We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word...Serene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258 (McCormick Ranch)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #14 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“In a word...Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

What can I say about the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa @ Gainey Ranch?

It was our first trip to the Phoenix/Scottsdale area, and if you enjoy the simple luxuries of a short-refreshing weekend to get away from it all, this is the place to stay. The property is secluded, but yet a short drive to the main area of downtown Scottsdale. The service is wonderful, there were check-in kiosks, and plenty of receptionists (it was a mid-afternoon check-in). The rooms were clean, modern, and typical of business style hotel as most hyatts, sheratons, and other hotels of the sort. What stood out to us was the setting. The hotel as you drive up has a large fountain in the middle of square (yes, not circular) driveway, and the hotel is just plain open. You can see the large sitting area (where at night people gather to drink, mingle, and even roast marshmallows). Beyond that is what is a large pool area (1 adult only pool, and a general-large all ages pool area). More about that in a minute. If you veer to the right of the pool area and behind it is this small yet peaceful garden, and beyond that was a full golf course. Now the piece du resistance (for me anyways is the expansive pool area). The pool has the typical hot-tub, poolside bar, but beyond that it has small basketball hoop, two volleyball nets, a sandy beach section, a couple of waterfalls, and a 3 story water slide (excellent). Now could it have been the weather was beautiful (80 degrees in late October), combined with one of my favorite pluses to a hotel, a large pool area, honestly a pool area to either bathe in the sun, sip a lovely beverage or dip in the pool, to me that's a holiday (even if it was a short weekend getaway) holiday none the less. Right, the pool being expansive yet it didn't feel too large or overwhelming with tons of other hotel guests doing the same, because then I would've gone to the adult only, you would expect the pool area to be popular right? For checkout there are two major pluses 1, it has a computer with printer so you can print your boarding passes for your flight home, and it has spots for rental care return. As for the spa my girlfriend's sister made use of it's services, and for me I stepped into the reception area for nor more than five minutes with the combination of near whispering of the staff, the soft gentle music, and the rock laden water fountain, I wanted to sit in of the comfy chairs and fall asleep. But you don't have to take my word for it. In essence if you stay in the Phoenix /Scottsdale area whether for a short weekend, or long holiday this has to be one of the choices to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    637
    319
    107
    56
    34
See reviews for
300
323
55
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

This is a great Hotel/Spa staff is wonderful and the setting is beautiful. Only drawback are the rooms, not enough drawers and the closet is small. To use the in room safe you have to get down on all four since it's located near the floor. In spite of this run to this hotel it's great!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

This hotel/resort is excellent. I have stayed at most all the higher end hotels (except for Four Seasons). This particular Hyatt is in the Top 3, for me. Excellent in every way. The grounds are spectacular. With golf course in the background and mountains behind the golf course. My only regret. I wasn't prepared - did have my tennis racket, clubs or bathing suit.
Also, this is the very first time I will have given such a high rating on TripAdvisor and checked "The Best"

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We had a great time just relaxing by the pool. The food was wonderful and we would return there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I travelled to Scottsdale via Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon. We had stopped at another Hyatt location in Scottsdale only to find they had no availability for the one night. They were so kind to call the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch to see whether they could accommodate us. We had no idea such a place existed as we were travelling without much for electronic devices. To say the least, we were amazed at the friendly staff, gorgeous grounds including 27-hole golf course and sumptious pools, excellent restaurants, live entertainment as well as the upscale, chic and comfortable accommodations. We spent time enjoying the surroundings and hated to leave the following day. I was tempted to submit my resume just so I could spend my days soaking up the atmosphere and ambiance. An excellent location to spend with a "significant other"! In addition to the hotel, we found Scottsdale itself to be a very easy city to shop and tour in.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at the Scottsdale Hyatt Gainey Ranch as part of a Southwest US Roadtrip. Our room was very nice with a balcony that had a beautiful view of the grounds and the mountains in the distance.

My family, including 2 young daughters loved the outdoor pools. My 8 year old loved the waterslide.

We definately plan to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Fantastic grounds and the pool is great. Rooms very nice. Will be coming back next year for sure. Go on and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > McCormick Ranch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.