We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chaparral Suites Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chaparral Suites Scottsdale to your Saves list
Chaparral Suites Scottsdale
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5001 N. Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 1 Get 2nd 50% off!
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Kirkland, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

I meant to get some photos before I left but unfortunately didn't. I, as others have noted, ended up in the back part of the HOTEL, not RESORT. It was definitely outdated. Only one notice about the "saving the environment" by not washing the sheets every day was on one of the beds, so I'm not sure if the other bed was cleaned or not. The tile in the bathroom floor was scratched up. I think it was all clean but just old so it kinda looked dirty I guess. I was so exhausted that I just needed some rest, and I did get that. I did like the double doors between the living room and the bedroom. That helped keep out the noise of the pool, which you will hear since all rooms face the pool. There are 2 pools, one for the newer section, one for the older. The newer section looked exactly like the older but was much older. I wish they'd start renovating those older rooms!!! I did enjoy the complimentary happy hour! That was nice, they had many drink choices to choose from so that was great! I had 2 margaritas! Also, the cooked to order breakfast was good. No weak breakfast that morning! So those things were nice. I don't know if I'd stay there again, probably not.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    251
    81
    33
    12
See reviews for
161
209
16
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

The manager of this hotel told us the hotel gives priority to smokers. The level of unhealthy guests is shocking. We are middle age with small child. Its tough to find fresh air here. If you are a smoker and really overweight, this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

Im giving this review above average due to complimentary breakfasts/coctail hours and heated pools.

The room was nice and spacious however the tv in the room was poor and most channels were fuzzy and spouted loud annoying noises. Would have been good to have updated tv's and at least some MTV!

A lightbulb went out in the living room the first day there and was never checked or replaced the rest of the 3 nights I was there.

I had some jewlery sitting on top of the table in the 'living room' and went out for breakfast, when I came back in I was sad to find a piece was swooped up in the housecleanings vacuum due to her careless wipe of the table. However head of housekeeping was quick to search out the now mangled broken piece and was happy to give cash value, it was a gift and had sentimental value so made for an awkward exchange.

I wish the heated pools stayed open later than 10pm though.

Overall the heated pools and the free cook to order breakfasts made the stay more convenient and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

Stayed four nights in early March. Room are dated but very clean. Pool also clean and not busy, did not have to fight for chairs. Breakfast was outstanding. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2006

We stayed at the Chaparral during a conference my husband attended. I was a little nervous because of some of the reviews, but we had a great room and loved the suite since we were traveling with our teenager. He loved the wireless internet for his laptop and could go down to the breakfast when he was ready and not relying on us. The pool was clean and quiet and some brave souls were swimming from time to time. The staff was great, we rented out car from Dollar and they were very accomodating. Yes, the rooms are a little dated and it would be nice to have help with the bags when arriving by taxi, but we were satisfied with the value.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2006

Our family stayed here on the way home from a road trip to Texas. We'd never been to Scottsdale before and were looking for a place to rest after two days on the road with 3 kids! We knew that July would be the hottest time of the year to visit Arizona and we were not disappointed! The pool was TOO hot to enjoy during the day, but lots of fun at night. The "cooked-to-order" breakfast each morning (included) was wonderful! Our two teenage sons took full advantage of the pancakes, eggs, juice, hashbrowns and more. We did not try any other meal at the resort.

We also tried the (NOT top-shelf) happy hour. No big deal, but a nice effort on the part of the hotel.

Our $79/night rate included a welcome package. We received some ice cream coupons (never used), 2 tank tops I plan to use as night shirts, 2 water bottles (a necessity in 100 plus heat) and coupons for the gift shop and restaurant.

Our room was big enough for the 5 of us! We ordered a roll-away which was delivered after calling the front desk, even though we had requested it with our reservation. All three kids slept in the "living room" and we tired parents slept in the nice-sized bedroom. It was very convienient to have 2 complete baths in a hotel room; a feature you don't find at hotels willing to accommodate a family with three kids in one room. Also nice to have 2 t.v.'s when travelling with three kids! Another plus was the small refridgerator.

(On a side-note, avoid the "Western town" advertised in the Scottsdale visitors guides you'll find in your room. It was boring, over-priced and cheesy. We left after 45 minutes! However, we all highly recommend the Sugar Bowl in downtown Scottsdale...the most awesome ice cream store we've ever been to!)

Yes, it's not the Four Seasons, but it was clean, affordable and what we were looking for. We'll stay here again if we ever get crazy enough to pack three kids in a minivan and drive through deserts in the summer!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

It is a roomy suite, as the living area is a large as the bedroom area. They provide a fridge and microwave and a few dishes and silverware. There is ample clothing storage space if you are rooming with other people. There are also 2 counters for getting dressed (in bath and bedroom) and in a pinch someone could use the bar area, which has a mirror and sink. They also have an in-room safe large enough to hold most laptop computers. The decor here is average. The pillows were very flat. Their focus is on the amenities: 2 pools, complimentary cocktail hour, complimentary hot breakfast and such. The food was okay, but not great. Overall, I thought this place was okay, but I'll stay somewhere else the next time I'm in Scottsdale. I personaly prefer a places that focuses on room comfort rather than the amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaparral Suites Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaparral Suites Scottsdale

Address: 5001 N. Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#37 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#40 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaparral Suites Scottsdale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaparral Suites Scottsdale is an all-suite property offering value pricing with full-service amenities. Located in the heart of Scottsdale, we are situated among 15 acres of beautiful landscaping and within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. Entertainment, golf and cultural activities are also in close proximity. In each of our 312 suites you will find a spacious living room and bedroom, two TVs, wet bar with mini fridge, microwave, coffee/tea maker and sink, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, in-room safe, voice messaging and in-room movies. Our signature complimentary amenities include a full American breakfast and evening reception daily, individual airport transportation 6am to 9pm, in-room wired and wireless Internet and USA Today newspaper. You can play tennis, swim in one of our two oversized pools, enjoy a whirlpool or workout in our fitness center. Relax for lunch or dinner in our 4th Floor Grille restaurant or watch your favorite sport on 10 state-of-the-art HD satellite TVs in our Sports Bar. We have 50,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space (25,000 indoor/25,000 outdoor). Our 11,200 sq. ft. Chaparral Ballroom and Conference Center provides advanced technological audio-visual features, which include AV catwalk, hang points, voice and modem phone connections, T1 Internet connections and wired and wireless Internet connectivity. Also on site are two additional ballrooms and three Executive boardrooms. Our hotel also offers concierge services, car rental desk, gift shop, business center and laundry services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Chaparral Suites Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaparral Suites Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Chaparral Hotel Scottsdale
Chaparral Resort Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaparral Suites Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.