We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Scottsdale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7110 E. Indian School Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    129
    71
    25
    7
See reviews for
82
84
33
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Howard Johnson Scottsdale is great value for money in a brilliant location. Nice clean rooms with fridge,microwave,power shower,comfy beds and 37 lcd with cable. Free breakfast with choice of cereal,yoghurt,fruit,bagels,pastries,fruit juice and coffee/tea. The pool area is great and gets the sun all day and there's even a hot tub. The location of this place is great with buses 72 going to Tempe and 41 going to Phoenix, minutes from your motel door. The motel is close to all restaurants and the lovely Scottsdale old town. There's also a great mexican take away/sit in on the corner called Qdoba which does great burritos/tacos. I will going back to HoJo every time I go to the valley of the sun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the HOJO. Our goal here is to always provide a clean, comfortable room for an affordable price. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and am pleased to know we will be your hotel of choice for all future stays in Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A year old renovation, (except, I think, for the bath tubs) this is a very clean basic place to stay. Comfortable room, nice pool area and friendly staff was a definite plus. Only con I encountered was not that the walls were thin, but the floor! We were on the first floor and footsteps were clearly heard all the way down the upper level. Annoying at most. Continental breakfast is minimal, but this is in walking distance to Old Town shopping, plenty of places to eat!
An affordable, clean, no-frills place to lay your head! Would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the HOJO Scottsdale. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Continued improvements are always being made and the bath tubs you mentioned are definitely on our list. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and tell your friends when looking for clean, affordable place to stay in Scottsdale, we are the place to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel was in the heart of old Scottsdale. Dozens of places to eat in blocks. I paid $179 + tax at other hotels for less room. We had a king bed, it was clean. This is an a terrific value. We were near expressways to everywhere. Dozdens of Attractions were less than 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Howard Johnson's Old Town Scottsdale. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We always strive to offer a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town

Address: 7110 E. Indian School Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, our Howard Johnson Scottsdale, AZ, hotel is just minutes from famed restaurants, nightlife, premiere shopping and casinos. Our 100% non-smoking, recently renovated hotel is near Arizona State University as well as many major businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Old Town Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Rodeway Inn Scottsdale
Scottsdale Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.