We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pool! Excellent stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent pool! Excellent stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with the family. The view from the lobby is amazing. The kids loved the pools which are amazing. We had a daily breakfast with fresh fruit each morning outdoors. The fireplaces located outside are very nice. I'd recommend this resort with kids, on business or a romantic getaway. The golf course is also a short walk from the resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    428
    126
    73
    34
See reviews for
436
427
69
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our third stay at this hotel. The other two were on business trips and over 10 years ago. I am happy to say that nothing has changed in their service over those years. This was a vacation visit which meant I had more time to enjoy the hotel (instead of being in meetings all day!) My husband and I loved every minute of our stay. The service at all the food venues was excellent and everyone from the front desk to the busboy was very welcoming and egar to be sure your experience was the best it could be. The rooms are spacious and what you would expect from this grand of a hotel. The waterpark....what could I say. Just amazing. This hotel has kept up it's excellent service since I had been here over 10 years ago. Everytime we visit Phx this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard view rooms are quiet and have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for visiting Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa during your time in Scottsdale! We're glad you had a chance to enjoy our amenities and appreciate your comments! We hope to see you again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The grand entry, courtyard and decor hinted at a wonderful experience but the promise went somewhat unfulfilled. After walking the beautiful grounds, we returned to our room to find that the key card would not work requiring a long trek to reception at the other side of the hotel for replacement cards. Irritating but once was understandable. Food at the SWB restaurant was acceptable and service was poor ... hardly what one expects at a 4-star resort hotel with a rather pricey menu for the food served. We did enjoy the music and ambiance in the center lounge after dinner. Upon returning to our room we were again denied entry necessitating another trek across the hotel. A staff person accompanied our return but was uninterested in seeing that the underlying problem with the lock was fixed. Following a comfortable night sleep, we prepared to take a shower only to find that the shower did not work .. not a drop of water. Fortunately, the hand held did work.

Room Tip: Suggest room and balcony overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to provide a review. We are extremely disappointed to read about your shower and room key. We care about the level of service we provide to our guests, as well as ensuring that everything is in working order. Thank you for your comments as they will help us to prevent future concerns in these areas. We hope you will return to experience a more typical stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This resort is really lovely. I used points to stay here so I can't comment to much on value but it was nice to be at such a great resort so close to downtown area. Rooms are modern and awesome, you are greater with a prickly pear margarita at checkin. They have tons of pools and a huge water slide that was unfortunately closed while we were there but will reopen end of the month. Concierge gave great recommendations for places to eat!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments about our resort. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and are happy to read you found our concierge service helpful! We look forward to seeing you enjoy a prickly pear margarita with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

On Thursday December 6th, 2012 we invited our friend from Belgium to your hotel. We sat outside to have some drinks, besides us was a table of six. We waited for 15 minutes for a server to show up. We decided to go inside. After waiting another 10 minutes the waiter showed up. Took a while to get our drinks. I asked the waiter for a bar menu, the menu was hard to read because is in black paper with small letters. The chips and salsa came, he put the food down and didn't explain the type of salsas. I ordered another Ice tea which came in the same glass, . To get the bill took a while to get it. We were dissapointed on your service. What I can say the band was very good and the singer was excellent. No Christmas decorations this year?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for visiting Center Stage Bar! We’re flattered you thought of us while you were showing your visitors around and apologize for the service issues you experienced. We’re glad you enjoyed the performers and hope you will return for a much more typical experience with our staff and efficient service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My family stayed at the Hyatt at Gainey Ranch 11/29/12-12/1/12 for a family wedding that took place at the Gainey Ranch Golf Club. We were fortunate as this was the best December weather we have experienced in AZ in a long time! The grounds of the Hyatt were beautiful and impressive; we could have spent several days exploring the seemingly endless pools and hottubs! I gave this hotel 4 out of 5 but really considered 3...

-Some highlights were:
*Large, Quiet, Comfortable Rooms
*Walking distance to a few restaurants and shops
*Within 20 minutes of the PHX airport (with minimal traffic)
*Many gathering places for large groups like ours with gorgeous views
*Onsite Market
*Amazing pools!
*Entertainment (we a Native American dance performance and a wild bird show!)

Unfortunately, the cons may have outweighed the pros. For the amount of money you pay to stay here, you expect (and deserve) friendly staff. Steve in the Market was awesome as were most of the front desk staff. The concierge table, on the other hand, goodness - these people were awful to us (and I heard this from SEVERAL wedding guests staying at the Hyatt). One lady in particular working the dates of our stay (she was blonde, really wish we caught her name) could not possibly have been more rude if she tried - especially to my Mother, who was paying thousands of dollars to stay at the resort. My husband also complained about her - she was a snob and I can't believe she is actually supposed to be the helpful face of the hotel. If you look like you have a million dollars on you, you may get a smile. We are an extremely easy going bunch but the staff that manned the concierge desk (and this woman in particular) left an extremely unplesant taste in our mouths and really put a dark cloud on our stay.

The maid staff, while very friendly, often did not make it to clean our room until 4 or 5 pm which is when we were always returning from our day of activities to rest up and clean up before dinner. This was totally inconvenient - one actually opened the door while my husband was en route to the shower! This was probably due to being understaffed but it is an issue nontheless.

I understand this is ritzy Scottsdale but even those of us who have money to spend don't want to spend $100 on breakfast for a few people. Outrageous! My family is from AZ and luckily knows of local places to go that are better and for half the cost. I would consider revising your menu to more appropriate prices. Buyer beware - unless you have hundreds to spend on dining daily, you will have to leave hotel grounds.

Room Tip: If your room is located next to an ice machine, you will most likely have to switch rooms. Two of m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our resort! We truly appreciate your review. It is our goal to provide a comfortable, friendly and spectacular experience for all of our guests. As you can imagine, we are disappointed to read your comments about some components of your stay. We take these types of comments seriously and would like to address them immediately. We hope to hear from you offline to discuss your experience in more detail. You can reach us directly at (480) 444-1234. Thank you again for staying at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A beautiful property that could use a bit of attention for it to really be 4 stars. The rooms are fine, regular amenities, nice beds and updated. Seemed to be more of a golfer's group hotel somehow. The restaurants are all in the same narrow line so there isn't much variety - that being said, the food was really very good in all three 'rooms'. Service is generally very good and friendly. And the Spa - is wonderful! I'd go back just for the spa experience - the mineral pool, terrific massage, great space. Also, the downstairs lobby features wonderfully cool music at night, until 10 - great group!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms offer a wonderful, large lanai overlooking the pools with a table/chairs and two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for visiting us! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We look forward to showing you another enjoyable stay in the future, along with another trip to Spa Avania!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#2 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#12 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Scottsdale
#8 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,945 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.