We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Scottsdale Location and Better-Than-Expected Hotel Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6040 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sleep In & Save 20%!
Ranked #26 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Central Scottsdale Location and Better-Than-Expected Hotel Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Residence Inn Scottsdale appears to be pretty typical for this class and brand of hotel. But, over a 5-day stay, I was impressed with the above-average quality of the stay experience.

A J.W. it is not. But it is a basic, reasonably priced hotel that is clean, surprisingly quiet, good attention to detail, attracts a good class of guests and has a great location.

Located just north of Old Scottsdale, the Residence has a very central location to all of Scottsdale and Phoenix. So everything in town is a pretty reasonable drive.

This location also gives you great restaurant choices close-by, even within easy walking distance. There also is a Walgreens and a Trader Joe’s within a one city-block walk if you want groceries or snacks for your kitchen. Veneto Trattoria, literally across the street, may be one the best and most authentic Italian restaurants in town. Up the street to the north are several other options, including a nice wine bar and a Fogo de Chao.

Parking at the Residence is plentiful. If you need a rental car, the Doubletree, a half mile down Scottsdale road, has an Avis facility. The front desk can get you a cab on 10 or 15 minute notice mid-day. A ride to the airport is $30, plus tip.

Being right on Scottsdale Road, you might be concerned about road noise. But, don’t be. My room, in the main building, was as exposed as you can get, 40 feet from the road and right over the front door. But the hotel has double-paned windows, and I had no problems, even with my side of the bed three feet from the window. I also think there is very little truck traffic on Scottsdale Road, which makes a big difference. Other buildings at the property are better removed from the street, so you shouldn’t expect any noise problems.

The clientele seems to be quiet as well. During my stay, it was predominantly a combination of business travelers and retirees.

My room was very clean. Linens and towels were all nice and above average for this class of hotel. The bed was just-right firm, with plenty of pillows and good cover options. The kitchen and bathroom were both spotless. Hot water was plentiful. My only gripe is that water pressure was weak. Shower head height was adequate, not great, for a six-footer. It was about eye-level for me. Although, the tub had a nice non-slip bottom.

The bathroom set-up is good for a couple. The sink and counter are outside the toilet and tub, so she can be doing her hair while you’re in the shower.

The free breakfast was pretty basic and adequate, although doesn’t vary much day-to-day. The breakfast meat selection flips daily between turkey Canadian bacon slices and sausage patties. Sometimes there are biscuit sandwiches or pancakes. Every day you have scrambled eggs, potatoes, cereals, muffins, bagels, make-your-own waffles, yogurt and one kind of cut fresh fruit, along with bananas and apples.

The workout room is pretty basic, with a couple treadmills and elipticals. There are some free weights, but no bench.

The pool looks nice, but I was there during a cold snap, so didn’t use it.

It’s hard to be too effusive over a basic hotel. But the Residence Inn Scottsdale is a solid performer that delivers an above-average experience for this class of hotel. If you travel much, you know that’s not always a given. If you are traveling to Scottsdale on a budget, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Main building is most convenient for breakfast, but outer buildings are further from the street, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
23
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Recently stayed for two nights at the Residence Inn as part of a multi-family get together and the Residence Inn was perfect! Spotlessly clean, large suite rooms, with pull-out sofa, fireplace, King bed, ample, but not -invading-in-space-sized kitchen and generously sized bathroom all won high marks for me. The Residence Inn in Paradise Valley is a few miles north of downtown "Old Scottsdale" and as long as you don't have the need or desire to be in the thick of things, the Residence Inn is a nice, quite and spacious alternative, with plenty of parking. All of the Marriott property quality attributes are found at Residence Inn... it's not super fancy, but sometimes you don't need, or want to pay for super fancy. The Residence Inn was an amazingly well-priced property with all the amenities I was looking for, including fitness center (small but adequate), free breakfast (one of the best I've experienced), free internet, outdoor pool (small but perfect for splashing around and sunbathing.... after all, this IS Arizona ;-), and a fun-sized basketball/paddleball court with BBQ for those staying long enough to shop for groceries and hang out.

The front desk at Residence Inn was professional, courteous and very accommodating, granting our every wish for late departures for some of our family guests. Their willingness to be flexible made a HUGE difference for us, as it allowed some family members to have a home base before a late flight home. I always give high marks to a hotel which cheerfully helps out guests when booking schedules permit. Residence Inn came through in flying colors.

On-site laundry and a number of townhouse-style units with two floors (no elevators). Several restaurants in fashionable open Malls nearby will enable you to walk out for dinner/Starbucks/groceries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The rooms at this Residence Inn have been newly renovated and are quite spacious and pleasant.

Very reasonably priced.

Convenient location - close to restaurants and shopping.

The pool/BBQ are is small.

We had a ground floor room overlooking the parking lot - not ideal - but I guess somebody has to! ;)

Breakfast was okay - not the best Residence Inn breakfast - but adequate.

The internet at this hotel is veeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyy sssssslllllllllloooooooooowwww...It is not acceptable for a business hotel.

Would we return? not sure - that's how slow the internet was :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia055, Property Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley for your recent stay. We realize that you have many options in Scottsdale and truly appreciate your business. Further, we value the time you took to share your comments with us. We’re sorry to hear of your inconvenience with our Internet service. Please know that we recently increased our bandwidth in order to meet and exceed our guests’ need for fast Internet service. We will continue to monitor our Internet capacity to ensure proper speed is always available for our guests. We’re happy to hear that we met your expectations in all other areas and hope you’ll re-consider our property the next time you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Standard, predictable stay in a Residence Inn. We've stayed in many Marriott Residence Inns; everything was up to the usual standards for a mid-range economy property. The front staff was exceptionally nice.
The "Gatehouse" are with the pool and jacuzzi at the this property are on thew small side. They also have a tennis court.
Ask for a room facing "inside" or toward the pool courtyard; other wise ther's not much to look at except traffic or other buildings on the parking lot sides.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for three nights during a business seminar since the conference hotel was fully booked. Excellent service everywhere, from the hotel management to the cleaning staff. With a kitchenette and Trader Joe's next door, making breakfast or a snack was just like home! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Finding space for a family with a twenty something, a teen, and two adults when traveling is no easy task and this residence Inn fit the bill perfectly. The Two bedroom suite was spacious, with two King beds, and a pull out couch. There was even a fireplace. The room was clean and came with a full Kitchen. Breakfast every morning was hot and delicious with egg sandwiches, sausage, make your own waffles, eggs, and fruit. We were not there during the week, so we missed the evening reception, but we have heard this is also plentiful. The Location was great, and the beds were firm but comfortable.

The staff were warm and friendly and made the stay very enjoyable.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Go for the two bedroom suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was delighted to celebrate New Years Eve with friends sharing this suite. Richly appointed, clean, tiled floors, kitchen sparkling, and beds big and comfortable. Then for the managers happy hour, wine and beer though snacks wanting but then breakfast the following morning far outweighed my expectations from sausage and eggs and potatoes to sweet muffins. Staff was exceptionally welcoming at check in and check out was smooth and efficient.
Couldn't figure out TV controls in the bedroom to receive the same programing as we were receiving in the living room. Maybe more instructions there though didn't go looking for them. Friend hooked up her computer and seemed to do find but we were on a holiday weekend versus business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley

Address: 6040 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#39 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#39 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Residence Inn by Marriott Scottsdale Paradise Valley. Each spacious studio and two bedroom suite features a modern kitchen, complete with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances; multifunctional "great room" area including flat panel TVs; comfortable home office work station with the latest in technology including complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access; and luxurious linen. Guests can make themselves at home throughout the day in our brand new lobby with a large high-definition TV, free wireless internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast buffet and evening socials. Enjoy year-round sunshine in the heart of Scottsdale, AZ, minutes from Old Town Scottsdale's fine dining, night clubs, art galleries and world-class shopping. The area is also popular for hiking, biking, horseback riding and over 200 golf courses. All this just 12 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport! Pets are always welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.