We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

It's difficult to write a good review after only staying one night, but I can give you my impressions. This hotel is in a fantastic location in Scottsdale. If you're in Phoenix to shop, or on a short business trip, I don't think there's a better luxury hotel and resort. If you just want to lounge by the pool, it may be hard to decide which one since there are 10 to choose from -- all well laid out; even a large triple turn slide! We don't play golf, but the view of the course from the hotel is beautiful with lakes, dunes, and mountain views. The room was spacious and nice with a small fridge for storing food/drinks. My only complaint was the cup-at-a-time coffee pot which was v-e-r-y slow (perhaps purposefully done that you might surrender and order room service). Overall, our short stay was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your short stay with us. I appreciate your kind words about our location, services, and guest rooms. We certainly hope you will stay with us again for a longer period of time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    366
    118
    66
    34
See reviews for
344
364
56
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend for a great place to stay in Scottsdale. Very centrally located - close to Gainey Village shopping center and spring training. Short cab away from north or south Scottsdale. Private enough for a getaway but close enough to AZ activities.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad that you appreciate our central location and our resort's accommodations. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Croix Virgin Islands
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was at a conference where I had a presentation to deliver and a large number of fantastic colleagues who I get to see once a year so I paid little or no attention to the resort aspects of the property. To the extent that there were hotel provided banquets and receptions the food was always surprisingly good. It is difficult to not overcook fish for 200+ people at one time but they pulled it off nicely.
Those of my colleagues who used the resort facilities raved about them

Room Tip: try to get a view of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We hope that during your next stay you will be able to enjoy more of our accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

WE are platinum hyatt members and have stayed in multiple Hyatt properties but this was our first time to this location. Overall we loved the stay. The room was large and was very well decorated, The location of this resort is wonderful. It's within walking distance of restaurants and driving distance to a lot of shopping and places to eat. The concierge was incredibly helpful as were most of the staff. The few issues we had though somewhat soured our experience. First we went to the bar area to watch the Native America dance and this waitress kept asking everyone around us if they wanted anything but never even looked at us. Then we went to the restaurant on site to try their fajitas. We decided to sit at the bar and while we were eating we witnessed one of the Sous Chefs come over and stick his bare finger right into a sauce or cheese and lick his finger. Then they proceeded to put the sauce/cheese directly back into the refrigerator. When we complained to the manager he seemed to have brushed it off like it wasn't a big deal. Then during check out we had the rudest man, steve. They seemed to have been short staffed at the front desk so we waited for about 15 min to checkout. While we understood they were backed up Steve proceeded to just walk by my husband put his hand to him to say, I can't be bothered with you know. When he finally got finished helping the gentleman before us he then proceeded to help a gentleman who just walked right up to the desk. When we said something that we had been waiting Steve said, "Well he's a diamond member". The experience proceeded to get worse from them. The front desk manager was very nice and accommodating after hearing about the troubles we had but this experience made us leave with a sour taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to Hyatt. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry that some of our staff did exemplify the legendary service that we are typically known for. This sort of behavior is unacceptable and we are grateful that you have brought this to our attention. We are glad that you found our front desk manager to be accommodating. We hope that you will stay with us again so we can provide you with a flawless experience. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst NH
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

There are many good lodging choices when visiting Scottsdale, but this one is over the top! Staff was courteous and helpful. Atmosphere was lively no matter what the hour of the day or night. The restaurant choices on site were great and so we never needed to leave for food. Obviously, you will pay $$$ for this luxury and amenities. A shoe shine was about double the price of the guy in the airport terminal or bus station and the shine was no better. Rooms on the east have a good view towards the McDonnel Range of mountains across the golf course; rooms on the west have a view of mostly concrete. If you love golf, then this is a spectacular vacation destination; get out early before it gets hot. There were plenty of abandoned wives who went out shopping (great places to drop loads of money nearby) or just hung out around the palms reading books and relaxing. By the way, if you have young kids, then bring them; they will spend at least four hours a day in the many incredible pools and water play park areas. Several choices of bicycles are ready to ride at your convenience out front. You can even get a romantic gondola ride on the pond at night with a real, husky Italian guy pushing the gondola and singing a serenade.

Room Tip: east side is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your generous 5 star review! We are ecstatic that you were pleased with so many of the accommodations that we offer. We look forward to spending more time with you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I am lucky as I get to go on some business trips and stay at some nice resorts. Based on my stay, it usually ends up that I give my feedback to my wife, and we usually come back with the kids for a nice little vacation.

The Great.

Wonderful resort. The staff is great, and accommodating. The concierge service is excellent. I recommend getting a bike and taking a nice ride around Scottsdale. Well worth it. The pools are wonderful, especially the adult pool with a very close bar. Live entertainment in the bar area is a nice added touch. Free Wi-Fi too.

The Meh.

For some reason, when you have a king room, why do you put someone in an handicap accessible room? Wouldn't that be brought up at check in?

Also, I was on the 3rd floor, and the lady that checked me in, just said to take the elevator to the 3rd floor. Well, what she neglected to say, was when your room is in the 3600 rooms, you cannot access it, from the elevator closes to the check in area. I am wondering the halls trying to find my room, and thankfully a house keeper saw me walking around aimlessly, and said that I should take the elevator up to 4, and walk a bit, and go down to 3.

Thursday morning, due to my flight being cancelled, I stayed another night. At 11:00am, I had a knock on the door, and it was the house keeper supervisor (I think) asked if I was staying another night, I said yes. At 4:30pm, my room still was not cleaned. I left my room and it looked like they were done with cleaning rooms and I ran into an employee that had a cart filled with towels and told him when they planned on cleaning my room? He looked at me and said, "Your room is not clean?" Nope. gave him my room number and walked away.

Also, check room 3618. The alarm clock does not work.

We will be back and look forward to bringing the family. As long as it's not room 3618

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your generous and thorough review! We sincerely apologize about the inconveniences you encountered with our housekeeping staff. We will relay this message to our staff. We hope you stay with us again so we can provide you with a flawless stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The wife and I had a staycation at the Hyatt. It has a very nice pool. The room was also very nice and clean. I normally spend Easter brunch at the Hyatt with the family. Nicest hotel in Phoenix area, trust me i have lived here for thirty plus years. Enjoy the live bands at night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your loyalty to our property. We are thrilled to hear that you choose to spend your special occasions with us. We sincerely appreciate your kind review and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.