enjoyed your accommodations and your stay overall. Fairmont Gold is our hotel within a hotel, an exclusive luxury experience and it is always fantastic hear the service was above and beyond. We hope that the entirety of your next stay exceeds expectations and you get the most of out every moment at the Princess. Please feel free to reach out to me at Valerie.lee@fairmont.com prior to your arrival. I would be happy to assist you!

Sincerely,

Valerie Lee
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    422
    156
    79
    53
See reviews for
367
421
47
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My mom, sis and I went for my 30th bday over the 4th of July weekend and we LOVED it!! The grounds are beautiful and there was always something to do or see on the property. The multiple pools were always clean, always cool and always lively. We ate at the Ironwood Cafe and it was good but pretty pricey. We also ate at the Mexican restaurant for my special bday dinner at it was PHENOMENAL!!!! The spa is gorgeous and the daily fee is worth it for access to the fitness classes, spa areas and fitness center. I HIGHLY recommend!!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the pool if you want to sleep in or go to bed early. We had a room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontScottsdl, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Jacqueline B,

Happy birthday! Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your special day, as well as our 4th of July Freedom Fest. You can expect the same level of service and quality—and another “phenomenal” dining experience at La Hacienda—with every return visit. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Valerie Lee
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This resort is an awesome place for families. Although the food was over priced and room service took forever and was cold, all of the other amnesties and ambiance makes up for it. My suggestion stay at this resort eat outside the resort and have dinner at La Hacienda. God Bless and happy travels

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Scottsdale Fairmont resort is 5-star! Stayed in a Casita; had our own pool, super private. La Hacienda restaurant has the BEST authentic Mexican food in Phoenix. Enjoyed Couples Massage as well. Go there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Overall an excellent experience from the beautiful grounds, to the spacious guest room with walk in closet, to the hospitable staff. They have beautiful pools and on Satuday night they do a fireworks show which is great for families with young kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontScottsdl, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear RachinChina,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our resort and we’re delighted to hear you enjoyed every moment. As you noted, every Saturday night through Labor Day, guests can enjoy a fireworks display, with the best views available from our South Pool or Princess Plaza.

Next time you’re in the Scottsdale area, we hope you’ll think of the Princess. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Valerie Lee
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Amenities and planned events here are great, especially for kids. We came for July 4th and had trouble booking because I was told over and over again that the night was booked. When a friend said that she had booked the same night I called and asked to speak with a manager and was them told that I needed to book 3 nights for the holiday. Not a problem but this could have been resolved with any one of the 3 booking agents I spoke with prior. Lost items at the hotel were not followed up with any seriousness and found out later that a formal lost item request should have been filed but the front desk agent did not discuss this as part if the process. Great hotel but if they don't tie up some loose ends they could become difficult to deal with in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontScottsdl, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Scottsdale, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Collene K,

Thank you for spending your holiday weekend with us. We hope you enjoyed the celebration as much as we did. We do regret that you had difficulties with reservations and lost and found. Your feedback will be addressed to ensure a smoother experience going forward. (Also, I would be happy to follow-up on your lost item and can be reached at valerie.lee@fairmont.com.) Thank you again for choosing the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess for your holiday. We hope you’ll make it a 4th of July tradition.

Sincerely,

Valerie Lee
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The resort is beautiful and caters to all groups of people. We had a staycation in July with 2 toddlers. The entire staff was welcoming,warm and friendly. The pools were refreshing. The food at each restaurant on site was delicious. I would recommend this venue to everyone. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Scottsdale

Address: 7575 East Princess Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 651
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
The Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Fairmont Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Fairmont
Scottsdale Princess

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.