We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Mayo Clinic Patients” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13444 East Shea Boulevard, Scottsdale, AZ 85259   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bistro Dining Offer
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Santa Ana, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good choice for Mayo Clinic Patients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I am a patient at the Mayo Clinic and stayed her recently when I had some treatments scheduled. I've stayed here before and it was just okay, but this time, things were much improved. The hotel was cleaner and friendlier and the stay was an overall pleasant experience. It is very convenient to the Clinic, which is a plus. Used the pool this time and it was very warm and clean. The room was just a normal room, but quiet and I loved the location near the elevator. I've stayed at another comparablly priced hotel in the area with a Mayo shuttle and it was horrible compared to this one. The only knock I have here is that the price can be a little high. I know they can charge more during the winter months, but don't make the mistake of going too high...it's just not that great and it's kind of ridiculous when you charge the same as a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
How wonderful that you found this stay to be a pleasant experience and better than before! It is Marriott’s commitment to continually improve how we deliver customer service to each guest for every stay! Thanks for noticing. We do look forward to seeing you on a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
16
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Had appt at clinics for that week. Convient,great service, helpfull staff. Thank you. Offered discounts to patience of clinic.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for writing a review to tell others about our great staff! They are committed to taking care of each guest and enjoyed your pat on the back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

When rating a property I believe it should include the room, location, amenities and staff. Stayed here 5 nights while visiting the Mayo Clinic. Based on some reviews I almost did not, am glad that I followed instinct.

Older Courtyard scheduled for a remodel later this summer. Currently-nice rooms, standard issue bathrooms, some room locations better than others as is the norm in any hotel anywhere. First night was spent in a room with a very loud air-conditioner, asked to be moved and was accommodated with a smile and a new room (while they were fixing the air in the old room).

While breakfast is not complimentary for anyone (not even Marriott golds +) you have a nice choice between the buffet and the menu and I think an average $10 - $12 bill is not expensive at all for a hotel breakfast.

What makes this Marriott Courtyard OUTSTANDING in my opinion is the staff. Friendly, helpful, kind. Every staff member I encountered from front desk to maid service to the drivers of the courtesy shuttle went over and above the norm in good service, friendliness and helpfulness

I would stay here even if not visiting the Mayo... actually am looking forward to it! I did not really find it "remote" rather not really a far drive to anything while in a lovely area.

Room Tip: I prefer the second floor as mentioned by others and I love having a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
How pleased we are to learn you consider our team OUTSTANDING! What a great compliment that validates the staff’s commitment to providing every guest the best service possible. You will love our new look in the rooms and the lobby as the work was completed in October 2012. Food options are exciting and delicious for breakfast, lunch and dinner with creative menu items and simple grab-and-go items as well! Our guests can still enjoy our Marketplace with snacks, beverages and frozen items. Please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey BC, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel was very clean and tidy. It is in a remote or secluded are next to the Mayo Clinic and is set up to handle patients from the Clinic. Alot of families were staying at this hotel during the 3rd weekend of March 2012. Restaurant and heated salt water pool at the hotel. Free internet provided (wire & wireless). Could do with a bit more soundproofing but overall generally quiet. The inside rooms face the pool and sitting area. There is outdoor sitting for the restaurant as well as indoors. If u want any additional items stores etc u must drive to them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are pleased you found our great hotel with the beautiful desert views! The time of your visit is during baseball’s Spring Training games which creates a wonderful mix of guests at the hotel! Many are here for the outdoor activities nearby, the games, shopping and entertainment in Scottsdale and Phoenix. Our team is pleased to note you found it to be clean and tidy as we strive to keep everything in tip top shape and perfectly clean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Currently staying at this hotel while husband having tests at Mayo Clinic, therefore he needs some sleep. First night here slept very little as sounded as though there was an elephant in the room above us that was up all night. Yesterday morning asked if that person would be there last night- if so we wanted to change rooms. They were not, and we slept very well as place is very quiet. Right now husband is sleeping and it sounds like someone just checked into the room above us and might be a repeat of the first night we were here. Hopefully they go to bed early and sleep all night! I think the floors must be very thin as I doubt many people deliberately stomp around! Otherwise, hotel is nice, complimentary shuttle to Mayo Clinic on demand. No free breakfast- only coffee in lobby. Food service onsite is rather pricey and limited menu. I got sandwiches at Mayo cafeteria for $3.25 to bring back after husband was done today. No restaurants or anything close by and no microwave in room, just mini fridge. So if on liquid diet and wanting warm broth, have to go to lobby to use microwave by the breakfast buffet area. Did go to pool yesterday and it was warm. Staff here is very nice and friendly. In summary-if needing place close to Mayo clinic and don't want to drive- this is the place. Otherwise for $165 per night (Mayo clinic rate) I would definitely stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Only stay on 2nd floor to avoid noise from guest above you. If you want sun ask for room on south s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate your comments and know that you join many of our guests who are also patients at the Mayo Clinic who take advantage of the complimentary shuttle to and from the clinic. That certainly takes the stress out of getting back and forth for appointments. We are pleased you found the hotel quiet and apologize for the noisy guests upstairs. Any time you stay at a Marriott hotel and find a similar situation please let the front desk team know so an accommodation may be made available to you. Our recently completed hotel redo has added numerous food options for breakfast, lunch and dinner that guests find quite delicious. The lobby and dining area is colorful and comfortable. We hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard for business. While convenient to Mayo Clinic, it doesn't seem worth the money. The beds are very uncomfortable, the breakfast is expensive yet plain, and the cost was fairly expensive ($140). I'll definitely try staying elsewhere on my next visit considering the price and what I could get elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate your comments and want to let you know about our wonderful hotel make-over which was completed in October 2012! Our beds and furniture have been replaced with the new modern look and feel of comfort. You would enjoy the transformation of our meal options as well! Guess now enjoy a variety of choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner on an ala carte basis! The dishes range from simple to creative and all are delicious and priced competitively to area restaurants! We are very proud of our new look and options for our guests! I encourage you to stop in on another visit and see how the changes look and feel firsthand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Hotel was ok but because it was beside the Mayo Clinic there was a lot of sick people there. I do have compassion for them, but it wasn't the hotel environment I hoped for on a vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! While we do host many guests who are patients at the Mayo Clinic, many other guests recognize the hotel’s location in the beautiful Sonoran Desert as the perfect setting for their vacation. There are numerous outdoor activities year around such as hiking and biking trails, numerous exceptional golf courses throughout nearby Scottsdale and Phoenix as well as many Fountain Hills Arts Festivals. Should you crave a quiet, get-away-from-it-all vacation, please think of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic

Address: 13444 East Shea Boulevard, Scottsdale, AZ 85259
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic Hotel Scottsdale
Courtyard Scottsdale Mayo Clinic
Scottsdale Marriott
Scottsdale Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.