We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13444 East Shea Boulevard, Scottsdale, AZ 85259   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bistro Dining Offer
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

While I know many people did not like the location of this Courtyard, I did. There is a great walking path behind the hotel, nice sidewalk out front to run or walk. It is about a 10 minute drive to a restaurant but that was okay with me. Over all the hotel was clean. The front desk personall were friendly. The only problem was the Bistro. They were severely understaffed and the food wasn't good. My wife had to stay in line 15 minutes to get a hot tea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Our team will be pleased to note you found the hotel clean and the team friendly and helpful. We strive to provide assistance where needed and a hotel that statisfies all tastes. Our location in the desert provides numerous trails and opportunities to view nature first hand. Your comments regarding the Bistro has had me rethink our process to keep waits down and create an exciting place for our guests to dine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
16
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I co-worker and I stayed here on Business. The queen beds were very comfortable, and all the pillows very fluffy. Strangely, our towels were always replaced despite hanging them on the rack as their sign suggested. There was a refrigerator in the room but no microwave. A microwave is available in the front lobby, in a very small grocerette section; lots of variety of foods/snacks for purchase. The hotel is very near Mayo Clinic and makes for a nice walk on a nice day.
The hotel is 3-5 miles from the nearest restaurants; so yes, be sure to have a rental car. It was only 45 degrees when we visited so we were not able to use the outdoor pool. There is a small workout gym with more treadmills and bikes than actual lifting equip. or weights. Our room shared a door to an adjacent room. It made it possible to hear the conversations in the next room and unfortunately the snoring too. Our first floor room also had a thin ceiling as we could hear the footsteps in the room above us. Luckily we weren't in our rooms very much.
There is a small cafe in the lobby to purchase cold cereal, or order a hot breakfast; not a huge variety, something for everyone, but tasty. Unfortunately, they aren't very speedy, especially on the weekend when one person is manning the orders and the cooking. At least there is complimentary (bold) coffee in the lobby from 6 a.m(ish) to 10 a.m. Tea and/or hot water is available too. I'd stay here again for business but probably not for pleasure; pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that shares a door unless you're with the party next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We love hearing that you were comfortable in your room and like the amenities of the hotel. We are also proud of our new look and guests like you have responded favorably to the new Bistro for food options. Our guests now enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner including a full bar and Starbucks drinks. With our location in the desert and the northeast corner of Metro Phoenix, we can offer a quiet location that is close to great dining, activities and entertainment while in a peaceful spot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was in Scottsdale on business and pleasure. My reservations were made for me, so I did not pay attention to where we were staying I just knew that it was a Courtyard by Marriott in Scottsdale, what could go wrong? The hotel is in the middle of KNOWHERE! A good 20 minutes from anything fun and exciting. The purpose of the hotel is to support the Mayo Clinic which is right next door. The downside of the hotel is the location, with that said it is a typical Courtyard by Marriott; the surrounding area is very beautiful, it is clean and the staff is very friendly. There is a pool and hot tub outside and a fire pit. I did not eat in the restaurant, but it looked nice enough. If you are a runner, the surrounding area is great for running. I even came across a lone javelina. So if you are going to the clinic GREAT, if you are going for vacation...not so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Your comments go to the heart of Marriott’s commitment to providing friendly service in a clean and beautiful surrounding! Our sister properties in the heart of Phoenix and Scottsdale may have been a better location for your trip as they are surrounded by exciting and fun places to dine in and enjoy. Our quiet spot in the Sonoran Desert is beautiful to look at and take advantage of the nature trails for a variety of activities. Many of our guests are visiting the clinic; others are here for a great hotel in the middle of a beautiful part of the Valley of the Sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I would give this hotel a 5 if it weren't for 2 things: 1. some construction going on that we weren't made aware of before arrival and 2. no free breakfast, continental or otherwise. The staff was wonderful, the Bistro was very good and the shuttle to the Mayo Clinic was always available. I will warn you, if you aren't in town for the Mayo Clinic Scottsdale I wouldn't book this hotel. While it is wonderful it is at the very edge of town and there isn't anything (restaurant, grocery store, convenience store, etc...) nearby, definitely nothing within walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony or terrace that opens onto the courtyard. It is very nice and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks for your review on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your taking the time to let our team know you enjoyed their friendly approach to our guests. We love our new hotel and are so sorry you were not advised prior to your visit about the remodeling project which was completed in October 2012. Our Bistro does offer numerous menu options for every meal as well as Starbucks coffee drinks and a full bar! While many of our guests are Mayo Clinic patients, many others choose our hotel to have a quiet, get-away vacation with the beauty of the desert and the availability of trails for hiking and biking. We are between two great cities in the Greater Phoenix area – Fountain Hills and Scottsdale each with dining, entertainment and plenty of golf courses! Our team will be here to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This location is close to many golf courses. This particular Courtyard is quiet, the staff is friendly, and very enjoyable. The rooms are clean and comfortable with pool and hot tub outside. You can sit outside by the fire in the evenings.

Shopping is within 3 miles.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We love the area that our hotel is located we like to refer to it as a "desert oasis" with beatiful views and quiet surrounding. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Calif.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was coming to the Mayo for a return trip. I had a great experience before, and this experience was no different. Well.....actually it was a little different in that the hotel has been refurbished and updated. The lobby and restaurant are beautifully redone and the food is simple, fresh and excellent.
The staff.....wow! Dorothy was amazing during my last stay, and there she was again....a total angel! Lets face it, if you are staying at this Marriott, chances are very likely that you are here to visit the Mayo. The staff makes your visit as good as it can be. They really are to be commended!
So....if you are here to go to the Mayo, or not, you will have a great experience! My gratitude to Dorothy and the staff for making my stay sooooooo good!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dorothy has been a valued associate for many years and we are pleased she made your stay so memorable! All of our teams are passionate about taking good care of our guests whether they are Mayo Clinic guests or here to enjoy our great location in the desert! Whenever you return, our great staff will be here to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Apologies...I'm a little late with this review.....so worth checking with the hotel on progress with referb.
I knew they were remodelling when I booked it....I also got an email from one of the management team, decided to go ahead and hope there was nothing too heavy duty going on during our weekend. Pleased to say it worked out fine mainly due to the team there getting a quiet room for us....letting us know of any restaurant changes etc.
Room was new bright and very clean....we had a twin double room. Air con unit is wall mounted cassette type out onto the balcony.....it was a little noises even in night mode....needed though as 36'c at night!... During our stay.
Breakfast was still original Courtyard Buffett style which I believe changes post the re model.
We also used he pool area which was clean, stocked with towels....and has safety gates on entrance.....to stop any little ones wandering into the pool.
This is obviously used by a lot of people heading over to the clinic next door as very convenient.....it's also a very quiet spot with all the Scottsdale shopping and eating a few mins drive.
If the staff can carry on with the service level they are showing through the re model then within the limitations of the Courtyard facilities this will be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Just check how far they are with referb.....new room are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
How nice of you to let others know your thoughts about our beautiful and new hotel! We are all enjoying the new look and feel and the fact that our guests love the Starbucks drinks and the many food options for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Many guests have appointments at the clinic, yet others are here to enjoy a peaceful hotel with beautiful desert views! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic

Address: 13444 East Shea Boulevard, Scottsdale, AZ 85259
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic Hotel Scottsdale
Courtyard Scottsdale Mayo Clinic
Scottsdale Marriott
Scottsdale Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.