We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent family experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Recently I had the pleasure of staying at The Hyatt Regency Scottsdale with my family. We had two adjoining rooms on the concierge level. The rooms were bright and spacious with a good size balcony facing the courtyard and pool. I would highly recommend the concierge level. There is continental breakfast daily, snacks in the afternoon and in the evening as well as cocktails that you can purchase. It really is a benefit since the kids can snack all day long. And the facility is kept very clean and there is a wonderful courtyard where you can sit and enjoy the scenery. Their pool is the best, with a portion of it being a sand bottom so the kids can play at the "beach".
They just remodeled the water slide which is really great for kids and adults alike. In the evening they had a movie on the "beach" where they served popcorn. They also have firepits where you can cook s'mores in the evening and romantic gondola rides. All in all a great family resort with something for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments about our pools! We hope you'll stay in touch with us on Facebook and Twitter until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    357
    117
    63
    34
See reviews for
339
359
56
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I used this hotel for a convention I was going to which was taking place there. They could not have picked a more beautiful spot. The hotel is simply lovely. The views are spectacular, the food was wonderful, best fajitas I have ever had, and the staff was very friendly. There was a Hertz rent a car on the property, which was convenient for renting a car at the airport and then returning it at the hotel, after seeing some sights in the area. You really need a car in the is area if you wan to go off property for food, but since the food was so good and the convention was feeding us as part of the package, I didn't really need one. There are 2 main pools, one for kids with a beach and sand area, and a water slide for kids of all ages. There are also casitas on the property, which, even if I didn't see inside of, looked beautiful. I paid $30 more to get a room on the ground floor, overlooking the small pond, which was a good idea. I purchased some breakfast foods from the store, sat outside on the patio in the hotel provided robes and ate breakfast, with the view of the pond. I would have to recommend that you pay the extra for the better room on the pond side for the view and quiet area. The hotel had bad reception with Sprint, not the hotel fault, but the internet was good. Service by the pool for drinks was a bit slow and the pool area seemed to get dirty with a lot of used towels and used drink cups as the day went on. They could use a bit more help by the pool. I have also stayed at the Princess hotel, in the area, which was very nice, but I have decided that this was a more enjoyable hotel. The hotel room was comfortable, with a little wear in some areas, but overall very nice.

Room Tip: Pay the $30 and get a room by the small pond so you can have a quiet area to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and choice to stay at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa! We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay so much and truly appreciate your detailed review and kind comments! We can't wait to see you again and hope you'll stay in touch with us on Facebook and Twitter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRINGFIELD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a quick two-night stay for a conference so didn't have a chance to take advantage of many of this property's amenities. The many pools/water features are amazing ranging from adult-focused to kid/family focused. They loan out cruiser bikes at no charge (but only before 5 p.m.) which looks like a perfect way to check out the surrounding areas of Scottsdale. I enjoyed the food at both the Bistro and Alto (Italian restaurant) and was impressed with the fresh, healthy menus at both. This would be a fabulous place for a romantic get-away, especially for folks who enjoy active recreation like golf, hiking, etc.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. I had the most basic, inexpensive double queen room (3rd floor) and it had a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing to stay at our resort! We can't wait to have you again to enjoy our dining and other amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt for three days a mix of business and pleasure. It was a beautiful hotel. The location was perfect - we walked to gainey village for dinner one night, took the shuttle to old Scottsdale - with no problems. The food was excellent - a little pricey but expected for this type of resort. They have an adult pool area with soft cushions for lounging - very nice - cocktail and food service available - perfect for relaxing. They have a family pool area with lots of activities for kids - even a water slide and sand beach!! We would definitely return with our teenage daughter. We went kayaking and a hot air ballon ride scheduled with zebra adventures which is on site - very convenient. Had a massage at the spa - again pricey but worth it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent visit. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, our amenities and location. We can't wait to see you again with your daughter and hope you will take advantage of our great packages, which offer great value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was here for a 2-day conference. Although there was a bit of a line at check-in, this was made easy by staff serving drinks to guests. Line moved fairly quickly. Staff was welcoming.

Room was very nice/comfortable/clean, but looked out over a driveway. In all fairness, I did reserve at the group rate and I really didn't spend much time in the room. Conference services were nice--snacks/cold drinks at break, very nice buffet meals during conference.

I did have a sandwich in the marketplace restaurant, a Bloody Mary in the lobby bar (server was very attentive and drink was plentiful with nice garnishes). I also got to spend a bit of time at the pool, which I thought was top-notch, not crowded, and well attened by staff. I wish I had more time to enjoy this beautiful facility.

Room Tip: I would ask for room overlooking golf course, pool, or courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you choosing to stay at our resort. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The pool situation was an absolute mess. Hordes of people, many of whom were not hotel guests and swathes of abandoned towels on loungers reserving spots. Unless you got there at 7am, you had little chance of a lounger. Very frustrating when you're traveling with little kids and all you see is 'reserved' seats with no-one about. Suggestion is to have staff be more aggressive picking up towels, ban the pre-booking of loungers and have a better checking system of people entering the pool area.

Aside from that, rooms are great, staff are terrific, spa is excellent and tennis courts are top notch. Food is good (miles better than the Weston for example). Gondola rides are a fun touch too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The new features and slide at our pools have proven to be very popular, and the demand exceeded even our own expectations! Based on your feedback, and that of other guests who stayed with us this Spring, we have implemented new procedures to ensure that our guests are able to secure poolside chairs when they are using the pools, and have added staff to monitor and maintain the area. So glad to know that you received great service from our staff, and enjoyed the spa, tennis and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We enjoyed a mini-vacation with our 2 young daughters and chose the Hyatt for the sandy beach and awesome pool area. We were a little hesitant with the weekday rate but it was worth every penny. The staff was warm and inviting and treated us extremely well and the pool area is absolutely top notch. The food is so delicious. We had a super great time from the beach to the evening gondola ride. There is no better place to get away in AZ.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to read you and your daughters enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.