We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big and beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Scottsdale to your Saves list
Fairmont Scottsdale
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   7575 East Princess Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sip Savor & Sun $100/Day
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
New York City
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“big and beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Really nice resort property for family or business travel. service was excellent and prompt -- I was particulalry pleased with the concierge who helped me with plans for a return trip with family (sedona, grand canyon etc.) NB: I was signing the bill for a LARGE week-long group mtg so i was sure to get a lot of attention. The resort is enormous so you should think thru what you want to be near when booking... The rooms are nice but can be loud in certain areas. Just ask them up front. I had a minor noise issue in my room (turns out it was the mini-fridge in the room next door) and the maintenance staff dealt with it promptly and efficiently. Shops were nice and they're even getting a starbucks shortly.

Room Tip: check the hotel map so you get a room close to where you want to be... the place is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    422
    156
    80
    53
See reviews for
368
423
47
476
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Fairmont Princess is a very nice property with beautiful lobby area, great pools, a handsome outdoor bar and a large, well appointed room. The staff was wonderfully helpful and friendly. But the room we had was overlooking the outdoor bar and music was playing loudly there until early morning - so avoid the bar side of the main building if you want a quiet night. Also, we personally asked the front desk for a rollaway and still had to call for it to be delivered. The same thing when we requested a second rollaway. Worst: we asked the desk in person for a wake-up call the night before our departure: it didn't come and we had to rush like mad to make it to the airport. Also, it appears they charged us minibar fees for using coffee pods in the Keurig - ? We didn't have time to haggle over the bill before we left!

Room Tip: Stay as far away as you can from the outdoor bar unless you are a night owl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Hvos,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you found our property beautiful and our staff friendly. Our sincere apologies for the mishaps in your requests for a rollaway and a wake-up call. This is not the typical level of service we pride ourselves upon. In regards to the coffee, we do offer complimentary coffee in the rooms, although there is charge for the Starbucks brand. Please contact me or the resort directly at 480-585-4848 and we would be happy to resolve this for you. Again, our sincere thanks for visiting the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I wish we could have doubled our time there! We were there Dec 21st to Dec 26th. We decided to do something new this year. Our kids are grown and childless so we decided to relax this Christmas---no shopping, no wrapping presents, no decorating, no cooking--well you get the picture.This resort made us forget our usual Christmas. We felt like we were treated royally. First of all the resort outdoes itself with the Christmas display in and around the lagoon. Tons of light displays, and a large 30 ft "dancing light and sound" Christmas tree. Fabulous. We had the Fairmont Gold experience which gave us a Junior Suite in the Gold villas with a dedicated concierge service, a wonderful breakfast each morning and hors d'oeuvres in the evening and an honor bar in the Gold Lounge. The food in the Lounge was different every day, beautifully presented and delicious. I could not wait to see what they were going to offer next. Our room was spacious and well decorated with 2 flatscreens, a very large bath area with a large walk in shower and jacuzzi tub.Everything was sparkling clean. Turn down service in the evening gave us fresh towels. The bathrobes were among the nicest we have had anywhere---very cozy. The room heat and air conditioning was very accurate and quiet. My only minor complaint was that I found the bed to be too soft but that is a personal preference and you can't please everyone.The rooms were quiet but after the first night we noticed that there was smoke coming into the bath area although it was supposed to be non smoking throughout. They immediately helped us move to another room and gave us some wine. The concierge was extremely helpful in planning a trip on Christmas Day to Sedona and even organized a box lunch for us to take with us because as expected there were not many places to eat that day. Although the grounds are fairly large, getting around was not much of a problem for me even with a cane. I was able to walk to most places but ordered complimentary golf cart transportation from our room to the spa. The spa facilities are to die for including a heated roof top pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. Admission to the spa was complimentary with the Gold Experience and you could book any number of treatments at an additional cost. We ordered room service on Christmas Day for breakfast. It arrived on time, warm and had everything we could want and they did not skimp on condiments. We had Christmas dinner at the Bourbon Steak restaurant. We ended up not choosing the Christmas menu as it was a little too gourmet for our tastes but opted to order from their regular menu. The food was very good but a little pricey. But it did not really matter as we were there on a special promotion that gave us $100 a day, food, beverage and spa credit. They were very cordial applying this credit---not like the promos in Vegas where you have to use up a credit on each day or loose it and limiting the credit to $100 a day even if you used nothing the previous day. The Fairmont just took $500 off our bill at the end of our 5 day stay---no ands, ifs or buts. Very very gracious and first class!! Our visit was pure pleasure and I can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Go for the Gold!!(Experience--that is). You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during "Christmas at the Princess." We are honored to have you spend the holidays with us and value your thorough feedback. We hope to see you again this year at Christmastime or for any of our "Legacy" holiday events throughout the year. Sincerely, Valerie Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I do extensive research before I book any hotel and this trip came down to the Fairmont over the Phoenician. Although I did not visit the Phoenician, I was completely satisfied with my decision to spend 2 nights at the Fairmont Princess and here's why:

Being that I was only there for 2 nights, it offered enough that I didn't have to leave once. If I was there say 4 or 5 nights...I may have gone with a larger resort or made some trips into downtown Scottsdale. You have 4-5 options for dinner and we ate at Bourban Steak one night and Hacienda (Mexican) the other evening. Bourban steak, although an amazing meal, was a little overpriced. Two apps, Two small filets, a good bottle of wine, and one dessert set us back about $300.00. The food was really, really good though and the server and sommelier very both friendly, and quite knowledgeable.

Hacienda was great in every aspect if you like Mexican food. It was about half the price of the steakhouse but still had a really nice vibe inside and terrific drinks and eats. We also had lunch at the "Grill" overlooking the TPC championship golf course. It's high end pub food with an amazing selection of craft brews and killer views of the links. The golf course looked like one of the best course I have ever set my eyes on. The Phoenix Open is actually being held there at the end of the month. I didn't get to play, not enough time, nor do I deserve to play a course of that caliber! Apparently Tiger Woods has vowed never to golf there again because woman threw shoes at him last time he was in a tournament there. True story, the waiter told us.

We were upgraded at check in and I highly recommend you sign up for the Fairmont Presidents club online for free. It'll get you complimentary wifi, free golf club rental, and a better chance of an upgrade where you check in. Our room was in D block # 3179 and was a good size, offered lagoon views, had a good size balcony, and a huge bathroom. Most of all, it was private. I noticed a few rooms that you could basically look into and I would hate to be in those. We were also about a 3 minute walk to the main reception area and main pool. I found promo codes online for many various groups, I choose the "Scottsdale Young and Active" promo code even though I'm from NYC and snagged myself about 25% off for a rate of $216.00 per night. Reserved a standard room but was upgraded one level to a deluxe, I believe. Sweet!

If you forget anything small, there is a little gift shop on site that has toiletries, water, snacks, souvenirs etc, and the prices are actually very fair. A bottle of water might be $2 but that same bottle they leave in your room to consume is $5. It's open until 9pm. We ordered room service breakfast one more and it did the job. Room service will ALWAYS be overpriced, but the quality of the food was great. Things are generally expensive at this resort but come on people... It's a Fairmont. In Scottsdale nonetheless! Go with a Sheraton or a Holiday in if you want to sacrifice on quality but save money on dinner, lunch, or that late night drink from the mini bar.

Word of advice - even if you are not getting a treatment, pay the 35 bucks and use the spa for a few hours or all day.. Eucalyptis Inhalation rooms, ice plunge, hot tub, massage waterfalls, sauna, steam rooms, free snacks / beverages, private roof deck pool with mountain views - well worth it! Any spa treatment will obviously include the free spa entry anyway we got two facials for about 175.00 each. Not cheap by any means but I don't regret the purchase.

It was so relaxing on that spa roof deck pool area I actually dozed off for about 20 minutes which is not like me, especially at 2pm in the afternoon. It was total bliss, no kids running around, quiet, the mountains just a mile or two away, etc. We also hit the regular fitness center one day (the non spa one) and although it was small for a resort of this size, it was clean and had everything you needed.

Speaking of kids, it's a VERY kid friendly resort (kids club, water slides, ice skating rink) but they are not annoying / in your face / crying babies everywhere that ruin your romantic time. I love kids, no beef there, but this trip was supposed to be some time to "recharge the batteries" with my wife and relax and the kid situation was fine.

Stone Rose Lounge - This place is the Bomb and center of nightlife for the resort. Basically closed in the day, it transforms into a outdoor lounge with fire pits, specialty cocktails, and and attractive people (myself excluded, of course) in the evening. There is also a pool table, putting green, and cigar stand. I could honestly hang out there every night after dinner.

It was cold when we where there and dropped down to the 40's but there must be 25 fire pit areas / tables so it was perfect. I had many drinks out there just listening to the music and being warmed by the fire as well as my scotch. The Desert Ice (outdoor skating rink) area has a similar set up with fire pits and seating where little Johnny can grab a hot cocoa and Daddy can grab something stronger.

There are a couple of pools and they are all big, heated, and well maintained. The entire property is decorated really, really beautifully for the holidays and that's something I rarely notice or say. Most of the reviews will say how good the service is and how people bend over backwards at the Fairmont but I must agree... they take service to a whole other level here.

I called around to local car service companies and it is about the same price to use one of the hotel Sedans / SUV's to take you to the airport. No reason to set it up in advance, you simply tell the bellhop and he'll have you wheels in about 2 minutes. I cost $55 and was about a 25 minute ride to Phoenix Sky Harbor International and the fare as well as gratuity can even be put on your room. The resort is about 15 minutes from Old Town Scottsdale if you plan on hanging out, eating out, or shopping in that area. We visited Old Town on the way up to the resort, it's got a really authentic old Western town feel.

Don't worry about it... you'll really like the Fairmont!

Room Tip: Ask for an courtesy upgrade and something close to the main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Scottsdale, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write an in-depth review. We very much appreciate your insights and travel tips and are pleased to hear you enjoyed our various dining outlets and amenities. We wish you happy travels in 2013 and that you will come visit us again soon. Best regards, Valerie Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castle rock, colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for New Year's Eve with family and it could not have been a better stay. We had access to the "Gold Room" and Clara was wonderful taking care of our every need. We were with little ones who enjoyed the ice skating rink. The adults loved the spa and the beautiful Christmas Light displays all over the property. I would highly reccomend this property!

Room Tip: Make sure you get access to the "Gold Room" for snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madras, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for two nights before the Fiesta Bowl, it was colder out than normal. The property is very nice, well landscaped. Its a large complex with lots of walking to get around. My room was fine, large and worked out fine. Overall my only beef is the place was pretty boring, not much going on. The prices were too high for drinks and the steak house. I found i spent most of my time off property, i would not spend the extra money to stay their. I assume if its warm out and an event is going on, there is some activity to keep things fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked a Casita Signature King for 5 days up to and including New Years day.

The resort grounds and staff are outstanding. The ice rink and Christmas lights were impressive.

However, booking the Casita room was a BIG mistake. These are 2 story units and if you are on the first floor and have someone above you, be prepared to hear EVERY STEP THEY TAKE.

We were awakened several times every night by what sounded like someone beating on the floor. After a few times it was obvious they were just walking around upstairs.

These units are constructed with no regard for sound or privacy. DO NOT WASTE YOU MONEY.

In addition, in my opinion, the resort caters to those that do not want value but NEED to spend their money. This may sound judgemental, but there were a large number of guests that obviously had a desire to pay more just so they can say they did.

We tried it once but will not return.
There are much better deals and resorts for the money. Do not stop looking here.

Room Tip: Do NOT pay for a Casita Suite unless you want to hear every step taken by the guests above you. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Scottsdale

Address: 7575 East Princess Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 651
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
The Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Fairmont Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Fairmont
Scottsdale Princess

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.