We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7110 E. Indian School Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #56 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
tucson, az
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I can't believe the quality of the room for the rate I had paid. Excellent!! My room was completely renovated with modern furniture and appliances. Location was great, in the middle of downtown scottsdale, near the scottsdale mall. I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review of the Howard Johnson Old Town Scottsdale. We are very proud of our property and the quality of the rooms that we have to offer. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    156
    85
    31
    15
See reviews for
98
105
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We drove into phoenix without anywhere to stay. We drove to Scottsdale as this is the area we knew we wanted to stay in. We were lucky enough to get a room at the Howard Johnson and stayed there 4 nights. The rooms are nice enough with everything you need. The best part is the price and the location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the HOJO. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please tell all your friends that when looking for affordable, clean accomodations for a reasonable price the HOJO Old Town is the place to stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

There is nothing disgusting or horrible about the HoJos in Old Town -- there, I've said it. The good folks at Howard Johnson's have taken your run of the mill strip motel and blessed it with (somewhat) clean carpeting, new furniture and some nice tile in the bathroom, plus a microwave, minfridge, iron/board and comfy chairs. Sure the windows all look out on the parking lot and walk way, so you really have no privacy with the curtains open, sure the late night drinking crowd of spring training's loud voices echo like cannon blasts off the concrete and brick walkways -- hey, turn up the air conditioning unit! The new, large screen flat screens are great, the continental breakfast is great, the staff is welcoming and friendly, there is nothing nasty walking around or growing in the bathrooms and, ok now strap in, the room for 3 nights was approximately the same cost as a room for one night at any, ANY of the other local chains, including Hilton Garden Inn, the Marriotts or my beloved Saguaro. $116 plus tax vs. $350. Are you throwing money away? Then send it over to me so I can travel more! The HoJos is very well located, walking to everything, a stones throw from great dining establishments like Dotties, Cowboy Ciao and even has a Starbucks across the street (but really the coffee at the continental buffet was just fine for starters, thank you). If the weather holds up there's a pool, lots of parking if you're driving -- gosh, what doesn't make this a great deal? Four stars for value, value, value. Thank you, HoJos, for keeping your prices reasonable when EVERYONE else in Scottsdale is gouging the spring training visitors. If you come to Scottsdale for the resort amenities, stay out at one of the resorts or at the Saguaro, but be warned, you will pay the premium! If you come to watch baseball, shop, eat, drink and make rowdy, this is probably a great place for you to crash!

Room Tip: Probably no such thing. If you get a room in between stairways or in the far corner you might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the HOJO. I am glad that you were able to enjoy Spring Training without breaking the bank. This is definetely our goal, to provide a great experience for a reasonable price. We hope that you will come back next year, and let all your friends know that the HOJO is the place to be for Spring Training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were a little disapointed with this stay. Given the area that this HOJOs is in you would expect a little more, at least for the price. This property is old and even though it has had an obvious recent facelift it still should, in my opinion , be recieving 20-30% less in rates. Thin walls, lots of noise, bugs in the tub,etc. Same things you would expect in a much lesser priced property. Cleanliness was good and personell were nice enough but they could not overcome the noisy plumbing, bugs(silverfish) in the tub every morning and a less than peaseful environment. Paying more to be in "wonderful Scottsdale " was not worth it, at least at this place. Next time we are in the Phoenix area we will not stay in Scottsdale!

Room Tip: My quest to find a hotel that honors requests is still on. No real standouts on some rooms being bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Howard Johnson's Old Town Scottsdale. I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. It is true the property is older, but just last March underwent a 1 million dollar renovation that we are very proud of. Old Town can be a busy sometimes noisy place on the weekends and especially during Spring Training. I would hope that you would return possibly at a quieter time of year to experience the charm and convienence the property provides when visiting Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town

Address: 7110 E. Indian School Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, our Howard Johnson Scottsdale, AZ, hotel is just minutes from famed restaurants, nightlife, premiere shopping and casinos. Our 100% non-smoking, recently renovated hotel is near Arizona State University as well as many major businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Groupon, Travelocity, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Old Town Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Rodeway Inn Scottsdale
Scottsdale Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.