We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Scottsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Scottsdale to your Saves list
Fairmont Scottsdale
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7575 East Princess Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sip Savor & Sun $100/Day
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Scottsdale Fairmont sits on about sixty eight acres of land. It is a huge complex with amenities galore. Pools, restaurants, fitness center, shops, conference facilities and a first class wait staff. The property is superb for extended stays. The rooms seem like small apartments and those are standard rooms.
I would suggest to anyone that wanted to experience a luxury property in July and August when the rates are low, this is an excellent place to experience fine living. Every amenity you could want is there. Outside entertainment in open air facilities with service.

Room Tip: If you can afford a step up from a standard room, your experience will be a memory for a life time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    422
    156
    79
    53
See reviews for
367
421
47
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited the Fairmont Scottsdale in August for the weekend with our 3 kids (ages 7, 4 and 3). As soon as we stepped into the lobby, we knew we picked the perfect place. We have stayed at the Four Seasons and the Phoenician in Scottsdale, and we definitely prefer Fairmont. The attention to detail and customer service was wonderful. They made the kids feel really special with a little stuffed animal at check-in. We felt that they were very accommodating to our family. We had an amazing dinner at La Hacienda and headed to the pools. The kids loved the big pool with water slides. Our 7 and 4 year old spent hours going down the slides. There were so many activities for the kids. They also loved the zipline. On Saturday night, we enjoyed a movie night by the pool, and enjoyed the hotel firework show. Also- this would be a perfect place without kids as well-- the spa is amazing, the steakhouse is one of the best, and the adult pools look very quiet and relaxing. My husband and I have discussed going back for an adult weekend. It was a great weekend and a great end to our vacation. We will be back next year for sure! Thank you Fairmont!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the walk to the pools each day, but I may request a closer room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff is amazing, obviously trained well in the importance of guest service. The hotel rooms are spacious and modern. The grounds are meticulously maintained. The activities for children can't be beat. There are three main pools, one has two huge slides for the kids and a shallow walk in entrance for little kids to feel comfortable. They show movies in the pool area on Saturday evening and then fireworks. On Friday evening they had disco/neon light/hula hoop night at the pool. The resort has a zip line that is terrific for kids of all ages. Some of the restaurants were undergoing remodel while we were there but we ate breakfast at Hacienda and the it was amazing and the servers were so accommodating and friendly. The resort is spread out so we had to use the golf cart services to get around. Perhaps next time I would request a room closer to the pool area. We were in building G.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed recently at the Fairmont. We booked a two bed room. Our room was so far from the pool and civilization that it felt as if we were at another hotel. I called and asked to have our room switched and they obliged. Our new room was across from the waterslide pool. However, it was on the bottom floor, so it was as dark as a dungeon. We were willing to trade that for location. The room itself was okay. It was not spotless, there were stains on all the furniture and the hall out front was filthy with dirt and food on the floor. I was expecting more from a Fairmont. Our bathroom smelled like mold and/or sewer as well with drains that didn't work great. The pools are great, the rave waterslide is very fun and the grounds are pretty. I would not come back though. I'm guessing you need to know which rooms to book to get the best bang for you buck.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was another 5 star booked through Hotwire and I was really looking forward to it. We arrived late and the valet took our keys, my tip and proceeded to unload the bags before whisking the car away with a quick comment about a 20.00 valet charge. Inside the desk clerk asked if we would be self parking or not. Of course we would be and what ensued was a series of snotty service personnel who spared no effort to suggest that bringing our car back for us to park was an inconvenience to THEM that we should feel badly about. This hotel has wonderful amenities that unfortunately we didn't have time to take advantage of them. The beds were fine although overall the room was rather small and lacked much to suggest it was part of a five star hotel. And I have to say that in every other hotel I stayed in on this vacation the Fairmont was the only hotel that charged for bottled water in the American southwest in August. They also charged for the coffee for the coffee maker. That was a bit much. Overall I find so called luxury hotels that nickel and dime visitors for the basics then look down their noses at you for finding such behaviour ridiculous to be a bore. Stay here if you wish, and certainly enjoy such amenities as the stunning pool but be prepared to feel a bit belittled if you don't measure up in the eyes of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned from a 6 night stay, in a Deluxe room (4066), overlooking the East pool. The room was in good shape, but I really wish they would change from double to queen size beds. Two people in a double is cramped. We are President Club members, so check-in was a breeze. The view from the room was absolutely beautiful. The East pool, with the mountains in the background was a perfect backdrop for my morning coffee. They are in the process of painting the resort from a stucco color to white, but it didn't interfere at all. The drink service at the pool was a little "spotty". Dillon was AWESOME, but I can't say the same for the rest of the staff. They gave us a free cabana for the day, for being President Club members, and since it's August in AZ, they were all empty, but it was nice. Overall, we still LOVE this resort, as we've been coming for 13 years now. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont for nine days in early August. Since that's considered off season, we enjoyed a beautiful resort at a fraction of the peak season prices. So what if it's 105 degrees if you're standing in a beautiful swimming pool?

Gorgeous property and great service, with a few hiccups and items to be wary of.

The Beautiful:

Our two kids (5 and 7) LOVED the water slides; in fact we loved them too - they were fun. We stayed in a Gold level villa which was perfect - close to the pools yet super quiet. Very nice bathroom, and a big enough room that 2 adults and 2 kids could stay comfortably for almost 2 weeks. The Gold status also provides a free breakfast (excellent) and cocktails and snacks everyday at 4:30. I highly recommend Gold anything. We rented a refrigerator and microwave for the week - a good idea with kids - we stopped at a Trader Joe's and always had some food in the room for occasional lunches and dinners in.

Spa was very nice - you could easily make a luxurious day of spa, steam, exercise (I suppose), and swim. Bourbon Steak was very good and accommodated my vegetarian husband, and was great with the kids (we went at 5:30 before the "normal" diners get there). Poolside drinks and food were pricey, but not unexpected.

The Blah:

We had originally booked the Casita Suites. They sounded roomy from the website and a good buy for families. When we got there, they seemed tired and VERY far away from everything - and our view was a vacant piece of land with a lone generator in the middle. In a word "Blah". We didn't even unpack - my husband called the front desk and we negotiated a move to the Gold level villas. SUCH a good idea. Skip the Casita Suites. They were certainly clean (in the 15 minutes we were in them) but you don't feel like you're enrobed in the luxury and beautiful of the Fairmont when you're standing there looking out on a hideous view from a tired apartment.

Internet service was awful - not exactly sure why - I've stayed at the Princess in Bermuda and it's fine - so I expect far more for a state-side hotel. Really, the internet service was awful.

The In-Between

The resort is a quiet respite during the week - it did get a bit zany on the weekend. Lots of families and kid-friendly events everywhere. The day-glo pool at night, the kids' movie over the South Pool, the zip line. We loved all those things because we were traveling as a family - but if you're not, you may feel like it's an amusement park from all angles. Our kids loved it - but if I were away with just my husband, I'd wonder where my quiet went. We were happy when Monday rolled around.

The $29 resort fee is fine - you get self parking and access to some kid stuff - it's fine. Maybe just bake it into the normal price, but it's hardly a show stopper.

Overall it's the best vacation we ever took. Off season allowed us to stay longer and not break the bank. The internet service was the only thing we had an issue with, and the Gold concierge was very apologetic. In the scheme of things, not a big deal.

Room Tip: Forget the Casita Suites - or at least the ones overlooking the vacant field. Go for a normal room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Scottsdale

Address: 7575 East Princess Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 651
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
The Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Fairmont Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Fairmont
Scottsdale Princess

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.