We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing service at your lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258 (McCormick Ranch)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dissapointing service at your lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

On Thursday December 6th, 2012 we invited our friend from Belgium to your hotel. We sat outside to have some drinks, besides us was a table of six. We waited for 15 minutes for a server to show up. We decided to go inside. After waiting another 10 minutes the waiter showed up. Took a while to get our drinks. I asked the waiter for a bar menu, the menu was hard to read because is in black paper with small letters. The chips and salsa came, he put the food down and didn't explain the type of salsas. I ordered another Ice tea which came in the same glass, . To get the bill took a while to get it. We were dissapointed on your service. What I can say the band was very good and the singer was excellent. No Christmas decorations this year?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for visiting Center Stage Bar! We’re flattered you thought of us while you were showing your visitors around and apologize for the service issues you experienced. We’re glad you enjoyed the performers and hope you will return for a much more typical experience with our staff and efficient service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    339
    113
    57
    34
See reviews for
322
337
55
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My family stayed at the Hyatt at Gainey Ranch 11/29/12-12/1/12 for a family wedding that took place at the Gainey Ranch Golf Club. We were fortunate as this was the best December weather we have experienced in AZ in a long time! The grounds of the Hyatt were beautiful and impressive; we could have spent several days exploring the seemingly endless pools and hottubs! I gave this hotel 4 out of 5 but really considered 3...

-Some highlights were:
*Large, Quiet, Comfortable Rooms
*Walking distance to a few restaurants and shops
*Within 20 minutes of the PHX airport (with minimal traffic)
*Many gathering places for large groups like ours with gorgeous views
*Onsite Market
*Amazing pools!
*Entertainment (we a Native American dance performance and a wild bird show!)

Unfortunately, the cons may have outweighed the pros. For the amount of money you pay to stay here, you expect (and deserve) friendly staff. Steve in the Market was awesome as were most of the front desk staff. The concierge table, on the other hand, goodness - these people were awful to us (and I heard this from SEVERAL wedding guests staying at the Hyatt). One lady in particular working the dates of our stay (she was blonde, really wish we caught her name) could not possibly have been more rude if she tried - especially to my Mother, who was paying thousands of dollars to stay at the resort. My husband also complained about her - she was a snob and I can't believe she is actually supposed to be the helpful face of the hotel. If you look like you have a million dollars on you, you may get a smile. We are an extremely easy going bunch but the staff that manned the concierge desk (and this woman in particular) left an extremely unplesant taste in our mouths and really put a dark cloud on our stay.

The maid staff, while very friendly, often did not make it to clean our room until 4 or 5 pm which is when we were always returning from our day of activities to rest up and clean up before dinner. This was totally inconvenient - one actually opened the door while my husband was en route to the shower! This was probably due to being understaffed but it is an issue nontheless.

I understand this is ritzy Scottsdale but even those of us who have money to spend don't want to spend $100 on breakfast for a few people. Outrageous! My family is from AZ and luckily knows of local places to go that are better and for half the cost. I would consider revising your menu to more appropriate prices. Buyer beware - unless you have hundreds to spend on dining daily, you will have to leave hotel grounds.

Room Tip: If your room is located next to an ice machine, you will most likely have to switch rooms. Two of m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our resort! We truly appreciate your review. It is our goal to provide a comfortable, friendly and spectacular experience for all of our guests. As you can imagine, we are disappointed to read your comments about some components of your stay. We take these types of comments seriously and would like to address them immediately. We hope to hear from you offline to discuss your experience in more detail. You can reach us directly at (480) 444-1234. Thank you again for staying at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A beautiful property that could use a bit of attention for it to really be 4 stars. The rooms are fine, regular amenities, nice beds and updated. Seemed to be more of a golfer's group hotel somehow. The restaurants are all in the same narrow line so there isn't much variety - that being said, the food was really very good in all three 'rooms'. Service is generally very good and friendly. And the Spa - is wonderful! I'd go back just for the spa experience - the mineral pool, terrific massage, great space. Also, the downstairs lobby features wonderfully cool music at night, until 10 - great group!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms offer a wonderful, large lanai overlooking the pools with a table/chairs and two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for visiting us! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We look forward to showing you another enjoyable stay in the future, along with another trip to Spa Avania!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii Kai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
609 helpful votes 609 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Years ago we stayed at the The Camelback Inn. We had gone to the Hyatt for a drink and thought it was just lovely. We "dreamed" of going back.

This time in Scottsdale, we decided to stay at the Hyatt Resort for 3 nights.

Check-in was easy and friendly. We were offered complimentary drinks at the reception desk.

The hotel grounds are just as lovely as we remembered them to be. Very manicured. Plenty of cacti and palm trees. The view from the upstairs lobby area out is from a picture book. Our room was okay, nothing great. Bathroom was good size, had nice toiletries, robes, dimmer switch for nightlite, etc. Small balcony with 2 chairs/table. A/C worked fine. Bed was good and linens nice.

We had dinner that night at Alto...the Italian Rest. The food was very good(especially the small antiposti choices) and wished we could have stayed longer...BUT...there was NO HEAT in the dining room. Door to the outside area was wide open. Really. Mid-November and NO HEAT. We told our server 3 times and the answer was always the same. They were working on it. We had to leave it was SO cold. We should have sat outside, as they had heaters there. It would have been warmer there! What type of place has NO HEAT? You get complimentary tickets for the gondola ride when you dine there, which you can use any night of your stay.

They have nightly music in the Center Stage Bar/Lounge(old Lobby Bar). We really enjoyed it but as soon as the music ended, they were taking the candles/menus off the tables, etc. Bar was still open. Nothing like feeling that they want you to leave. The wine was expensive for what it was. Service was pretty good...nothing special. Sometimes you got a bowl of nuts with your drinks and sometimes, well, you didn't. Also, there were a few parents who let their little ones do whatever they wanted. It was annoying and disrespectful to the band. You know the parents...GOOD JOB.

They advertise 10 pools. It's more like 10 lanes in a pool area. They are all cut up and there are loud fountains everywhere. So, if you want to relax...you will need to take a lounge pretty far away from the fountains. Which alot of folks did. There is also construction that we did not know about...and should be told to all. A large crane working and an area shut off. You have to walk quite a distance to get to the restrooms from the main/adult pool area. We noticed alot of left towels, cups, papers, chairs not straightened, etc. Not enough staff. There was really no service out there, so my spouse went up both times to get us wine. Each time, the price of the wine was different? We finally got a guy to take our order for a sandwich. It took 30 MINUTES for it to be brought out to us. Then, the sandwich was cold and was missing the bacon on it. Go figure.

The Canyon Market(coffee/pastry shop) was a highlight. The service was so good and the ladies were so nice. GREAT peanut butter cookies too. There are tables outside to sit nearby. Free computer to use too.

Concierge was indifferent. Good rack of brochures to look at for info. Only one shop...mostly
clothes. Alot of noise in our room from hallway/other rooms and outside at night. We called security. Finally, the loud mouths went in.

All of the restaurants are really in the same area, just with diff. names. All from one kitchen. Sushi bar is small and separate. It was closed 2 nights of the 3. Gondola ride lasted about 20 minutes. There is no music or any lights, so all you see are the patio homes surrounding the lake. He sang us a song. It certainly isn't Venice.

We asked the valet to call a CAB one evening for us. They said they are parked right there? A black SUV pulled up. No meter, cab id, etc. Valet did not tell him where we were going so we did. He starts driving. Has the GPS on, takes out his phone and starts asking if WE know the address, where it is, the phone number, etc. Said there were many Ruth's Chris Steakhouse's in the area. No, there is only ONE location in Scottsdale. This is all WHILE the fool is driving. We almost passed it, if my spouse did not see it. He charged us $15.00 to go about 2 miles. We took an actaul CAB back to the Hyatt and the same route only cost $8.00. And, the driver was good. This really upset us.

Then, we go to check out and get the final bill. We did not recognize many of the charges. So, we decided we would check them all when we got back home. Nothing matched. Called the accounting dept.(somewhere else) and they said the hotel "merged" the bills from the places we charged at. No hotel does this. What if this was a business trip and one needed itemization? Also, they added wrong & owe us about $8.00.

We will be contacing the GM, as he should know about this.

All in all, we were pretty disappointed. Sometimes, a "dream" should be left as just that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and very detailed review of our resort. While there were many highlights that you experienced, there were clearly many other areas that did not meet your expectations. Our General Manager has received your direct email and is looking forward to speaking with you. It is always our goal to exceed the expectations of our guests and ensure that not only that we provide outstanding and comfortable amenities, but also caring and engaged staff members. We care about your experience and will follow up with all departments mentioned to make the improvements that are necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our room was very nice and had a deck that looked out towards the beautiful golf course but this best part is the grounds. We wanted to be outside all the time, just strolling around the pool and property. The pool is probably the most gorgeous I have ever seen and enjoyed how it has so many quiet and intimate alcoves. We also enjoyed a couple of drinks by the fire in the court yard in the evening and the best was the gondola ride (okay maybe a little cheesy) but we really did enjoy the boat tour.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our resort. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and are glad you had a chance to take the gondola boat ride! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This Hyatt has wonderful water area as well as beautiful grounds. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate our every need. We are staying their again this Thanksgiving. We would recommend this location to anyone.

Room Tip: every room location is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review! We're looking forward to seeing you this week for Thanksgiving and encourage you to visit our Facebook and Twitter pages for daily activity updates happening on our property during the holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times and i HATE leaving!!! This is hands down one of the finest, most beautiful resorts I have ever stayed at. From the entrance, to the pool areas, to the golf courses and the rooms...all top notch. And that legendary Hyatt service from all the employees. The Hyatt truly makes you feel welcome in any of their hotels/resorts. Every night I was there I would just sit on the balcony for hours and watch the sunset and enjoy the serenity. Because it's a resort , and in Scottsdale, it will be more expensive than most places, but the expression is true: you get what you pay for...and of all the places I have stayed, this is in the top 3...well worth it!! can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: REMEMBER: there is a $20/day resort fee that gets added on to your bill for your stay...most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your kind review. We're very pleased you found value in your stay and truly look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > McCormick Ranch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.