We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Camelback Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Camelback Resort to your Saves list
Scottsdale Camelback Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6302 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for seven nights.

Although the resort looks dated we could not fault the cleanliness and amenities of the Apartments and Grounds.

The room are exceptionally spacious with all you need for an extended stay.

We really enjoyed the Pool and the Tennis courts.

The resort is only a couple of minutes drive from Down Town Scottsdale or walkable in 10 to 15 minutes.

Hopefully will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you liked the resorts amenities, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    75
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
82
67
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This resort is in a perfect location for a vacation in Scottsdale. You will find the beds super comfy, and the staff extra friendly. Our favorite resort activity was a prickly pear margarita pool-side followed by relaxation in the hot tub. This is a perfect spot for families. You will find many activites on-site to entertain all. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been in all of the rooms. Everyone single one is roomy, well kept and well decorated, very cozy. From the front desk, to the pool, to the management everyone greats you with a smile and is very helpful. The grille serves great food, not to mention you can pretty much walk to all the excitement that Downtown Scottsdale has to offer. If you're looking to overpay for hype, this is not the place. If you want a great room with a great location and amenities, then go to Scottsdale Camelback Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked through AA using AAdvantage miles; when it came time to check out they acted like I was paying with Confederate dollars. I showed the voucher when I checked in (late at night) so I assumed all was well. The real irritant was the desk didn't want to try and resolve the problem with AA, that was my problem. It got worked out, thanks to the helpful people at the AA travel desk but it highlights the lack of service this place offers overall.

The first place you need to go after you check in is a grocery store. There are no dining options other than the pool side grill, and it doesn't open until 8 AM. Not even coffee in the lobby. Also, the property is not located within walking distance of anything so you either bring it in the unit, or get in the car.

As the desk reminded me several times, this is a "time-share" and not a hotel. Thanks.

We had the studio which was well-built and comfortable. They combine the living area and the open king-bed area for TV purposes so if you like to watch TV in bed this doesn't work. Nice bathroom with whirlpool, well lit, water was hot and lighting was good. There is a queen bed in the loft area with a small wall mounted TV, but no bathroom.

Wifi was free but I could never get a strong enough signal in my unit to do any good.

As mentioned in other reviews, this is a nice place for what it is. Maybe its my fault for not doing my homework but the normal conveniences of the modern travel world have passed this place by. Not having a dining room is ok, but free breakfast, decent wifi and maybe a stocked mini-mart in the lobby are pretty much basic these days. This property is the Scottsdale of 30 years ago, not the one today with so many new resorts with all the bells and whistles, for about the same pricing.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the 1 bedroom unit over the studio even if you are travleing solo or as a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The resort is in a prime location!
It is near Old Town , restaurants and other attractions. If you don't want to leave the property, you can eat onsite at The Grille. There is the beautiful view of the mountain. For those that like to hike ... The trail is in walking distance. Sara and the rest of the front desk staff were great! Actually all the staff was friendly and helpful.
Gerry was wonderful (concierge )! They gave a welcome mtg to let you know about various tours and activities !
The size of the villas is wonderful! There is plenty of room for our family of 4 to spread out . We could spend time together or do our own thing and there was plenty of space for both. You definitely got the feel of Arizona from the decor. I would definitely recommend this to everyone! There is even a kokopelli trail on site to walk or run .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

On Camelback Road about 1/2 mile from Fashion Square and Old Town, great location for restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing.

We had a studio unit with a bit of an unusual layout. The kitchen, bathroom, living area, and a king bed sleeping area were on the main floor; the second floor had a sleeping area with two beds and a small balcony. The arrangement would work well for a family but might be a bit crowded for two couples. The kitchen was nicely appointed with a small refrigerator, cooking surface, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. A small washer/dryer combo also. The living area is separated from the sleeping area by a pull drape, reminded me of a hospital suite. Wood burning fireplace, flat screen TV, and a small iPod compatible stereo.

Unit was clean when we arrived and maid service re-freshed on Wednesday. Tub is a Jacuzzi unit with one of those anemic water-saver shower heads.

Bed was very comfortable. Thermostat is upstairs which is a bit inconvenient and the a/c seems to turn on and off a lot. LIghting was good for reading in bed and was excellent in the bathroom for doing makeup.

Front desk staff was very helpful and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. We had a light bulb out in the kitchen and it was replaced within a half hour of my reporting it. Nice pool area with an adjacent grill and restaurant, full gym by the spa downstairs and neither seemed to be used much. There is a walking trail through the property; it's not very scenic but does allow you to walk off the main roads.

No resort fee but wi-fi in the room is $5 a day; free computer access in the lobby. The concierge was helpful and knowledgeable and our only issue was that one set of directions we were giiven was incorrect.

Room Tip: Our room was B29, directly across the drive from the pool, ice machine, and lobby. Very quiet and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife, son and I have chosen the rigth place to relax for a week in Scottsdale.This resort combines confortable and spacious units (we had a two bedroom two baths) with professional and polite people 24hrs at front desk.The idea of little slips of paper with driving directions to nearby shops, malls and supermarkets is time saving and very convenient.An active consierge is another plus , organizing a meeting with local tour operators to help foreign travellers like us to make the most of a short stay. City tours, hot baloon rides and desert exploration in special vehicles are among the suggested tours.

Room Tip: .Ask for a unit away from the front of the resort and the possible noisy and busy Camelback Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottsdale Camelback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Camelback Resort

Address: 6302 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#30 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#40 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Camelback Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scottsdale Camelback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Camelback Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Camelback Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.