We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Consistant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaparral Suites Scottsdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chaparral Suites Scottsdale to your Saves list
Chaparral Suites Scottsdale
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5001 N. Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$50 F&B Credit Daily
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Kamloops
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Consistant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Another great stay at the Chaparral. We stayed for 7 nights April 12-19. Dragged my sister along for the ride this time and she loved it for her first visit. Had room 304 this trip and it was an excellent proximity to everything we needed. Excellent value for the dollar. Shuttle service from and back to the airport, excellent service at the front end and throughout the resort. A well stocked buffet breakfast with something for everyone is included along with a Managers reception with free drinks every night for 2 hours. Very clean resort and employee's are constantly cleaning and maintaining the complex. We spent time at both the pools. I recommend the pool closest to the lobby for families and the backend pool for adults. Although neither has these designations the backend pool is quieter most days. Walking distance to lots of shopping and amenities, Starbucks, restaurants etc. The suites have a microwave, mini fridge, coffee pot. Go to Safeway and stock your fridge with snacks and drinks. It is also walking distance and sometimes if the Shuttle Drive is free you can catch a free ride. Check out my review of the 4th Floor Grill if you are considering staying at this place. We have stayed here 7 times now and we will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    231
    70
    31
    12
See reviews for
146
194
16
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just returned from a stay at the Chaparral. This place is a hidden treasure. From the check-in to the check-out (and everything in between) our stay was great. Though the place may be a little older and you might come across a cracked tile or out of order ice machine, the grounds are beautifully landscaped which really added to the ambiance. I will divide the rest of my review into topics.
Rooms- weren't as large as the website made them appear but we really appreciated the layout. We loved the separate living/kitchen area that was equiped with a mini fridge, coffee pot and microwave. We walked to the store just a mile away and got some snacks & beverages to have for lunch. We also liked the additional vanity area in the bedroom. Very convenient! We had a room along the road side & it was a bit loud in the morning once the traffic got going but not bad.
Fitness - the exercise room and tennis courts appeared well kept. Though I had every intention of using them, I ended up just going for jogs each evening because the weather was so beautiful. The Camelback Mountain is just a little over a mile away too so I was able to jog there and then hike that for a bit as well. Very well marked and beautiful views. I went alone and felt very safe.
Staff - every person we came in contact with was wonderfull! And I mean EVERY person from the shuttle driver, to the receptionist, to the maids to the bus boy! The only thing I would warn of is, watch out for the bartender at happy hour that pretends to be gay and befriends women, but then tries to move in on them after they have had a few cocktails.
Food/Beverage - WOW! A free full breakfast and a free happy hour??!! Who offers that! The breakfast was great and the line moved quickly. The happy hour was great as well. It offered tap beer and a variety of drink options. Obviously not top shelf but still very appreciated. I would recommend the bloody marys. We ate at the onsight restaurant every night, the 4th Floor Grill and enjoyed every meal we had. In my opinion, prices and portions were average, taste/quality above average.
Pools - 2 pools and 2 hot tubs all kept clean and warm. Lounge chairs were tight on the days that they were sold out but no problem on the other days. Restrooms at both pools was a plus.
Area - We personally loved the area. Very nice mid to upscale area near shopping, mountains and a grocery store. Felt safe walking alone in every direction. A bit of a poke to the airport but hey, they offer a free shuttle too!! Needless to say, we will be back!

Room Tip: We had a room along the road side and it was a bit loud in the morning once the traffic got going bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel was known as Embassy Suites when we stayed here almost 45 years ago. We needed a place to stay one night before moving to our rented condo so we decided to give this a try. They do a nice job of keeping it clean, fresh looking while providing rooms at a reasonable price. They still have a free happy hour in the early evening so we stopped to have a couple of drinks along with some chips. And they give a full American style delicious buffet breakfast as part of the price. It was a nice stay and I'd have no problem going back again should a situation present itself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

After staying a few times at the Kimpton property across the street we decided to try the Chaparral Suites. The property is in very good condition and the amenities are good. The staff is efficient and friendly. I was surprised by the free airport shuttle and the quality of the included breakfast. A very good value though the facilities are pretty dated.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We (me, my husband, and my 9 year old son) stayed 2 nights here before heading to Sedona and the Grand Canyon. I found a very good deal for the stay on cheaptickets.com based on some great reviews I saw here. The great things about this place is that it is at a very good location to all places we went and offers swimming pool, free Breakfast/internet connection/parking, and the room is big.

However, the room had an awful smell it shocked us as we walked in. After that, my son kept asking if next hotel would have the same smell?! And calling this place "the smelly hotel". I am not sure if this is "room specific" or not. The last day morning, I saw another guest just left the door wide open. Maybe that helps to get rid of the smell?
The bed was really uncomfortable. I could feel the bumps and unevenness of it. The head side was actually lower than the feet side of the bed.
The wireless internet was so slow. I ended up moving my laptop to the living room and sitting on the sofa to use it since the connection was there, not at the desk.
The breakfast was ok, very normal hot food and some fruits and bread as I expected.

I really did not pay very much for the stay so I was ok with above situation for 2 nights and still feel it was somewhat a deal. But, I will try other places next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel really had a both good and bad points.

The cooked to order breakfast was very good and much better than most free breakfast buffets. The two pools were a good size and not very crowded. The restaurant and room service were very good, reasonably priced with great service and good food.

Having a large living room and a separate bedroom was really nice. The furnishing are older but well maintained.

Housekeeping was uneven - It appeared that the sheets on the bed were used when we arrived late at night. I both called and left a note for housekeeping the following morning and while they did change the sheets (a service they normally do every 4 days) there was absolutely no apology from anyone. Sometimes the room was well cleaned sometimes just so so.

The walls were extremely thin between the suites - we heard every cry and noise of the large family next door to us. They were not unusually noisy for a family the sounds just traveled into our suite.

so both good and bad points for a medium priced property in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the streets and the pools for a quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

What can we say....EXCELLENT. Shuttle from & to the Airport was so nice. When we arrived Ross greeted us and really made us feel welcome. Nice young man in his 20's. If you want to know the history of this resort talk to him he is also very kind & courteous. Loved our room. These are spacious suites. If you forgot anything they go out of their way to accommodate you. Loved both pools really nice & relaxing. Fred one of the shuttle drivers really made our stay special. He was so helpful & was able to take us to a few places. Ask for him... I think he needs raise what a nice man. Him and Ross are both great assets to this resort. The breakfast was also unbelievable. Very tasty & done to perfection. We cant forget about HAPPY hour drinks from 5:30-7:30.Try the restaurant in the resort, so yummy!! We will definitely be going back here. Everyone should go you will LOVE every minute of it.....

M&N
Canada

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaparral Suites Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaparral Suites Scottsdale

Address: 5001 N. Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#22 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#44 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaparral Suites Scottsdale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaparral Suites Scottsdale is an all-suite property offering value pricing with full-service amenities. Located in the heart of Scottsdale, we are situated among 15 acres of beautiful landscaping and within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. Entertainment, golf and cultural activities are also in close proximity. In each of our 312 suites you will find a spacious living room and bedroom, two TVs, wet bar with mini fridge, microwave, coffee/tea maker and sink, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, in-room safe, voice messaging and in-room movies. Our signature complimentary amenities include a full American breakfast and evening reception daily, individual airport transportation 6am to 9pm, in-room wired and wireless Internet and USA Today newspaper. You can play tennis, swim in one of our two oversized pools, enjoy a whirlpool or workout in our fitness center. Relax for lunch or dinner in our 4th Floor Grille restaurant or watch your favorite sport on 10 state-of-the-art HD satellite TVs in our Sports Bar. We have 50,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space (25,000 indoor/25,000 outdoor). Our 11,200 sq. ft. Chaparral Ballroom and Conference Center provides advanced technological audio-visual features, which include AV catwalk, hang points, voice and modem phone connections, T1 Internet connections and wired and wireless Internet connectivity. Also on site are two additional ballrooms and three Executive boardrooms. Our hotel also offers concierge services, car rental desk, gift shop, business center and laundry services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chaparral Suites Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaparral Suites Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Chaparral Hotel Scottsdale
Chaparral Resort Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaparral Suites Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.