We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7017 East McDowell Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85257-3313 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Papago Inn & Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

From the street the hotel does not look like much but enter the property and it is like a hidden oasis. The nicely heated pool is great with an aviary nearby with lovely budgies in it. The property is clean, the staff super friendly, bed comfy, internet good. Nice flat screen TV's. Great property great price great staff. Nice business center and good guest laundry

Room Tip: I would recommend any room from 104 through about 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    167
    51
    16
    11
See reviews for
76
127
51
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SCOTTSDALE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed the night here with my two daughters and their father. We stay here so that we may spend time together with our daughters since we both live with our parent who do not approve of either of us spending the night at each other's houses. The room has pretty much everything you need but a microwave would be nice. Good location and great price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a nice one night stay here. The room was clean (bathroom is really tiny though) and the property well maintained. Everyone was very nice and friendly. The pool is heated which is great during the cooler months! There is a little bird enclosure in the middle of the property that is quite charming at 4pm in the afternoon but no so much at 4am when I was awoken by very loud tweeting (I am no light sleeper). This might keep me from returning but the price will probably bring me back. The onsite restaurant wasn't very good and there is no breakfast included. The offerings were meh and a bit pricey. Next time I will venture off property for food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed the stay. The staff were friendly and accomodating. We really enjoyed the pool which was set warmer than most hotels. The grounds were very nice and lot of good eating places at the Papago centre. The rooms were a bit dated and the carpets a bit worn but with new beds and TVs and granite sinks still made the accomodation feel upgraded. The location is convienant to the airport but not central to Scottsdale. Its still worked well and the famous Scottsdale trolleys travel right by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had booked a room here for 2 nights through Expedia.com and got a great Internet rate. Having read some reviews prior to booking here, I was somewhat worried that I would be disappointed. This was not to be! Yes, the hotel is old and outdated, but the beds were comfortable and we had a hot shower. The room is a little smaller than average and the bath room is "tight", but it served its purpose. The room also included a mini fridge and microwave and the ceiling fan was a nice addition. I was initially concerned about the pillows on each of the beds (4 of them) because they were very hard, but all you have to do is to "untuck" them and they become regular size and comfortable. And yes, the parakeets and finches outside in the cage do chirp quite a bit, but it's nothing a pair of soft ear plugs cannot fix. All of the rooms face inward towards the pool area but we did not have any issues with loud noise from other guests using the pool. If you can get a good rate, this hotel is worth booking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

VERY impressed with the room; i.e., the looks and ambiance of a higher rated accommodation! Lovely courtyard, too! Nice to have breakfast available on site. Convenient location to Scottsdale as well as Phoenix.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Basin, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed in 5 hotels on my trip to AZ , Tempe, Mesa and a few accommodations up north, Papago was my favourite by far. The positive reviews of this hotel that I read previous to booking are absolutely true. I found all staff very friendly and helpful. The room was beyond my expectation, very clean and comfortable and one has to love Best Western pillows. This hotel is on the road but the layout is all behind , like a sanctuary . Nicely landscaped, beautiful bird aviary, white lights and a very nice enclosed pool area, pool very clean and warm. The clientel was friendly and I met lots of nice travellers while there. Water is pretty bad, I bought a huge jug at Dollar Tree nearby for drinking and coffee. For the price this hotel is A1, quiet and peaceful. When I return to the Phoenix area I would stay here for a longer duration instead of skipping around. Highly recommend !

Room Tip: I had a room near the stairs on the second floor, not the best, shady as well , rooms closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn

Address: 7017 East McDowell Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85257-3313 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Papago Inn & Resort)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#25 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#31 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#38 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Papago Inn And Resort
Best Western Plus Papago Hotel Scottsdale
Best Western Papago Hotel
Best Western Scottsdale
Scottsdale Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Papago Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.